We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
Ranked #64 of 847 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss this in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

In September while visiting Marrakech, our guide took us to lunch at this incredible french restaurant. Just a short taxi ride from the town square, entering it is like visiting France in Morocco. The food was exquisite and the service excellent. After a delicious salad, my friend and I had the steak, which was done with a mushroom sauce to die for. The desserts topped it off: I tried a chocolate one with delicious vanilla ice cream on the side, and she had creme brulee. If you sat in the outdoor courtyard, there were gentle spritzers spraying water to keep you cool. This was the best restaurant we ate at in Morocco during our 2-week adventure. It's a nice change from Moroccan food, which, of course, is also delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    180
    62
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canterbury
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been to many restaurants in the past where we have had a really nice meal only to be disappointed when the standard wasn't maintained on subsequent visits.
the bagatelle is a very welcome exception to this.
during the week we were in town we went there quite a few times and were delighted with the quality of both the food and the service.
this is a french owned restaurant and the menu is mostly french with a bit of moroccon slung in.
unlike in the uk were restaurants concentrate a limited menu so freshness and quality can be maintained; here the choice is large. maybe 25 mains and 12-13 starters, but the cooking whether it's a tagine or a steak, cannot be faulted. the only minor issue i had was an entrecote which was a bit chewy. i didn't complain at the time, i dare say they would have brought me something else if i would have asked.
apart from the dishes being of the highest quality, on the last night i had a tarte au citron for pudding, that would have caused most english bakers to look to their laurels. the balance between sweet and sour of the filling and the crispness of the pastry still lingers in my mouth.

the atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed especially in the covered outside area with wicker chairs and pot plants. the inside area has high ceilings, dark woodwork decorated with black and white photographs, which gives it a relaxed and familiar feeling.
the restaurant is nicely busy but not overcrowded. we never had a problem with finding a table. it is a family affair and the owner and his brother make a reassuring presence and whats more they have quite good english, which was a great help as our french was somewhat lacking. the best place we came across in marrakesh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorbet to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved this place, nice change from tagine, excellent steak with pepper sauce, chocolate mouse, excellent service in a beautiful setting, steak and beautiful Morroccon wine (Guerrouane)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“If you want an escape from Africa for a brief moment...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

After spending 3 days around restaurants in Jamaa al Fna this place was a service/quality dream come true. If you want to be treated special in an upmarket end of town (which is a rare quality) the staff in this restaurant are versed in humility, respect and understanding. My 2 year old was at home not only with the staff but with the food too. We stayed for 3 hours, had 3+ courses of gourmet food and drink and left them with a deserved tip. You get a mist cooling spray if you sit outside which we did due to the climate, but weather permitting inside is the place to be.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality, good value French style restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a great value French style restaurant that was so good we visited it twice on our seven day holiday. The first time I had delicious lambs brains with capers followed by a rib-eye steak with peppercorn sauce. Both were very well cooked and the steak was rare and tender as requested. My wife had a delicious fish that the waiter deboned at the table. Both were served with delicious vegetables of the day - which on both occasions were baked with cheese.

The owner/manager spoke good English, although some of the waiters spoke mainly French and Arabic. They were switched on enough to understand without us even needing to ask that our five year old daughter would like her main course pasta served with our starters so she had something to eat and more time to eat it. On the second visit I had a delicious salad starter with smoked duck and fois gras. Deserts were excellent - I had a rum baba, which came with a glass of rum and cost just 55 dirhams.

We sat outside on both nights.On the second it was very hot, but they had delightful water sprays that cooled you every minute or so.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing