We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One but nor twice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #16 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One but nor twice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to go check La Maison Arabe, and we were first very impressed by the environment. It looks fabulous.
The negative points came from the maitre D, who was "sugar coating" every sentence, which might have sound nice at the beginning, but it then very quickly became over the top, and we were just trying to escape having him coming to our table.
The menu itself looks great and we were really looking forward to try it all...again the menu on paper was much better than the actual dishes. Pata negra wasn't pata negra, vacherin was just a scoop of ice cream, blanc manger was whipped cream...we mentioned our feedbacks, and they kindly did not charge our desert (kind gesture) and offered us mint tea (no taste no sugar no mint?) and moroccan pastries (more like dry biscuits). Even if efforts was put to cover up, it was a disappointment overall and we wont go back.

Helpful?
Thank BeeBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    400
    115
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab view, food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amazing view watching the sunset over the rooftops. Delicious food and reasonable wine. Great for a chat and people watch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Romantic ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On the expensive side compared with other local restaurants. Food was good and all six of us had a lovely meal that evening. It offers both international and local cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siewmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vada, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best part is the charming patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is placed in the patio of the five-star riad La Maison Arabe, at a walking distance from the Koutoubia and Jeema ElFna. The atmosphere is breathtaking, as the tables are beside a pool in the middle of the patio. Apart from that, the quality and the selection of the food is not significantly different from cheaper restaurants available in the area. As a consequence, most of the price you pay is for the location, whereas the food is not particularly appealing -- I mean, nothing to complain of, but certainly overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Breakfast was very good and a change from the usual. It was a mixture of continental and Morrocan. We had lovely fresh juices from the usual orange all the way to freshly squeezed beetroot. The homemade yoghurt with the fruit compote (they called it jam) is a must. By evening the restaurant was transformed into a tranquil, romantic, candlelit setting with traditional berber musicians playing by the pool at one end. Service was excellent and quick. I had the best tagine I had come across during my stay. It was lamb with almonds and saffron. By far the best food we had in Morrocco. The manager called Badr was very passionate about good service and he and his staff had the balance just right. We were so impressed that we asked Badr to join us for dessert and coffee. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing