We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Marrakech!”
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #193 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elizabeth for 6 nights and did not want to leave at the end. We were a group of 9 and had the riad exclusively. It was our home from home as John and Elizabeth really do make you feel welcomed.
The rooms are all decorated beautifully as is the whole Riad. The roof terrace is lovely, such a great place to chill in the warm evenings. They have a collection of games that you can play, as well as books to read whilst relaxing on the sunloungers. We had lots of fun playing 'who wants to be a millionaire'!
The plunge pool located on the ground floor is much bigger than we thought it would be. We could all fit in it, no problem. Its just what you need after a busy and hot day of sightseeing!
The location is fantastic! Its close to all the tourist spots. A mere 10 minute walk to the Main square through the souks. Kamal (the BEST Riad manager ever) took us out on our first day to show us the way to the souks and gave us a tour on where everything was. Trying to get your bearings in the medina is quite difficult! So, the fun part was getting lost on the way back!
All the staff that work at the Riad are a real credit to the place. The ladies produced some amazing food for us and always made sure we were happy. Kamal was so patient with us when helping us organise trips and excursions. Anything you needed, they were on hand to help!
Thank you John, Elizabeth, Kamal, lovely ladies and night security man for such a wonderful stay! We will surely be back in the future.

The Mojo Mojo group

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageOmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 472 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Riad Elizabeth for 10 nights and it was incedible! The location is perfect and provides escapism from the hustle & bustle of the Medina.

Kamal was an absolute star - trust his recommendations!

We ate at the Riad twice suring our stay and you wont be disappointed. I personally believe they serve the best couscous in Marrakech.

The Riad exceeded our expectations is every aspect and we are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joslow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

really enjoyed my stay here. beautiful riad which really grew on me the longer i stayed. the best part for me was the service. this was my first time i have been marrakesh and kamal and the team could not have done more to make sure everything i needed i had whist never intruding on my stay especially when i was just relaxing at the riad. wherever i was i could call kamal and a taxi would be organised, suggestions on the best restaurants or advice on the best place to shop depending on what i was looking for. really made my first visit easy and allowed me freedom to explore a great city without worry. beautiful riad and excellent manager and team

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfymud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

You may be reading these reviews thinking there is a catch, it cant be that a single guesthouse can get this many positive comments, but it is true, this place really is a hidden gem that offers excellent value for money.

I was one of John and Elizabeth's first guests when they opened two years ago and have just returned from a second visit which itself is testament to how good it is - we all say we will go back but never do, do we?

Whilst time has moved on, the riad still retains the personal feeling it did in its start up. For me, this is what makes Riad Elizabeth special - yes the decor is far more chic than the room price suggests and its a very welcome oasis in the middle of the mayhem of the Medina, but that isnt what sets it apart from the others. The bit that makes Riad Elizabeth exceptional is the real attention to detail and hospitality John, Elizabeth and now their team show in making your trip memorable. Their care is genuine and honest - both for your trip and also how their business gets integrated into the local society, which is why they have such great stories to tell and also why you can trust their recommendations.

Also, top tip - if the thing putting you off a Riad over a hotel is the lack of proper pool - don't be deterred. Marrakech now offers a couple of "beaches"/large pool complexes outside the city that you can go to for the day (about 20 mins away from the medina). They are pricey for Marrakech and a bit noisy (later in the day they turn into clubs - so not that suitable for young kids) but they definitely help turn a city break into a holiday and provide a great few hours people watching - the posing was unreal!

Kim

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

A beautiful riad with super staff and a great location. The food on the first night was superb, and we ended up spending most of our time by the pool in the building! I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our large group - ten people in total - arrived in Marrakech to temperatures in the mid 40s with little or no expectations of what we would find in this ancient city or in the Riad Elizabeth, our home for the next five days. We were met at the airport with our transfers which had been arranged with the owners by email before we left and our drivers waited patiently while we changed our money and generally got ourselves organised. The short drive from the airport into the Medina was an experience in itself as we flew through the busy streets and dusty alleyways further into the heart of the city, trying to take in everything that was going on around us.

Before long we had arrived at our destination and the contrast between hectic streets of the Medina and the cool oasis of the Riad Elizabeth could not have been more dramatic. We were greeted by Kemal, the manager of the Riad, who took us past the tiled sunken pool into the beautifully chic dining room where glasses of mint tea and Moroccan pastries were waiting for us. I have travelled extensively and have rarely been in a place as delightful as the Riad Elizabth. From its impeccable décor - a sort of fusion of ancient Moroccan and subtle, faded art deco - to its attentive yet unobtrusive staff the Riad Elizabeth managed to strike that elusive balance between luxury and simplicity. On our first night we dined in the Riad on a veritable feast of lentils, aubergines and ochre served with a selection of warm bread and followed by hearty tagines of slow-cooked lamb and fish, all prepared by our in-house chef. The breakfast - included in the price of the Riad - was of a consistently high quality and consisted of fresh fruit and a selection of breads and Moroccan pastries.

On the morning of our first full day we were met after breakfast by Kemal who took us on a tour of the Medina, showing us the best routes from the Riad to the Djemaa el Fna, an invaluable service considering the labyrinthine network of narrow alleyways and noisy souks. This was, as we were soon to discover, typical of the level of service we were to receive from the staff at the Riad Elizabeth. Anything we required, from taxis to excursions was no more than a phone call away and both John and Elizabeth, the owners of the Riad, were often on hand with helpful advice and travel tips.

The Riad Elizabeth provided us with everything we needed for a wonderful holiday. Its coolness and its calm atmosphere made it the perfect escape from the crowds and the noises and the heat of Marrakech while its staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We would all be happy to recommend the Riad Elizabeth to anyone looking for a quite and relaxing retreat in the middle of vibrant Marrakech and furthermore, we are all looking forward to staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

What a delightful riad. It was easy to find on the map and we were able to park our hire car nearby and walk the short distance through the residential back streets to the front door. We were welcomed by Kamal, the riad manager, who made us feel very welcome whilst we chatted over mint tea and Moroccan pastries.

Our room was on the ground floor and was comfortably equipped with everything we needed for our stay including air conditioning, which was especially welcome as the outside temperature was 38 degrees Celsius!

We had arranged to eat at the riad on the first night and we were presented with a lavish feast of Moroccan salads, couscous and tagine. Breakfast was also plentiful with choices of different Moroccan bread and loads of freshly-made coffee.

Kamal ensured we had a map to find our way to the souks (and more importantly our way back!), but thankfully we already knew our way around. He was more than willing to help and made sure we had his mobile number should we need it.

Elizabeth and John were wonderful hosts and always stopped to have a chat and make sure we were enjoying our stay. as they did with all the guests.

All in all, Riad Elizabeth is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it. The décor is very modern and the whole place has a feel of calm and peace, which is welcome from the busy city outside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 499 in Marrakech
1,059 reviews
3.1 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#183 of 499 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#94 of 499 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#21 of 499 in Marrakech
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing