We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-30274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I ate here last night and turned up as a single diner, with no reservation. I received a very warm welcome and was shown to a good table. I ordered oysters and asked for their recommendation for a glass of wine to accompany this - their choice was excellent. This was followed by a very, very good rib eye steak and frites. Extraordinarily good and again accompanied by a recommended wine. I can't recommend this place highly enough, absolutely outstanding in every way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    160
    52
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“As bistro as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Who'd of thought you had to go to Morocco to have the best French restaurant experience. Everything about Bagatelle is as authentic as it gets, from the atmosphere and decor to the cuisine and service. For starters we went for a dozen of escargot. The freshness of the snails combined with the garlic and parley butter glaze was as heart warming as it gets. I then had the escalope cordon bleu, which consist of cheese and ham sandwiched between cuts of veal and the whole thing enveloped in a crispy breading... Luckily Lent had just ended, because all that goodness left me feeling like I had sinned for the year. My companion went for the magret de canard, served with a side of caramelized apples. The duck was so tender and the caramelized apples, although a classic combination with duck, lifted up the dish to another level. It's classic french bistro food at its best. As for dessert, couldn't go wrong with the french classic Profterol, a combination of vanilla ice cream and choux pastry topped with warm flowing chocolate. And if this doesn't convince you...
Overall, it's been a real surprise to have found such a bistro amongst all the new wave inspired restaurant which look so alike. This one stands out to bring the finest of french bistro cuisine to your table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent "Parisian" Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

You could be forgiven for thinking you were in Paris when you step through the thick red entrance curtain.
We turned up on a busy Friday evening with no reservation and they found us a small table at once. The rest of the tables were quickly filled with expat french. The service is friendly and efficient. Typical French menu. The dishes and portions are generous and well presented. We had excellent French onion soup & goats cheese as starters follows by breaded pork chop & calves liver. Just room to sample the wonderful lemon tart.
So good we returned for Lunch a couple of days later for our final meal in Marrakech.
Well worth a visit for an leisurely weekend lunch sitting outside in the shade.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Would recommend you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic evening at Bagatelle, the food was top class as was the warm welcome and a very good list of local and international wines. We went to the restaurant based on TripAdvisor recommendations and weren't disappointed. My daughter is a vegetarian and was catered for well from a good sized menu. The snails were a popular choice with us as were the well cooked steaks. In fact we went back the following night as the place we were planning to go to was closed - why not we enjoyed ourselves so much the previous evening. Expect on a warm evening the al fresco dining would be an enjoyable experience as well. One not to miss

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cormac1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for dinner in Gueliz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening away from the Medina where we were staying - had sun downers at the Sky Bar of the Renaissance Hotel, then dinner in La Bagatelle - stunning food and great service and the place has a really friendly vibe! Good range of different cuisines. Definitely a lovely trip out of the Medina madness!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JW52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing