We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stupefying!”
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
Ranked #96 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

An unforgettable 4 day experience full of excursions and excitement!
The whole staff was very welcoming and made sure to make our trip a memorable one.
The atmosphere of the rooms is magical unfortunately, four days aren't even enough to truly experience the beauty of the Riad and Marrakech itself.
We're looking forward on coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dinafabbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Dar Sholmes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went to Dar Sholmes in February for four days, and it was one of the most incredible trips I had ever been on. Highly atmospheric, the Riad is in the heart of the medina, It is literally 5 minutes away from the Place Jemaa el-Fna, which is a must-see in the beautiful city of Marrakech. The staff was sensational, the meals were absolutely delicious, and the general atmosphere of the Riad is enchanting. I went on a stupendous horse-riding trip, got a typical 'hammam' and massage at the spa right across from the Dar Sholmes Riad and even went on quads to visit a village right outside of Marrakech. The night life is extremely fun! Marrakech is a city for the young and the old, for singles and for couples, for citizens of the entire world... and the Riad Dar Sholmes is the right place for you to get the best out of Morocco!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Location is great down a few alleys , very close to Jema al Fna..about a 7 minute easy walk. There is 24 hr parking available very close by if you hired a car. Motorway links are very accessible. Loads of restaurants nearby to choose from and ATM's to withdraw cash if you need.

Luc and his staff are extremely wonderful and go out of their way to serve you. Muhammad in particular is a gem...polite and humble, ever ready to help. He is always available to help no matter what the time.

Luc made sure he kept in contact with us before our arrival and sent out Muhammad to fetch us when we arrived in Marrakech to guide us to the Riad. They handled all our luggage and gave us a first class welcome even though we got there past midnight.

The Riad served us breakfast no matter what time we got up and you could choose to be served in the roof garden or the dining area downstairs. Breakfast had the traditional breads, freshly squeezed juices, mint tea, hot chocolate, fruit salads, jams, different cakes everyday and cereals.

Rooms are super clean and serviced everyday, the bathrooms are quite luxurious and spacious. They provide thick bathrobes and high quality towels (towels changed everyday). Each room has an air-con and you can regulate the temperature to be comfortable.

The service is very personal and every guest is made to feel welcome. The female staff even washed some of our clothes without charging. They offered to book us into the hamam and massage the first day we arrived.

The Riad is so safe that our kids, who are 13 and 11 years preferred to stay there while we went out shopping. The staff took care of them and served them complimentary cakes and tea while we were away.

Wifi/Internet is free and there is good reception. We definitely recommend this beautiful Riad to everyone where you will get a warm reception a comfortable stay and great customer service.

You come as a guest and leave as a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NazimaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dar Sholmes is an extraordinary Riad. From our arrival at the airport we were constantly taken care of by the Staff. The Riad is situated only a few steps away from the Royal Palace. It is beautifully decorated, with exceptional attention to details: from the floor tiles to the bed linens, one is immediately aware of the authenticity of the place. The service is superb; our room was cleaned several times a day, not to mention the cordiality of the staff, which really makes yourself feel at home.
Luc the owner/manager of the Riad was also kind enough to organised several activities for us to enjoy the marvels of Marrakech throughout the day; with a memorable Quad adventure in the desert.
Dar Sholmes is a truly magical place which I strongly recommend to those travelers that want to immerse themselves in the local customs of Morocco without sacrificing luxury!

Room Tip: 1st floor!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Guglielmo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013
Google Translation

Caro Gugli,

Il est tellement facile d'être hôte lorsque nous avons la chance de recevoir de si belle personne comme toi!!!
Merci pour ton amitié, ta confiance et ta bonne humeur.....
Je suis heureux que tu gardes un si beau souvenir de ton experience à Marrakech.
Bacci e a presto........inchallah......
Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

During our stay we received the best service. From the moment we arrived until we (sadly) had to leave we felt very welcome at this beautiful Riad. The room was perfect and really nice decorated
I highly recommend to choose this Riad for your stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we had to leave, it was an incredible experience. You are instantly made to feel welcome. The Riad is perfectly located in the heart of the medina. The service was excellent, extremely helpful and friendly staff. It's a great place to stay and relax. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Here you can find a very good Ryad! Very good rooms, food and the attention and sympathy of the team is simply fantastic! The location is very good and typical, and it has a parking nearby.
Excellent place to stay! You will definitely feel like home!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chems
Hotel Chems
#354 of 502 in Marrakech
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kumeia
Riad Kumeia
#192 of 1,160 in Marrakech
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#73 of 1,160 in Marrakech
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#57 of 1,160 in Marrakech
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#28 of 1,160 in Marrakech
297 reviews
14.5 mi away
Le Palais Paysan
Le Palais Paysan
#88 of 1,160 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $55 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing