We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The icing on the cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #140 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The icing on the cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful Riad in March. We loved Morocco and we loved this Riad. It's in the perfect position. John and Elizabeth are a lovely couple and Elizabeth was a wonderful and informative host. Marrakech is an amazing city warm colourful and hypnotic. And our room was a little Oasis to retreat to after exploring and drinking in this magical city. Go to Marrakech. Stay in this Riad. It's as simple as that.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    41
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
257
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

There were 12 of us that went to Marrakech for my best friends hen Weekend. When we arrived at the medina it was hustle and bustle cars, bikes people everywhere, we were met at the airport which was arranged for us by the lovely John and Elizabeth who own Riad Elizabeth. John met us from the taxi and took us to the Riad as soon as we stepped in i knew we were in for a treat. I have never seen anything so beautiful, the decor was fantastic and john and Elizabeth gave us a very warm welcom with cakes and tea what more could you ask for. Every bedroom was stunning and very comfortable. John showed us around the markets and was a great guide. We went to many restaurants Jad Mahal which was amaizing and then Pacha to dance the night away. After a heavy night breakfast was served at the Riad by the most delightful staff.
I would recommend having dinner cooked for you and spend a night at the Riad as the food was delicious and not to be missed.
I would recommend Riad Elizabeth to anyone who is taking a trip to Marrakech, we will most deffinateley be returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Hidded in the noisy Medina, this charming Ryad brings serenity after a busy day in the Zouk.
All the amenities are in perfect conditions, the roof terrace, is a piece of paradise in the middle of the crowdy Marrakech.
John , Elizabeth and the whole team , really take care of everything you might need.
It is the perfect the combination between the arabic Ryad Style with the cleanness of a European hold Ryad.
Probably one of the best places to stay in marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Our week-long visit was just our kind of holiday in every way - seeing somewhere really different, staying somewhere unusual (Riad Elizabeth is a superb designer riad in a quiet part of the Medina) eating exotic food and seeing the 'real' city as well as the bits on display to the tourist. Although Marrakech probably isn't an obvious choice for a holiday with children (ours were 15, 12 and 9 at the time) they had a really good time and rated it as one of their best holidays ever. After a day exploring a city and area that takes you almost back to biblical times we could enjoy cool, air conditioned rooms, a pool, ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS riad-cooked food and hospitality that went far beyond the call of duty. The owners were there every morning and evening to help us organise what we wanted to do the next day, give helpful advice, book restaurants, taxis - nothing was too much trouble. And after a day out (in one case a spectacular trip to the Atlas mountains, on another to the nearby (recommended) Oasiria Water Park, we could relax on the roof terrace with beers while the children could lounge about playing cards. And we all especially enjoyed our Moroccan Cooking Experience Day, visiting the 'real' local market with one of the cooks to buy the ingredients, cooking couscous and salad with their instruction and enjoying the results in the evening. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5BearsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

We loved staying here. John and Elizabeth really understand what you want - restaurants, shops, places to visit etc - and are welcoming hosts. Its cool and comfortable but has an authentic and homely feel to it.
It was a real delight and we would recommend it, as we have to friends already!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Riad Elizabeth is a stunning place to stay and John, Elizabeth and their staff ensure that your stay is as relaxing and easy as possible. On arriving at the Riad we found it really useful to be shown through the souks by Elizabeth and her daughter, ensuring that we would be able to find our way back again! John and Elizabeth were also really helpful with recommending and booking restaurants, organising taxi's and arranging a driver to take us out to the Atlas Mountains. The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated and I would highly recommend the bath in the 'Lucy' room. All in all Riad Elizabeth helped to make our trip to Marrakech very memorable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ld09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

I honestly could not recommend this place enough as everything was done perfectly. Right from when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome (when we turned up the staff had even spelt out 'welcome Chris and Anna' in beads on the table!) and John and Elizabeth are excellent hosts. On the first night we ate at the Riad which was excellent- my partner is a vegetarian and she thought their vegetable tagine was the best she had all week. The room was really niceand clean and the riad itself was contemporary whilst managing to keep enough of the original features to make it feel authentically Morrocan.

What really made this place great though was the personal touch. John and Elizabeth are excellent at making sure that everything you want is at hand. All of the restaurants they recommended were spot on and they were happy to book them for you (again they always remembered that my partner was a vegetarian and always mentioned it when they booked which was a nice touch). On the first day they take you round the centre and tell you of what you should be wary of which is VERY useful. They will also organise anything else you may want like massages and trips to the surrounding area. Whilst we were there we took a tour of the Atlas mountains which I highly recommend.

All-in-all I don't have a bad word to say about this place and if you are going to Marrakech you have to stay at this Riad!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#91 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#193 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#18 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#23 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#103 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing