We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty restaurant - Not great food”

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #21 of 875 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant - Not great food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I'll start with the positive. This restaurant is really pretty and romantic. The live music was great.
However, the food was mediocre, and the service was not friendly. The food just missed the mark, and the spicing was off in all of it. In several of the Moroccan salads, one spice overpowered the others. The specialty is chicken or lamb cooked in a clay pot. That suffered from the same lack of balanced seasoning.

We've had much better food for less money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    492
    136
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to the restaurant and were not disappointed
The setting around the pool was beautiful .the staff were so professional in the way they served us and gave us info regarding the meal .
The food was delicious from starters through to dessert
Would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Romantic meal by the pool”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had cocktails in the bar on arrival. These were ok , not very strong and a bit expensive for what they were.
We ate in Les Trois Saveurs rather than the Moroccan restaurant. The tables were set around the pool . Lovely romantic lighting, but do take a torch for the menu. The food was excellent, my husband was particularly impressed by his beef fillet with truffle ravioli. The starter of grilled aubergine and pata negra ham was gorgeous too and I enjoyed the tender lamb chops with delicate spicing.
My husband had flambeed crepes and I had the carmelised pineapple.
In general , we thought the food was good enough to rival anything we have had in trendy London restaurants and also good value.
Our bill for Mai Tais, a half bottle of red wine, water and food came to about 1200dh .
This is not a place to go to for a cheap meal but is excellent for a gold star holiday experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Staged for tourists !”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want a genuine morrocan athmosphere, don't choose this restaurant. This is staged for tourists. What a shame!
They will attempt to get you to start with a drink in the bar, before seating you at the table. The food isn't worth the high prices they charge and we weren't full after eating. Very small plates. We had to pay 1500:- dirams for an evening there and it was 2 times as much compared to all other places we visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit touristy”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a truly beautiful riad with very pleasant and helpful staff. However the restaurant is a bit commercial and the food good but not special. We were also given different menus in the bar before dining which was confusing, particularly as it is candlelit in the restaurant so difficult to read.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing