We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true sense of Morocco”
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
Ranked #338 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

When we got out of the taxi from the airport and then were taken for what seemed an interminable trek through a maze of alleys we wondered where on earth we were being taken. But once you have got your bearings it is really quite easy to find your way in and out of the Riad Ajmal. We were greeted by Mustapha with mint tea and pastries, and he showed us where to visit on our short stay. Our room was fairly basic but fulfilled our needs for our stay. We had dinner in the Riad on the first night and it was good home cooked chicken tagine - very tasty! dinner and breakfast are served in the courtyard under the orange trees and by the plunge pool. It is so peaceful and quiet you find yourself whispering to each other so as you do not disturb anyone! There is a very nice roof terrace with different areas on different levels so that you can relax after a busy day in the souks. We also had the hammam treatment - very refreshing!

All in all there may be smarter places to stay in Marrakech, but if you want to get a true taste of Morocco I would recommend that you stay here. Everybody made you feel very welcome and nothing was too mucj trouble. Thank you Mustapha and your team for making it a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyE360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ajmal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful 5-night stay at the Riad Ajmal the last week of March. Mustafa and his staff were so friendly and helpful. My friend and I were a little flaky about some of the side trips we wanted to take, changing our mind a few times at the last minute. Mustafa's response: "Of course". He even drove us himself to a rug store outside of Marrakesh and to our next hotel near the Cascades d'Ouzoud. The hotel is beautiful, tucked away in a non-descript alley. Our room was quaint and comfortable. The staff waited on us as we needed. We ate at the hotel two nights and Muna cooked us delicious local cuisine. The location was perfect - we were a few blocks from the souk and 10 minutes from the main square. I would highly recommend Riad Ajmal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BN807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Mustafa and his team are the most extraordinary hosts and made us stay memorable. We spent 4 nights here and highly recommend it. The beds were very comfortable, the room and general decor perfect and the place was spotless. A real oasis that you can't wait to return to after hours walking around the medina. You can't go wrong with this riad.

Room Tip: We had the largest room just above the entrance.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincennesFrance100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We staied in this Riad vor two nights. It is a beautiful Riad, with orange treas growing in the middle. It also has a nice hammam.
It is a very nice place to escape the loud and sometimes stressful Marrakesh. The Room we had was big and lovely decorated.
The owner and staff that work there are very friendly and helpful.

We highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroundeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want to stay in the Medina and enjoy a riad, Ajmal is definitely a good choice. But next time I would think twice before booking something in the Media. The place is not safe at all and peple were following us everytime we came back at the riad during the night.

Next time,I would probabely chose to live in Gueliz and come to the medina to visit during the day. It s gonna be much more safer.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehrshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Riad Ajmal has proved to be a most delightful choice, very tastefully decorated, with its small courtyard and breezy rooftop terrace the perfect place to come home to and relax after the bustle of the city. Staff was most forthcoming. Happy to chime in with the other positive reviews here, when I come back to Marrakech, it will be the first place to check out again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Perfect place to stay to visit Marrakech.

The Riad only has 5 rooms however this ensures a personal touch.

Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fantastic (especially the coffee!).

All the sights are within walking distance of the riad.The Riad is a 20 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna square therefore away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The rooftop terrace is very peaceful and quiet.

Mustafa (the manager) recommended several restaurants - all of them were fantastic

Definitely recommend that you arrange for a pickup from the airport - it would have been impossible to find down the little streets especially as we arrived at night (street names are not commonplace throughout the whole of Marrakech!)

Excursions are offered through the riad but we found them expensive compared to those offered around the Djemaa el Fna square (we took daytrips to Ourika valley and Ouzoud waterfall with Safari Excursions who were very good). Admittedly the riad excursions are with your own personal tour guide and minibus and the outside ones are in larger groups so it depends really what you are looking for.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_JRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#30 of 502 in Marrakech
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#38 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#224 of 502 in Marrakech
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sheba
Riad Dar Sheba
#157 of 1,160 in Marrakech
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#28 of 1,160 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing