We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Ranked #76 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ideally located in the heart of Gueliz, this elegant restaurant gets back in touch with the authentic living ambiences of Marrakesh. The decor is in complete harmony with the Moroccan culture: it offers a pub, Moorish, and colonial spirit. The Grand Cafe de la Poste offers a French cuisine with Mediterranean accents.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

French dining restaurant in Marrakech. Good location , great staff and fine food. Not very Moroccan but still a great evening out - could have been in Paris but without the surly waiters. Wine selection was good if expensive and the food was excellent. Slight nod to being Marrakech in the tajines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dumbledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    544
    223
    100
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic fusion of French and Moroccan in an elegant environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went for my partners birthday in January 2013 and loved the restaurant so much we returned a couple of days later. Beautiful "Casablanca-style" plantation shutters with huge palour palms in an elegant building takes you back in time. The food was incredible and imaginative; try the prawn and monkfish tagine and the spider crab starter, apparently the steak was excellent as well. The wine was more than ample and reasonably priced with both Moroccan and French choices. The service was excellent and discrete. After dinner we went upstairs to the mezzanine bar and relaxed with an digestif. Would thoroughly recommend the whole experience or just go for a drink or cocktail (also fabulous) in the bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ItIsWhatItIs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not at all what I was led to expect from other reviews. It's in the new part of the city (which at night doesn't look that different from a European city). The restaurant is smart and stylish, looking like a modern French brasserie, a little like a contemporary version of Balthazar in New York.

Food itself was great, probably best described as French brasserie food with a Moroccan touch. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. We shared a calamari starter and both had tasty beef skewers with a good bottle of wine which come to Dir800.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and location in Gueliz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We sought out Grand Cafe de la Poste as we were exploring Gueliz and our guidebook said that it served good club-sandwiches!! After a few days of traditional Moroccan food we were feeling a little worse for wear from the night before and craving lemonade, salad and sandwiches in a chilled atmosphere-which is exactly what we got!!

The food was lovely and we had a nice time, it totally fitted the bill for us. We sat outside and watched the world go by but the inside decor is almost colonial - dark wood and ceiling fans. I would definitely recommend it as a lunch venue for Gueliz.

Helpful?
Thank FunLover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but somewhat overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A French brasserie in Marrakech. The menu reflects this as much as the decor. Arrived without a booking a little early (they open at 7.30PM) and told to hang on. However people were going in at that time. I suspect a regular clique (upstairs) get to go whenever they want. Food unobjectionable but a bit overpriced, as is the wine. The final bill worked out more than for either of the two very good restaurants we tried in Marrakech. In summary, I would not reject it, but be a bit more picky on the menu next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing