We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A bit touristy, but great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #62 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit touristy, but great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want to get off the beaten track and can't stand all that touristy stuff, then you should probably go elsewhere.

If you however, don't mind that you are only dining with other tourists, and don't mind the show, the music and the belly dancers, then you should give it a try. We loved it.

PS! If you don't want the show, you have the option of dining in the quiet room ( where a scene from Hitchcock's "The man who knew too much" was shot )

I don't think that a place being touristy necessarily means its not authentic. I am no expert on Moroccan culture and history, but to me Dar Essalam felt very authentic, and it made me wonder what the visitors from Europe or other distant places felt when they visited places like this centuries ago.

This, however, would not matter if the food wasn't any good. Luckily, the food was great, and the slow cooked beef, the Tanjia with cumin and safran, was absolutely amazing, and by far the best meal of our Marrakesh days.

I would say that the place is well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    285
    147
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad we dined here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Some friends & I were looking for a nice place to eat in Marrakech and we decided to eat at Dar Essalam, primarily due to its having been featured in a 1950's Alfred Hitchcock movie: "The Man Who Knew Too Much". It did not disappoint. The decor was spectacular with beautiful mosaic tiles everywhere. The food was very good, although a tad bit expensive for N. Africa. But the free entertainment made it absolutely worthwhile. There were musicians playing typical music from Morocco and then a belly dancer entertained everyone while we dined. After that, another dancer came out with a candelabra perched on her head. She performed some amazing moves on stage, all the while supporting this huge candelabra on her head. The place is a bit loud due to the music and restaurant patrons cheering on the entertainers but hey, it was lots of fun and definitely was a memorable experience. I'm sure I won't find a candelabra dancer back home in downtown Phoenix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You won't find any locals here, but the food is good, and they have a belly dancer show. Hitchcock's "the Man Who Knew too Much" had a scene filmed here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a lovely interesting place. Set price menu but you had choices in each category which was good. Green olives were spicy but delicious! The show was very good with the first belly dancer dancing with a tray of candles on her head! Then you had the musicians who were good and finally another belly dancer. It was a very enjoyable evening and the staff were excellent. The restuarant was very comfortable too.The food was good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Hitchcock restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dar Essalam lives up to its reputation and maintains its quality. Good price for the set menu and prompt service throughout with the waiters always providing a fun element to their work. Good floor show of Gnawa and Arab musicians, tray dancer and bellydancer. Always popular helped by the 'Hitchbock connection' so booking is advisable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne_kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing