We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would definitely go back... fantastic Riad, one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Douceur Mandarine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Douceur Mandarine
Ranked #335 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back... fantastic Riad, one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We are a couple and have just come back from Marrakech we stayed at Riad Douceur Mandarine , it has a fantastic location, we organised a airport transfer and the taxi driver walked us to the riad, it was quite a relief as I am sure we would have got lost. The location is perfect it is tucked away about 10 mins from main square, on a cobbled street, it is a residential area and the kids outside are always bidding you goodnight and morning it just has a great atmosphere. Stefan could not have been more helpful on arrival he gave us a map and told us what attractions to visit and the 'dos and donts'. The riad is very clean, with a beautiful terrace with a jacuzzi, the food in the riad itself is fantastic. We decided to eat at the riad and had a beautiful meal and it was incredibly romantic. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this riad, and will definitely stay again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    47
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This little riad hidden in the small alleys of the medina is a nice and very clean riad. In the midst of all the hustle and bustle the riad will offer you a great place of rest. Not only the rooms are very nice and quiet, they are all facing the patio. The rooms on the ground floor are a bit dark which might be nice in summer, as the terrace was already very bright in March. The rooms are well equipped but simple, all that in a fusion of modern and marrocain style, we loved it. Also the roof terrace is very peaceful and is overlooking the surrounding area, on clear days the Atlas can be seen, too. Our days started just great with a friendly breakfast (I loved the fresh orange juice) and a very friendly staff who was always happy to help. We haven't tried any dinner in the riad as many restaurants and bars can be reached within a few minutes only. A great choice of hammams is within walking distance, too.

If you're looking for a simple but nicely kept little riad, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay and had a great time at this riad, met by a driver organised by Stephan the owner after horrendous passport control queues and taken the 15/20 mins or so to the riad where we were greeted by Hameer(sp)? one of the staff who showed us to our room and cooked dinner for us which we requested in advance . This is a lovely riad with 5 rooms all decorated and laid out differently. there is soap, shower gel and robes in each room. The meal was ok although it could have been warmer and the couscous was a bit bland but this was normal for most of the couscous meals we had during our stay.We opted to eat here as we were unsure how far away we were from the square and after a long journey thought this was the safest option but we could so easily have found something to eat once we ventured out after our dinner which we did. I was very unsure to begin with, with the twisty dark narrow lanes but less than 10 mins walk we were in Jemma El Fna with the help of a map which was given to us on arrival, a blessing over the 5 days. The staff were always pleasant and the rooms were cleaned with fresh towels everyday. The breakfast was also good with lots of breads, jams, omelettes, fruit and fresh orange juice, nothing was too much bother. On my birthday I was presented by Stephan a bouquet of pink roses, they added a splash of colour in our room. Every morning Stephan was there to offer advice on places to visit and to answer our questions, we certainly had plenty! We were able to use the phone to make reservations for various restaurants without being charged which was nice. It would have been nice to be able to use the splash pool and jacuzzi on the terrace the last 2 days when it had stopped raining and was 32c but obviously the locals thought it wasn't warm enough although I came home with sunburn. All in all a beautiful riad with excellent staff- a credit to Stephan. We thoroughly recommend this place for distance to everything and great hospitality. Thank you for a wonderful 1st time to Marrakech.
Angie& Ali

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you to you both for this really nice stay with us.
and thanks for this review.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay with my best friend over New Year and had a great time here. The Riad is in a very small side street in the Medina - about 10 minutes from the main square. The Riad organised a transfer from the airport which was excellent and a very easy way to find the Riad (there is nothing other than a door to find!). Once inside you will be met by a really pleasantly decorated central covered courtyard where you can have breakfast (or on the roof terrace - as we did, even in December!).

Our room was excellent, well appointed and a really large and very clean bathroom - all excellent.

The owners Sylvie and Stephane are really helpful hosts - not intrusive - but on hand in the morning at breakfast to help you if you need any advice on plans for your stay.

We had dinner one evening - which was excellent (New Year's Eve) and the breakfast (Moroccan) severed when you feel like getting up rather than at a set time - is excellent: lots of fresh breads and cakes, with local jams, excellent coffee and eggs if you'd like them.

Amine looks after guests for most of your stay (and lets you in the door - day and night!) is a super local moroccan guy with fantastic English and French language skills.

All in all - to behighly recommended. I hope we return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmandEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma, italia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. The Riad is very nice... a real oasis of calm, very nicely decorated and a really nice room. The sofa area with TV and fireplace was very nice. The staff were very lovely, the breakfast was great, and the free airport transfer was really great!! The location is not in the center, but its not too far to walk anywhere, and we found some fantastic places to eat nearby (including one in a small street parallel to the riad).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It was a pleasure and a privilege to meet you boys. thank you to you for this meeting and for this review
Hope everything is good for you.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Went for a four day break and the place was amazing. Centrally located and whilst practical in terms of being central and close to the attractions and medina, it was also very peaceful and quiet at nights.

The staffwere very friendly and breakfast was "when we wanted it" what more could you ask for ?

Rooms are all wonderful and all have a quaint and unique style - very tastful and well appointed. Beds of good quality as was the linen and towels etc.

Lovely terrace for either sunbathing ( which I did in December) and if you would like to have breakfast on.

In summary the owners Stephane and Sylvie are so friendly and helpful. You could not ask to meet a nicer couple - Nothing was too much trouble and I certainly had some enjoyable dialgue with Stephane who speaks perfect English !

Would thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay as convenient to all the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We arrived at an unmarked door in the Medina not knowing if we had found the right riad. As soon as the door opened and we entered we found a charming and tranquil oasis in the busy city. The owners were kind, hospitable and helpful and we enjoyed our 5 night stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYNELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#93 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#128 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Douceur Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Douceur Mandarine

Property: Riad Douceur Mandarine
Address: 10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Douceur Mandarine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Douceur Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing