We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food and ambience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #15 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Breakfast was very good and a change from the usual. It was a mixture of continental and Morrocan. We had lovely fresh juices from the usual orange all the way to freshly squeezed beetroot. The homemade yoghurt with the fruit compote (they called it jam) is a must. By evening the restaurant was transformed into a tranquil, romantic, candlelit setting with traditional berber musicians playing by the pool at one end. Service was excellent and quick. I had the best tagine I had come across during my stay. It was lamb with almonds and saffron. By far the best food we had in Morrocco. The manager called Badr was very passionate about good service and he and his staff had the balance just right. We were so impressed that we asked Badr to join us for dessert and coffee. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    433
    122
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate here on our stay in Marrakech. Food was good with a reasonable selection of Moroccan, French and Asian cuisine. Also a reasonable selection of wine. As with many places in Marrakech the approach to it down an alleyway leaves you wondering where you are going but once there, the setting is excellent, the ambience good and the service friendly. One to try if you are staying in the vicinity

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid for guests of the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good food and excellent service. We stayed in the hotel and ate here for lunch twice and dinner once. I recommend it but would probably not go out of my way to eat here if I wasn't staying at the hotel, mostly because the ambience feels more like a hotel than a restaurant and I preferred the pure restaurants we visited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phantom_in_Cobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was truly a find during our week long stay. In fact the first visit was so enjoyable that we felt compelled to again. From the moment we entered, Suleiman, our head waiter took charge of making suggestions based on our preferences. They even managed an excellent Lebanese meze followed by a stir fry for the vegetarians in our our group. The lamb (first visit) and lemon chicken (second visit) were both cooked to perfection with generous portions. Seated around a small pool with excellent lighting and live local soft music in the background created the perfect ambience. The manager, a very amiable individual named Bader, has the ideal disposition. He went to extreme lengths to please my 11 year old daughter. If I had to make a criticism, then it would be cost. A tad on the expensive side. Then again, your are paying for the experience and enjoying a venue where Churchill once ate! If you go there, do read the history of this property. Interesting. Thank you Suleiman and Bader.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank V45A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced mediocrity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just had a meal at Arabe, vastly overpriced middle of the road food. We ate at a place on the square 2 nights ago and received the same standard of food for 25% of the cost! Nice setting for food and staff where very attentive, try Kniza first for Moroccan food and experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeNinetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing