We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, clean and quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
Ranked #243 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is small, well situated, very quiet and comfortable riad.

We have arranged our pick up at the train station via riad. Riad manager himself came to pick up us. He was present at the riad permanently and very helpful.

This riad has only few rooms so there was calm and qiet atmosphere all the time. In addition, riad is situated in the very quiet part of medina. On the other hand, everything from the riad is reacheable within a walking distance. You can reach Jemaa El Fna in 15 minutes, and we managed it in 30 minutes to get to Jardin Marorelle for expamle (which is the opposite direction).

Our apartment was consisting of two rooms, Apartment was very clean, with very comfortable bed and very nice bathroom (check out the photos). Riad has terraced roof, where you can have a rest, sunbath or have a party at the evening.

Hotel has a small pool, whis is looking more like big bath. But even big bath is more than nothing ;-)

Breakfast were nice, consisting of variety of breads, butter, jam, and pancakes.

There were no deficiencies regarding the hotel. I plan to go to Marrakech in two months and will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
190
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a few days. Amongst all the craziness and noise of Marrakech this was a welcome oasis of calm. It can be a little tricky to find at first, but once you get it down its quite easy, especially at night when its pitch black. Its also very close to the souk. What made it really special was the helpfulness of the manager, Moustapha who arranged for anything that we needed in terms of guides, drivers, airport pickup, etc. He also made our breakfast every morning, and the french press coffee was always perfect. In short, he took care of our every need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrcw75th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Beautiful Riad, friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast, large rooms, comfortable roof terras! A real pleasure to stay here and good location to discover Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattijs m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This riad is the real deal. It's so close to the heart of things in Marrakech: the souks, jardins, ville nouvelle, etc.

The staff is very friendly and kind. Case in point: when my friend and I arrived, we didn't have enough money to tip the locals who guided our way to Riad Ajmal. Marie, the riad owner, came to the rescue and loaned us some money.

The house manager, Mustafa, is a very kind local with much knowledge about Morocco, Marrakech, culture, history, etc. Plus, his breakfasts are amazing.

Clean, friendly, great location, a must-stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

A friend and I traveled to Marrakech in mid May during a trip to Spain and we completely enjoyed our stay at Riad Ajmal. The owners greeted us warmly upon our arrival and provided us with water and pastries before showing us to our room. The room had a beautiful view of the courtyard! It amazing me that you are so close to the medina but I had no problem sleeping, you couldn't hear a thing! We had breakfast every morning at whatever time we specified which was of course great, a perfect way to start the day. The riad manager, Mustafa, is the key person here. He was so nice and willing to answer our questions or suggest places to visit...he even offered to help us find quality Argan Oil. I would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech wanting to stay at an affordable place that has an extremely friendly staff. Loved my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heckdevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

In May 2011we decided to spend a week in Marrakech and were expecting a week of glorious blue skies and sun. Unfortunately the weather was very unseasonal and rather wet. Riad Ajmal was not, however, a disappointment. We were met at the airport and driven back to the Medina where we had to walk the last hundred yards or so along very small,narrow streets to the Riad. We stepped through a lowered door into an oasis of calm. We were met at the Riad by Mostaffa with a pot of wonderful mint tea and a plate of pastries. After a chat we were shown to our room which was lovely. We had a sitting area, a bed area and a shower room. The sitting area had windows looking over the court yard.There was plenty of space for us and our luggage. Each morning we had a great breakfast (at a time to suit us) in the courtyard; moving under cover when it rained! We chose to eat at the Riad on three evenings and these meals were some of the best food that we had in Marrakech. We were made very welcome by everyone at the Riad and it was in a great location for exploring the Medina. I would have no trouble in recommending the Riad Ajmal for reasonably priced accommodation in Marrakech. It was certainly far more preferable that staying in a "modern hotel" in the French area. We felt that we got to see the real Marrackech and despite the weather really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Riad ajmal achieves everything as described on the homepage. The owner couple and their staff are very cooperative, friendly and always good-humored. The ambiance is very familial and quiet. The Riad is near (if you don't get lost in the souks...) to most of the attractions in the medina. Taxi station Dar el Bacha is only a few minutes from the Riad. In the neighbourhood are serveral small shops you can buy fruits, bred, water, coke and whatever you need. We will come back to Riad Ajmal, that's no question.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#418 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#45 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ta'achchaqa
Riad Ta'achchaqa
#497 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Sofia
Riad Sofia
#230 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#242 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jardin Secret
Riad Jardin Secret
#189 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Property: Riad Ajmal
Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing