We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but not really fond of the interior” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #22 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Romantic, Family, With friends
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food but not really fond of the interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

the place was fully booked but we were offered a table in the front room (with a fireplace). Strange- it's an Italian trattoria but it had nothing to do with Italy- the interior was a mixture of all possible styles.The place is also famous for having the tables next to the swimming pool but I also did not really like it. I liked the live music (guitar player). The food was good and the service was excellent. Dishes are pretty big (Médaillon de boeuf au parmesan) and tasty (asparagus). Dish prices are 20-35EUR.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    148
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enchanting restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The decor is romantic and exotic! Menu was a bit small but we loved our choices. Our table was by the pool and was lined with flickering lanterns! Very tasty! I hate even to say this but our waiter met us by the front door when we were leaving and said "we didn't put down money for the service." I was a bit taken back as the bill has a service charge added already. I felt surprised by this. I usually put down a little extra but forgot to do so. A strange ending to an otherwise fine evening! I still am rating it very good. Yves Saint Laurent used to dine here when staying in Marrakech years ago.

Helpful?
Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant some of the best food we have ever had.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner went to this restaurant after finding it in a guide and it was close too our hotel. The decoration and atmosphere were unbeatable with the exception of who we guessed was the owner or manager who was quite rude to the staff while he smoked chatting with customers he knew and even went as far to point at us and talk about us he wasn't very discreet.

But don't let that put you off once you go around the back for your meal it is truly amazing and the food is unbeatable but very pricy. We spent £80 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine it is pricy compared to other places in Marrakech but well worth it, and and cheap When compared to the same quality food in the UK.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fagernes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trattatoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a very nice evening here, in total we where 12 people. Visited the establishment beforehand.
Everything to satisfaction. Great service, very professional, great food, Can highly recommend, will go again, must bee great by the pool when warmer.
Bathrooms, just 100% better than at home!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Setting was lovely - food a total disappointment, service poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Were advised there are only two types of good restaurant in Morocco, Morrocan and French. This restaurant proves the point. It claims to be Italian but is nothing like any Italian I have been offered before. It purports to have style but a large portion of menu taken up with "choose you pasta , then choose your sauce". Starter tartlet was small pizza but on different base. Main dished smothered in melted cheese and bore no resemblence to what was expected. Even got ice cream wrong, probable home made but full of ice crystals.Wine recomendation was so poor we had only one glass each. To finish meal my wife asked for Moroccan tea.. Seeing the glass was empty waiter asked "more tea madam". Yes please. Waiter went to pour and exclaimed "is empty" and disapeared in true Faulty Towers style never to be seen again. At this point we gave up. There are good restaurants in the city but not this one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing