We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is fantastic, the food is delicious”

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #18 of 861 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The service is fantastic, the food is delicious”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant is located inside the hotel and its simply amazing. We had an aperitif before our meal and the bartender was exceptional, very friendly, very knowledgeable just as a bar tender should be. He remembered our first names, he kept on doing non alcoholic juices and offering to prepare those with any choice of alcohol that we wanted, this is a great subtle upsell that was very welcoming. The restaurant is located inside the Medina at the end of an alley, it has tables around the pool at the inner courtyard, like many other tourist restaurants in the area. The F&B manager came to introduce himself which was very nice and he went to say goodbye to everyone who was dining at their departure. The service overall in fantastic. I had the chicken tangine and it was OK, but the fish dish that my friend asked for was delicious!! Expect to spend around 500 dirham for a 2 course meal.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    485
    133
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Luxe Setting & Great Food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Perfect setting, outside on the terrace next to the pool and in the garden area. Quite what I thought a dining experience at a Moroccan riad would be. First dinner as delicious: spicy carrot soup, crab salad flavored with Argan oil, Moroccan version of duck l'orange, and the prawns, finished with the crepes Suzette. Highlight was when the waiter gave us jalabiyas to wear because our heat lamp wasn't working; that was dining in style!

Our second dinner here was our last night in Morocco and it didn't disappoint. Traditional moroccan salads (eggplant, sweet peppers, potato, lentils, a sweet potato like chutney, mini phyllo dough spinach pastries), monkfish tagine, and Creme brûlée for dessert.

Wines are quite good as well, and the service is impeccable.

Breakfast should not be missed. Stuffed Moroccan bread is the star (it's made by hand and to order by a woman who sits pool side, and you can watch her at work!), but the yogurt is the true surprise. Great fresh squeezed juice and pastries as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intro to Tagine and the Best Yogurt Ever”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One enters the main dining room through a low arch, a typical touch that encourages visitors to bow in respect for the hospitality they're about to receive. The varieties of tagine are all excellent, though the servers are sometimes unclear. The outside restaurant, beside the pool, is more casual and we found the service there remarkably warm. The buffet breakfast has the usual western contents but also figs, dates, nuts and made-to-order omelettes -- and the best yogurt we've ever tasted.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Remarkable New Year's Night”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

La Maison Arabe is a cozy and very attractive place to visit. I had the pleasure to have the most amazing New Year's dinner at their restaurant. Both food and service were excellent. A variety of food was served throughout the night and the staff was absolutely incredible. The live music was a true highlight of the night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Tucked away in a little alley (helpfully marked by a large sign on the wall nearby!) is the gorgeous La Maison Arabe, both the restaurant and hotel have received excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were recommended in our guide book.

Unfortunately without a reservation, we weren't able to get a table in either of the restaurants, but we did have a very comfy sofa in the corner of the fabulous 1930′s style Piano Bar.

We were given a free cocktail and some nibbles while we chose what we wanted to drink (that is a service I could get used to)

For starters we opted for Lebanese Mezze and a selection of broquettes – both of these were delicious and came with excellent dips.

My hubbie chose a Lemon Chicken Tajine for his main course, whilst I opted for lamb couscous with almonds. The portions are rather large, which meant that not only could we not finish our dinner, but we also weren’t able to even glance at the dessert menu.

We went for a fantastic Moroccan wine during dinner – dry, crisp with lots of pear, which worked really well with both of our meals.

There is live music in the bar, via the pianist, but only between 8pm and 9.30pm, which doesn’t seem very long at all and is a real shame as although not the greatest singer, he was very good at playing the piano.

The real selling point of La Maison Arabe is the ambience, although the food and drinks are very nice, it is really rather expensive for Marrakech (although you do tend to pay a little extra if the restaurant has an alcohol license, our meal (with drinks) came to 1,020 dirham (€110/£95)).

Yes you can get tastier and cheaper food elsewhere, but you’d be hard pushed to find somewhere as nice as La Maison Arabe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeryHungryExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing