We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very authentically French” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
Ranked #54 of 789 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
391 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Very authentically French”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want a change from Moroccan food, this is almost like leaving Morocco and stepping into a Parisian brasserie. Even the waiters seem much more French than Moroccan. The walls are filled with nostalgic black and white photographs of the old days of the French colonial period, this also includes the toilets upstairs.

We had lunch outside and could have had a good deal of about 120dh each for three courses, but instead went a la carte as it was our last meal and enjoyed a lovely pastilla (about the only Moroccan thing on the menu) and a rather good beef dish with mashed potatoes and vegetables. It did feel a little strange having a meat-and-potatoes meal in the heat of Marrakesh, but I'm sure the expats living here love the chance to escape from Morocco, if only for the afternoon.

I finished off with "cafe gourmand" - coffee with 3 miniature desserts, all rather delicious. We both enjoyed our meals. The only sour note was that we were overcharged for two items on the menu - one was charged almost at double the correct price. I'm prepared to believe this was a genuine mistake, as the waiter was really most apologetic when we pointed this out and came back with a corrected bill very quickly.

I think the atmosphere inside at night would be extreemly good - there is a beautiful glass cupola over the restaurant and personally, I think evening would be the time to go here. It's quite easy to find on the corner of rue de Yougoslavie opposite the derelict cinema (of which, incidentally, there are some photos on the walls!)

Incidentally, even though this restaurant is as French as French can be, the menu did contain English translations throughout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    171
    59
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely building and a great future”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a impromptu bottle of wine after visiting La Majorelle Garden and decided to come back for Lunch which we barely made due to traffic as the restaurant closes at 3.00pm, however the Manager made it clear we were welcome to stay to finish our meal at leisure so all not lost. Lovely interior and Parisian feel.

Helpful?
Thank jeeveschester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice splurge restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had one dinner here and it was very good. The ambiance was nice, the waiter was very attentive and efficient, and the food was excellent. The cost, though a tad high for Morocco, was worth every penny. It is located in the Ville Nouvelle part of Marrakech, on a side street that is not very attractive, but only two blocks or so from from Avenue Mohammed V. The restaurant takes reservations. We did not have one, so we had to sit outside, which was pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

In September while visiting Marrakech, our guide took us to lunch at this incredible french restaurant. Just a short taxi ride from the town square, entering it is like visiting France in Morocco. The food was exquisite and the service excellent. After a delicious salad, my friend and I had the steak, which was done with a mushroom sauce to die for. The desserts topped it off: I tried a chocolate one with delicious vanilla ice cream on the side, and she had creme brulee. If you sat in the outdoor courtyard, there were gentle spritzers spraying water to keep you cool. This was the best restaurant we ate at in Morocco during our 2-week adventure. It's a nice change from Moroccan food, which, of course, is also delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been to many restaurants in the past where we have had a really nice meal only to be disappointed when the standard wasn't maintained on subsequent visits.
the bagatelle is a very welcome exception to this.
during the week we were in town we went there quite a few times and were delighted with the quality of both the food and the service.
this is a french owned restaurant and the menu is mostly french with a bit of moroccon slung in.
unlike in the uk were restaurants concentrate a limited menu so freshness and quality can be maintained; here the choice is large. maybe 25 mains and 12-13 starters, but the cooking whether it's a tagine or a steak, cannot be faulted. the only minor issue i had was an entrecote which was a bit chewy. i didn't complain at the time, i dare say they would have brought me something else if i would have asked.
apart from the dishes being of the highest quality, on the last night i had a tarte au citron for pudding, that would have caused most english bakers to look to their laurels. the balance between sweet and sour of the filling and the crispness of the pastry still lingers in my mouth.

the atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed especially in the covered outside area with wicker chairs and pot plants. the inside area has high ceilings, dark woodwork decorated with black and white photographs, which gives it a relaxed and familiar feeling.
the restaurant is nicely busy but not overcrowded. we never had a problem with finding a table. it is a family affair and the owner and his brother make a reassuring presence and whats more they have quite good english, which was a great help as our french was somewhat lacking. the best place we came across in marrakesh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing