We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
Ranked #106 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and 6 freinds for 4 nights in this lovely Riad, Luc and his fantastic team looked after us very well nothing was too much trouble, they made our last night memorable arranging a Moroccan evening of music and belly dancing, with delicious food and wine
We made full use of the facilities, the hot tub was a great hit!
The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, with lovely robes, fluffy towels and nice touches like water and dried fruit
Breakfast was plentiful and varied , nothing to fault
The Riad is within easy walking distance of the Souks and we rather enjoyed the alleyways and local life, at no point did we feel unsafe in Marrakech,
Luc was the perfect host , ordering taxis, Recommending restaurants and best of all arranging the most amazing Hamman for us all, a must try in Marrackech!
Would highly recommend Dar Shlomes, and would happily rebook to stay there again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nan0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    25
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
165
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This riad is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech. The staff were very kind and helpful. They offered us tea and delicious biscuits several times. We particularly loved having our breakfast on the rooftop each morning. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Even before you arrive in Marrakech, the staff is preparing your stay. They help you to organize transportation from any point of the city. The smalls and busy streets to get to the Riad are misleading, but when you get there, you are welcome by the friendly staff, especially Luc and Sara. The Riad is well decorated in every detail. The rooms are fantastic! Everything you could ask for in Marrakech. The breakfast is really nice and you can take it whenever you want. The hotel provides you with a cell phone, which can be really helpful when you do not know the language. The roof has a great view over the city and has a Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, I went during winter and did not use it. But I can’t wait to go back. And if I do, I will definitely stay at dar Sholmes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeinBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A fantastic experience staying here! The Riad itself is exquisitely decorated, attention has been paid the minutest detail, from the shawls on the terrace sunbeds to the lovely fluffy towels in the rooms. Our room was beautiful, very nice to come back to after having spent the day walking round the chaos of Marrakech. The courtyard/dining area is a treat to eat in and wonderful to relax in; although this space is quite small we felt at ease relaxing here in close proximity to other guests who were using the area. Breakfast was of a very high quality and having extra warm, fresh bread was never too much trouble for the very friendly and welcoming staff. Luc is an incredible host, he is warm, generous, informative and will go out of his way to ensure that guests have the best possible experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: They're all brilliant - although go for one on the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay here. The staff were very helpful, efficient, and friendly. Luc the owner and Sara the Manager were most charming. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with top quality toiletries. Breakfast was amazing and really set you up for the day ahead. The location couldn't have been better, only 10 minutes walk from the center in a quiet residential area. Will definitely stay again next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muirster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything in this riad is perfect and the people who is working there as well! I will come back to this riad the next time for sure! The room amaizing and very clean, perfect breakfast! And relaxing jacuzzi after the long day in marrakech You dont feel like in a normal hotel is like a family!!! Thank you to the great people who make that dream possible. :). L&M

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luismirr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Located in the heart of the Medina, at not even 10 minutes walking distance from Djeema el Fna square (and Souk), the Riad Dar Sholmes is a small, elegant, peaceful and cosy place where you can't wait to come back to after your busy day through Marrakesh.
Luc, Sarah and the rest of the lovely team take care of you from breakfast (in the terrasse enjoying the sun and the view over the Medina) to (excellent and exclusive) dinner or after-dinner drink and just make you feel home! The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, the service is unbeatable and the overall harmonic and tasteful atmosphere of the riad make it very special: Definitely the perfect place to stay at in Marrakesh!
Thanks for this unique stay and, Luc, thanks for this very personal involvement in helping us making our stay unforgettable!
Markus and Virginie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#139 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Mboja
Riad Mboja
#53 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
7.2 mi away
Riad Kumeia
Riad Kumeia
#134 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#60 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#78 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#14 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Property: Dar Sholmes
Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing