We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staged for tourists !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #22 of 847 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staged for tourists !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want a genuine morrocan athmosphere, don't choose this restaurant. This is staged for tourists. What a shame!
They will attempt to get you to start with a drink in the bar, before seating you at the table. The food isn't worth the high prices they charge and we weren't full after eating. Very small plates. We had to pay 1500:- dirams for an evening there and it was 2 times as much compared to all other places we visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    454
    130
    50
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit touristy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a truly beautiful riad with very pleasant and helpful staff. However the restaurant is a bit commercial and the food good but not special. We were also given different menus in the bar before dining which was confusing, particularly as it is candlelit in the restaurant so difficult to read.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place has a balcony that overlooks the main square, it has nice food and sells alcohol. it can get very crowded

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yoginidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Typical Moroccan Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Brilliant restaurant, would definately go back. Had a few drinks in the sumptuous bar first, staff friendly and welcoming. Opted for moroccan set menu for dinner. Salads of roasted peppers, lentils, aubergine, onions etc to start, followed by tagines of chicken, lamb, beef and berber couscous plus desserts. You are served LOTS of food so maybe not a good choice if you're not a 'foodie', but my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this authentic delight

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Matig”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

In the bar i got the smallest margarita ever. After my complaint i got a little more in the glass. Expensive dinner 750m dirham, very formal. Waiters didnt say anything. I appreciate it for example when a waiter explains, when you have a morocan salad or the lebebane mezzes, what you are eating. The fun of a morocan salad is that you get 10 little plates with little things to taste. Here you get only 5 little pots with the same structure of a tapenade in 5 different flavours, but without any explanation. You better go to dar mohar or fouquet. dar mohar is still the best morocan restaurant and fouquet the best french, for food, ambience and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing