We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Touch of France in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-30274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 762 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Touch of France in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was brought here by a friend and fell in love! The food is perfect each and every time, the service is great and the atmosphere allow for every type of situation. I had the lamb brain and was impressed with the presentation and tatse! Wonderful wine selection as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    160
    52
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“J'adore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this restaurant by a friend of mine who was a single diner. I chose to go alone and was instantly struck by the beautiful decor and pleasant natures of the staff. I chose the Spanish mussels to start; they were cooked beautifully and were absolutely divine. I was also recommended a wine to complement the dish but chose to go with the hard liquor instead. For the main I again opted for Spanish mussels, I was disappointed with the flavour but on the whole I would recommend this restaurant to anyone/everyone. Five stars!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I ate here last night and turned up as a single diner, with no reservation. I received a very warm welcome and was shown to a good table. I ordered oysters and asked for their recommendation for a glass of wine to accompany this - their choice was excellent. This was followed by a very, very good rib eye steak and frites. Extraordinarily good and again accompanied by a recommended wine. I can't recommend this place highly enough, absolutely outstanding in every way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“As bistro as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Who'd of thought you had to go to Morocco to have the best French restaurant experience. Everything about Bagatelle is as authentic as it gets, from the atmosphere and decor to the cuisine and service. For starters we went for a dozen of escargot. The freshness of the snails combined with the garlic and parley butter glaze was as heart warming as it gets. I then had the escalope cordon bleu, which consist of cheese and ham sandwiched between cuts of veal and the whole thing enveloped in a crispy breading... Luckily Lent had just ended, because all that goodness left me feeling like I had sinned for the year. My companion went for the magret de canard, served with a side of caramelized apples. The duck was so tender and the caramelized apples, although a classic combination with duck, lifted up the dish to another level. It's classic french bistro food at its best. As for dessert, couldn't go wrong with the french classic Profterol, a combination of vanilla ice cream and choux pastry topped with warm flowing chocolate. And if this doesn't convince you...
Overall, it's been a real surprise to have found such a bistro amongst all the new wave inspired restaurant which look so alike. This one stands out to bring the finest of french bistro cuisine to your table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent "Parisian" Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

You could be forgiven for thinking you were in Paris when you step through the thick red entrance curtain.
We turned up on a busy Friday evening with no reservation and they found us a small table at once. The rest of the tables were quickly filled with expat french. The service is friendly and efficient. Typical French menu. The dishes and portions are generous and well presented. We had excellent French onion soup & goats cheese as starters follows by breaded pork chop & calves liver. Just room to sample the wonderful lemon tart.
So good we returned for Lunch a couple of days later for our final meal in Marrakech.
Well worth a visit for an leisurely weekend lunch sitting outside in the shade.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing