We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #61 of 758 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You won't find any locals here, but the food is good, and they have a belly dancer show. Hitchcock's "the Man Who Knew too Much" had a scene filmed here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    282
    145
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
182 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a lovely interesting place. Set price menu but you had choices in each category which was good. Green olives were spicy but delicious! The show was very good with the first belly dancer dancing with a tray of candles on her head! Then you had the musicians who were good and finally another belly dancer. It was a very enjoyable evening and the staff were excellent. The restuarant was very comfortable too.The food was good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Hitchcock restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dar Essalam lives up to its reputation and maintains its quality. Good price for the set menu and prompt service throughout with the waiters always providing a fun element to their work. Good floor show of Gnawa and Arab musicians, tray dancer and bellydancer. Always popular helped by the 'Hitchbock connection' so booking is advisable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne_kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“old beautiful palace avarage quality of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had dinner in the restaurant Dar Es Salaam with my wife and unfortunately we were the only couple in the middle of large noisy groups. We appreciated the nice old palace but we cannot say the same about our meal and about the atmosphere. Pretty average quality the food and cheap atmosphere.
Taking into account that Marrakech offers a large choice of great and sofisticated restaurants i would rate this one with 3 point only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo_Giorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A good meal but I don't know the cost.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant is used by group tours and we visited as part of a Thomson Holidays (UK) tour. We were the only people in the restaurant but this may be associated with the time of our visit.

The meal was very good and in fact was one of the best we have ever had on a group tour. We had mixed starters, chicken tagine, cous cous and finally orange with cinnamon. I do not know the cost of the meal but drinks were very reasonable as a bottle of water was 25 Dinar.

The atmosphere was pleasant and the toilets were spotless

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing