We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we dined here!”
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #73 of 875 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad we dined here!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Some friends & I were looking for a nice place to eat in Marrakech and we decided to eat at Dar Essalam, primarily due to its having been featured in a 1950's Alfred Hitchcock movie: "The Man Who Knew Too Much". It did not disappoint. The decor was spectacular with beautiful mosaic tiles everywhere. The food was very good, although a tad bit expensive for N. Africa. But the free entertainment made it absolutely worthwhile. There were musicians playing typical music from Morocco and then a belly dancer entertained everyone while we dined. After that, another dancer came out with a candelabra perched on her head. She performed some amazing moves on stage, all the while supporting this huge candelabra on her head. The place is a bit loud due to the music and restaurant patrons cheering on the entertainers but hey, it was lots of fun and definitely was a memorable experience. I'm sure I won't find a candelabra dancer back home in downtown Phoenix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    341
    174
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A tourist restaurant”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

You won't find any locals here, but the food is good, and they have a belly dancer show. Hitchcock's "the Man Who Knew too Much" had a scene filmed here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a lovely interesting place. Set price menu but you had choices in each category which was good. Green olives were spicy but delicious! The show was very good with the first belly dancer dancing with a tray of candles on her head! Then you had the musicians who were good and finally another belly dancer. It was a very enjoyable evening and the staff were excellent. The restuarant was very comfortable too.The food was good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Hitchcock restaurant!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dar Essalam lives up to its reputation and maintains its quality. Good price for the set menu and prompt service throughout with the waiters always providing a fun element to their work. Good floor show of Gnawa and Arab musicians, tray dancer and bellydancer. Always popular helped by the 'Hitchbock connection' so booking is advisable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne_kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old beautiful palace avarage quality of food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had dinner in the restaurant Dar Es Salaam with my wife and unfortunately we were the only couple in the middle of large noisy groups. We appreciated the nice old palace but we cannot say the same about our meal and about the atmosphere. Pretty average quality the food and cheap atmosphere.
Taking into account that Marrakech offers a large choice of great and sofisticated restaurants i would rate this one with 3 point only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo_Giorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing