We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“an oasis in the marrakech medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #118 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an oasis in the marrakech medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

We loved staying here. John and Elizabeth really understand what you want - restaurants, shops, places to visit etc - and are welcoming hosts. Its cool and comfortable but has an authentic and homely feel to it.
It was a real delight and we would recommend it, as we have to friends already!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    41
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
257
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Riad Elizabeth is a stunning place to stay and John, Elizabeth and their staff ensure that your stay is as relaxing and easy as possible. On arriving at the Riad we found it really useful to be shown through the souks by Elizabeth and her daughter, ensuring that we would be able to find our way back again! John and Elizabeth were also really helpful with recommending and booking restaurants, organising taxi's and arranging a driver to take us out to the Atlas Mountains. The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated and I would highly recommend the bath in the 'Lucy' room. All in all Riad Elizabeth helped to make our trip to Marrakech very memorable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ld09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

I honestly could not recommend this place enough as everything was done perfectly. Right from when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome (when we turned up the staff had even spelt out 'welcome Chris and Anna' in beads on the table!) and John and Elizabeth are excellent hosts. On the first night we ate at the Riad which was excellent- my partner is a vegetarian and she thought their vegetable tagine was the best she had all week. The room was really niceand clean and the riad itself was contemporary whilst managing to keep enough of the original features to make it feel authentically Morrocan.

What really made this place great though was the personal touch. John and Elizabeth are excellent at making sure that everything you want is at hand. All of the restaurants they recommended were spot on and they were happy to book them for you (again they always remembered that my partner was a vegetarian and always mentioned it when they booked which was a nice touch). On the first day they take you round the centre and tell you of what you should be wary of which is VERY useful. They will also organise anything else you may want like massages and trips to the surrounding area. Whilst we were there we took a tour of the Atlas mountains which I highly recommend.

All-in-all I don't have a bad word to say about this place and if you are going to Marrakech you have to stay at this Riad!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We only stayed for one night, but this Riad is great. It is so well located, and although you can walk everywhere in Marrakesh, you will get lost and hassled if it is more than 5 minutes from the main Souk. Elizabeth and John and consummate hosts and the Riad is decorated in a modern let traditional style. It is so easy to find which automatically makes you feel reassured. A great place to stay if it is your first time in Marrakesh as John and Elizabeth will look after you brilliantly. And I also think very well priced.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We had a lovely stay here - it's the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The service was second to none and John and Elizabeth great hosts. Relaxing on the roof terrace was a highlight. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

My wife and I have just spent 5 nights in the Riad Elizabeth and can honestly say that it surpasses even the superlative comments we read about on the Trip Advisor site. It is the first accommodation anywhere in the world that has exceeded my expectations to such a degree. Elizabeth , John and their staff have created a unique experience combining elegance, artistic flair and hospitality. I urge anyone considering visiting Marrakech to book this Riad before it's reputation makes it unavailable. We will be returning and we will be telling all our friends and family of its outstanding qualities. Elizabeth and John can be truly proud of what they have achieved. Don't hesitate ! book it now.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollokeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband booked a surprise weekend in Marrakech for my 40th birthday. He researched hundreds of riads and I do believe that he found the best in Marrakech. The riad itself is beautiful, the decor exquisite. The owners, John and Elizabeth, made us feel welcome from the word go. As we arrived late on the first night we ate there - the food was delicious. The following morning after a lovely light breakfast on the roof terrace, John walked us through the narrow alleys to the souks and main square, giving us landmarks and tips along the way. After that we were left to our own devices but they made some great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#292 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#120 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#71 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing