We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with wonderful service”
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #192 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stay in Riad for 5 days and it was really wonderful experience. The evening food was the best we ate during our holiday. Dagmara is so helpful and organised for us everything we needed. The riaditself is very clean with beautiful roof area and the rooms are nicely decorated. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Riad Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived in Marrakesh, weary from a couple of days trekking, the staff and manager at Elizabeth ensured our stay was magnificent. Our taxi got lost in the medina and Dagmara, the manager, went out of her way to come and find us; just one example of the attention to detail and perfect, although unobtrusive customer service. We ate at the Riad and which was excellent and in a beautifully restored building. If only accomodation experiences were like this in the UK. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had it been my intention in early 2012 as a single female to sojourn in Marrakech...No
Had it been my intention to travel and holiday alone ...No
So why did i ?
I did so having had my imagination captivated by an evocative posting on Riad Elizabeth's Facebook which outlined a weeks organised itinerary intent on showcasing both Morocco and the Gnawa World Music Festival which I have since discovered is held in the south of Morocco in the port of Essaouira to be precise every June
When reading the itinerary posted by the lovely Dagmara (John and Elizabeths chosen manager for Riad Elizabeth) I realised Dagmara who was then no more than an exotically named unknown person was essentially sharing her own personal love for Morocco, for the music festival, and for her relatively new position (at that time) of managing Riad Elizabeth
As a result I uncharacteristically booked the tour inclusive of a stay at Riad Elizabeth and thereafter the 2 flights necessary for me to jorney from Scotland to Marrackech
Such was the frenetic pase of activity I had barely time to absorb (until I was on the first plane out of Scotland) that it was now fact that I was indeed about to journey and to arrive in Marrakech alone
How glad I was to have stepped out of character on this particular occasion and to have entrusted myself to be led by my imagination and by Dagmaras genuine and heartfelt enthusiasm which accompanied me into the sweltering sun and the unknown
For I was richly rewarded for doing so with all manner of experiences all of which were wonderful
Barely did I notice during my weeks stay that I was alone such was the degree and extent of the hospitality and warmth that i encountered not only within Riad Elizabeth but also beyond Riad Elizabeths walls and further yet beyond the medieval walls of Marrakech itself
For a truly beautiful, heart warming,genuine,uplifting and joyful experience I hope that Dagmara will continue to inspire others (whether familiar with Morocco or not whether travelling solo or not whether you have stayed at Riad Elizabeth before or not) to experience the warm heart of Morocco that in June each year beats wildly to North African drums
I can add no more praise to that which has already been bestowed upon Riad Elizabeth and upon all of the lovely people within Riad Elizabeth who give of their best so that the visitor 'solo' or otherwise enters into a Moroccan delight
My lateness in my own posting here derives only from the fact that my own heart still beats wildly for Morocco......be still my beating heart so that I can write !
I had such a fantastic time due to the efforts of others that I feel I am entitled to just a little poetic licence here..hah ha
Viva Morocco it is a land that is blessed and will bless you in return

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. Riad Elizabeth is perfectly located amongst the Medina's charming chaos, and only a 10 minute walk from Djemaa el fna. Airport transfers and dinner were arranged in advance, and we arrived to a warm greeting of Mint tea and a room upgrade from the Riad manager, Dagmara. Perfect start to a great few days. The decor is modern, a little bit gothic, and whole heartedly Morrocan! The roof terrace is amazing, almost too good to want to venture out at all.
Elizabeth, John and Dagmara were extremely friendly and helpful and Dagmara especially had great tips on navigating the souks and mastering the barter!! The hospitality is fantastic, and all of the staff here went above and beyond to ensure we were happy! Riad Elizabeth is a gem amongst the medina's dusty streets. We had a great experience and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HulaHulaMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed in this lovely riad with my sister, we were given a room upgrade, which was lovely and spacious. The riad is comfortably furnished and very centrally located for the souks and square, an approximate 10 minute walk. Before our visit Elizabeth and John answered my numerous requests and questions via email and were so helpful along with their staff in organising various excursions I wanted to do, so as to maximise my time in Marrakech. Arranged to have dinner on our first night at the riad and it was one of the best I have had on any holiday. The food was plentiful and so tasty and would definitely recommend having at least one meal cooked by their fantastic cook Bahija. Breakfasts were different every day, usually comprising fresh fruit salad, pancakes and bread with preserves. Has a lovely roof terrace, where we had breakfast each day and pool which although I did not use, is definitely an advantage during the intense August heat. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone wishing to stay in a centrally located riad and who wishes to see the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashaM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are going to Marrakech this is without a doubt the place you want to stay at. Staff offer priceless hospitality, help and knowledge of the city and it's people and nothing is too much trouble. Beautifully clean and comfortable designer rooms combined with a great roof terrace and little pool make Riad Elizabeth a haven amongst the bustling city.
Help and advice with planning excursions, travelling, restaurant bookings, recommendations and airport transfers are readily available and make your trip much easier and much more memorable.
It is, however, the staff that make this hotel unforgettable. We would have been literally lost without them! We even had an authentic Moroccan cooking lesson which included being taken to the food markets (largely unseen by tourists) and shown how to prepare in true morrocan style.
Will never forget this trip, you have to stay here. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Marrakech. We were going to stay at the Sofitel hotel but decided to stay a more traditional Riad. We were so pleased that we made this decision as the Riad is beautiful and the staff are so helpful and friendly. They provided so much useful information and even arranged a trip to the Atlas mountains. I would recommend the Riad to anyone. I am sure that you would not have got the same service in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.1 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#146 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#375 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#438 of 502 in Marrakech
1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#301 of 502 in Marrakech
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $75 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing