We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 4030, Morocco
+212 5243-87010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate at La Maison Arabe on our first night in Marrakech having seen the reviews and it being close to our hotel.

We had a drink first at the jazz bar which was very relaxed and very friendly.

The meal itself was very good. One of the best we had in Marrakech. We had the tasting menu and all I would say is take an appetite with you! Each course was very good, although we were stuffed by the time we got to the mains. The chicken tagine was slightly dry but I think you get that anywhere.

Service tailed off slightly towards the end of our meal when the restaurant was at its fullest but not too noticably.

Price was reasonable at 500 Dhs per head. You'll find an awful lot of cheaper places in the city but it depends what you want for ambience etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank I_Catch_Dinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    400
    115
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bar, lovely food, fantastic entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stumbled on this place by accident and because the staff were so friendly and helpful we booked dinner for the following evening. The following day we got caught up doing something else and so had to move the booking back a couple of hours which was no trouble at all. On arrival the staff took our shopping bags and put them behind the counter for us and we were taken through to the bar for a drink before dinner. It was very relaxed and the manager came to say hello while we sat and listened to the piano player who asked for requests and had us singing along at one point!

The setting was gorgeous and we went for the taster menu which wasn't cheap but was delicious. We felt guilty for leaving half of it! During dinner there were musicians playing traditional instruments and singing and the atmosphere was relaxed yet perfect in every way. We genuinely felt that it was worth the money which is a good feeling!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“live a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

absolutely beautiful settings. The food was good but probably expected a bit more for a heafty 200-250 dhs per dish.
The service was impeccable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aerosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top dining experience in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything was no less than perfect at this gorgeous and beautiful riad restaurant. The food, the decor, the service, the ambiance - great. We were eating outside just next to the pool. Simple our best dining experience in Marrakesh. Fair priced compared wtih the quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blaesberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cooking classes, good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here twice - once for the cooking classes, and once for dinner. Highly recommend both. The cooking classes in particular are a must-do if you're interested in that sort of thing.

The cooking classes are in a very spacious, modern kitchen with individual stovetops, sinks, etc. for each student. There are video screens so you can see the instructor even if you are far away (not an issue in our case - there were only four students). You can express preferences for what you want to learn to cook beforehand, which they will accommodate subject to the preferences of others taking the class on the same day. The instructors are very good at teaching, funny, and genuinely concerned with making sure you have a good time while also learning something. It can cater to pretty much any skill level - I'm a cooking novice and had a good time while making some pretty good lamb tagine, while my mother who is a much better cook also learned a lot.

There are two restaurants - one that serves on Moroccan food, and one that serves a mix of Moroccan, French and other cuisines. We went to the latter, and it was quite good. Attentive service, which is sometimes not the case in Morocco, and the food was very well done. I would describe it as "Moroccan with a twist" - many of the dishes were in the spirit of Moroccan cooking while not necessarily being the normal staples of tagine, etc. Decor is great too - nice tables by the hotel pool. Prices were reasonable, though not cheap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandroP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing