We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
Ranked #259 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this riad in Feb. We arrived late and booked the airport pick up well worth it as it would have been hard to find otherwise definitely recommend this for 15E. Approaching in the dark the dark quiet narrow streets look a little intimidating especially as on some corners there are small groups of young men. However do not let that put you off they are completely safe and behind the small wooden door is a wonderful tranquil Riad. Mustapha the Manager will give you a map and explain where to go on day one after this explanation we had no problem getting to and from the Riad. The breakfast is simple but plentiful and other food can be ordered if you like we didn't as there are so many lovely places to sit and eat. Do try where the locals go the food is cheap plentiful and delicious otherwise it is English prices!!! Beer is expensive and can be 3 to 4 pounds for a small bottle we found a lovely little bar up on a roof terrace where a small bottle was less than 2 pounds so we often had a couple of drinks here in the evening before heading out to eat. The square is mad no doubt about it and is a full assault on your senses! However if must be experienced. Don't be put off by dark doorways they often lead to amazing terraces and experiences. Back to the Riad it is clean calm and the staff are very friendly. It has a beautiful very top terrace which is glorious spot to relax after wandering through the souks for hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
191
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to get real insight into Marrakech. Very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful with excursions organized for you.

Breakfast included is a great start to the day.

Coffee on the roof terrace with the mountains in the distance.

Very highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this riad through tripadvisor. Lovely riad, well equipped rooms, decent breakfast and perfect location for souks and the square. Rooftop is great in the sun, too cold to jump in the plunge pool. Sound travels from other noisy guests, If you fancy sleeping after 5.30am (first call to prayer) take some earplugs. Otherwise ideal, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in October 2013 at the Riad Ajmal. The GM and staff were very gracious, patient with my questions and went out of their way to make my trip memorable. When a driver canceled the half-day booking due to sickness, the GM took me around to see the sights around the Medina. They gave us tea and food whenever asked and arranged for a Hammam. It was a lifetime bucket list experience, the type I would never find in a larger business hotel or resort chain. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwparkphd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in the evening so used the Riad's transfer service which was worth it as we would never have found it ourselves (and neither would most taxi drivers, based on our later experiences). Mustafa was very welcoming and talked us through all the attractions and suggested itineraries, all accompanied by a refreshing drink of mint tea (the best you will taste in Marrakech!). He is able to arrange guides and excursions if you like. Room very comfy and spacious, though a bit dark if you wanted to read. However we spent most time on the roof terrace when we were there, enjoying the perfect weather and views across the city. Breakfasts were great - fresh bread and pastries, orange juice, coffee, yoghurt etc. I found the wifi a bit intermittent, but other customers found it OK so maybe it was just me. All in all it is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IainFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at riad Ajmal in aug got to marrakech in the morning which is good because the riad is in a maze of alleys and small streets and u have time to explore the area and find your bearings contact the riad and get picked up at the airport and get taken to the riad as u will have trouble finding it yourself .the riad is amazing when u open the door it is an oasis in the madness of marrakech mustapha and the other staff are excellent he could not be more polite and helpful I think u would be hard pressed to find a better place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

First ever visit to Marrakech (and Morocco) so my partner and I had no idea what to expect. The advice on the net said to stay in a Riad for an authentic experience, and in Medina. I can definitely say those pieces of advice were spot on, and that Riad Ajmal met and exceeded every expectation.

Mustafa and his team were welcoming, friendly, helpful and had everything in the Riad prepared exactly as you need it, when you needed it and organised perfectly. Mustafa gives you great advice on what to do and how to get everywhere and can organise any activities for you.

The rooms were distinctive, unique, large and comfortable. Free, fast wifi everywhere in the Riad tops of the deal - the only improvement I could suggest would be better lighting as they were very dark.

The Riad itself was multi-leveled with a fantastic rooftop terrace and comfortable lounge area. Breakfast in the courtyard every morning with the orange trees was a fabulous way to start the day.

A couple of tips:

Have a home cooked meal at least one night - lovely food and it was great to meet fellow travellers!

Add to the unique experience and organise a hammam, which will take place in a small room/spa up on the rooftop and follow it up with a massage in your room.

Also I would highly recommend getting a transfer organised as it is difficult to find down dark narrow alley ways the first time you arrive (easy once you know where it is). The transfer driver can only drop you off so far and there are guys there with trolleys to help you to your Riad. They obviously expect to be paid for their service, however don't give them 100 dirhams each like they ask for (there is always two of them per trolley)... 20 each is enough however if you don't have any small denominations then 100 between them is MORE than enough.

My partner and I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#25 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#56 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sheba
Riad Dar Sheba
#141 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#43 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ta'achchaqa
Riad Ta'achchaqa
#451 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Property: Riad Ajmal
Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing