We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“loved our stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #97 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“loved our stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very nice place, well-run, excellently constructed (never had such good showers in a hotel before, perfect airco). Rooms are a bit dark, and there is no in-room tv, but there is excellent speedy WiFi and a window openingon the courtyard. Nice roof terrace, you can take your own drinks. Best of all: cook that served the best food we've had in Morocco. Owner John is wonderful: experienced hotelowner, integrous, kind & knows all about the city and where to go (and not on the basis of commission!). Staff is very friendly (only they left our door/window unlocked after cleaning --since the riad is accessed by a very limited number of people (only one other room (of six) was in use) I don't think it was a big risk, but you might consider not leaving valuables inside. There is a tiny safe with keylock.)

The riad is in the Medina (old city within city walls) which means that, when you take your own taxi from outside the area you always have to walk the last bit--and will get hussled by the many young men wanting to earn some money. So they'll ask for 5 euros to guide you--taking a long tour, when the riad is just around the corner.... Learn to find your way as fast as you can and do take a recommended guide when you go into the soukhs the first time, best advice I can give. I regret very much we didn't take a guide: what happens is this: gentleman makes a kind remark, like expressing concern for your safety in the street, next you get invited (but I am not a guide! they say), then hassled, yelled at when you try to gracefully decline : it gave us a very bad mood and dislike for the area. If you go along with a guide in the street you need constant negotiating and you might still end up in the wrong place. If you need someone to help you on your way: settle what you give first, and don't pay till you are at a point where you really know the way yourself- you could otherwise just be left anywhere with some invalid instructions.

The taxi that the hotel relies on, by the way, has a deal with respect to charges (40 dirham n the Medina, 70 out). Outside the medina however you find taxis with metres, they are extremely cheap (for example 8 dirham for circling half the city). The friendly taxi-driver from the hotel also tries to get more money from you (like everyone in Morocco it seems), only he is very friendly if you disagree...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    40
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
257
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Such a beautiful riad - we had a lovely stay. The staff are all so friendly and made everything easy for us. It is beautifully decorated and extremely clean.
The air con works wonders - which we were very grateful for during our stay in July when the temperature outside went up to 40C!!
The shower in our room worked better than the shower we have at home.
There is beautiful roof terrace with shade to relax with a drink after a long hot day exploring.
I would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Riad Elizabeth is the perfect place to stay if you want to see the heart of Marrakech. The staff (John and Samira) were lovely, and extremely helpful in organizing trips and restaurants for us to visit so that we really made the most of our stay. Our room (Olivia) was beautiful and had all we needed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the city!

Lucy & James

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights at the beginning of July, the Riad had been reccommended by friends of ours and they were not wrong, what a truly stunning, unique and perfect stay we had! We were greeted with traditional mint tea and scattered rose petals on our bed. The rooms were clean, traditional and fully equipped with everything we needed. The staff went out of their way to assist in every way possible. John, Elizabeth and Samira went the extra mile to make sure our stay was tailored to our needs, taking us to places we needed to get to and arranging excursions for us. We dined at the riad the first night which was exceptional and the prices, terrace and service truly amazing.
We will be returning and to Riad Elizabeth, it will not dissapoint. We cannot reccommend enough.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in this Riad for two nights at the beginning of July, and I cannot express how brilliant it was. John, Elizabeth, Samira and the rest of the staff are all so friendly and accommodating. They happily arranged everything we needed, sometimes knowing what before we asked! On arrival, we were greeted with delicious mint tea and biscuits, and given a tour of the Riad. There were rose petals scattered around the room and on the bed, which was so romantic, and a lovely touch. We chose to eat our first night at the Riad and it was one of the best meals I have ever had. It was in a great location, close to the Souks and not far from the square.We will definitely be returning, it has been my favourite place to stay, anywhere, so far. Thank you so much, I wish we had stayed for longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Felicity room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Riad, nice clean rooms, nice terrace, nice breakfast and the staff is excellent!. Near all the attractions but still pretty quiet, it was nice to come back to a nice peaceful and relax place after all the walking all day in the medina.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaritoLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at this fantastic Riad quite a few times now and the standards in every department are very high. Elizabeth, John and all the staff go out of their way to help in every way. Riad E is a great place to relax and yet you are very close to all the action of the souks. can't make recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#306 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Porte Royale
Riad Porte Royale
#283 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#166 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing