We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“old beautiful palace avarage quality of food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #69 of 830 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old beautiful palace avarage quality of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had dinner in the restaurant Dar Es Salaam with my wife and unfortunately we were the only couple in the middle of large noisy groups. We appreciated the nice old palace but we cannot say the same about our meal and about the atmosphere. Pretty average quality the food and cheap atmosphere.
Taking into account that Marrakech offers a large choice of great and sofisticated restaurants i would rate this one with 3 point only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo_Giorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    321
    163
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A good meal but I don't know the cost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant is used by group tours and we visited as part of a Thomson Holidays (UK) tour. We were the only people in the restaurant but this may be associated with the time of our visit.

The meal was very good and in fact was one of the best we have ever had on a group tour. We had mixed starters, chicken tagine, cous cous and finally orange with cinnamon. I do not know the cost of the meal but drinks were very reasonable as a bottle of water was 25 Dinar.

The atmosphere was pleasant and the toilets were spotless

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Tasty food and excellent entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was tasty, although not as good as in out Riad (Jona) - the mixed moroccan salads were by far the best dish our group had. The entertainment (and the intricate and elaborate decorations) are the highlight of this place. Try to book into the main room if you plan to go

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jemk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been in this restaurant before and it has been a very nice time there watching the bellydancer and singers. Food was also lovely and plentyful.
This time it was definitely not good.
Set menu started to have many of the dishes with supplement, and considering that comes at 250 dh this is a joke. Its possible to eat much more in marrakech for 100 dh, so this is not justified.
The belly dance lasted 2 minute, a high heeled (really), bellydancer did a very quick show and vanished. Singer were there for most of the evening but nothing compared to some years ago.
Food was average, plates were still big but again nothing really special.
Drinks are severely overpriced. Its a lovely building and the waiter do everything they can to keep you entertained, but again, as it is now is not at all worth the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Chiappone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't forget your camera!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are many lovely dining experiences in marrakech - just make sure Dar Essalam is at the top of your list. It's not often you will have the chance to eat at a seventeenth century mansion! Around five different vast rooms, very beautiful architecture and stunning zellij (tiling) design that you will constantly keep looking at so make sure you take your camera with you...the entertainment is fun, exotic and be prepared to get involved. The food is plentiful, tasty and the service is fantastic. The attentive waiters will bend over backwards to please you while you eat and listen to the superb talented musicians. Very affordable too. While you stay in Marrakech, this is certainly worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flaresBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing