We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, friendly , relaxing Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
Ranked #276 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil, friendly , relaxing Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I visited Marrakech for the first time, did some research before holiday and decided to book Riad Admal based on the exceptional rating on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed at all, very nice place with very nice staff. We were made very welcome by Marie and her staff who are professional, charming and attentive. Our room was Labiba (small suite) which was perfect for 2 of us and well equipped. We must say that having sampled food in Marrakech during our holiday we are happy to say that Riad Ajmal serve some of the best food we had (booked the same morning we ate in the pleasant surrounding of the courtyard, sampling a range of different Tajines all cooked at the Riad by the staff, wine available also which is a nice touch in what is predominantly a alcohol free city). The staff were all very nice people, always willing to make a snack or serve mint tea or coffee whichever your preference, my wife is now a convert to mint tea (unsweetened as Moroccan style is highly sweetened). I have to say that eating at the Riad Ajmal is value for money. Mustafa arranged a trip for us to the Waterfall in the Atlas mountain region, his father is a perfect guide and his family perfect hosts for typical Moroccan Berber lunch...perfect thanks. This Riad is slap bang in the Medina, don't worry about sfaety, we felt totally safe during our stay and found the local peop[le around Bab Doukala area more htan friendly. Riad Ajmal has a sun terrace perfect for afternoon lounging and pampering by the staff, we didn't take advantage of a Hammam with Latifa but I am relaibly informed by my new mates Berber Dave and Berberette Moira that it is an enjoyable experience. Make sure you get Fatima to cook you something as she and Latifa certainly know good food. All in all very enjoyable, hope this review prompts you to try this Riad.

Room Tip: Ask Marie to arrange transfer from hotel to Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
191
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Ajmal last weekend for 3 nights. It was a fantastic stay. A real authentic experience. Marie and her team were first rate. All very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We were generally impressed with everything, including the Moroccan room, Marie’s recommendations during our stay, the breakfast which we had the pleasure of having on the roof terrace, the prearranged stress free airport transfers and Marie‘s genuine effort to make our stay as memorable as possible. The Ajmal is well located, and most sights are within a 15 minute walk or less. The souks are literally only a couple of hundred metres away.

Thanks again Marie, to you and your team, a truly memorable stay.

Paul & Debbie

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Excellent Riad, in the heart of Medina, but in a very quiet zone.
Beautiful place, I love his terrace with wonderful views !
Friendly staff, 100% recommended place
We'll come back !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SERGI47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Marie and her team couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. From the moment we arrived (via a taxi that the Riad had organised) and our first refreshing cup of mint tea, we felt that Marie wanted us to get the best out of our experience in Marrakesh.

The Riad is situated in the heart of what seems to be one of the better suburbs of Marrakesh and only a few minutes walk to the nearest souks and main square where all the action takes place. We often managed to lose our bearings in the labyrinth of alleys and streets but always knew that we could call Marie or Waifi if we needed help.

The Riad felt like a home from home where time wasn't important - our breakfast was served when and where we wanted it and nothing was too much trouble. At the time when we travelled to Morrocco, problems in Lybia were escalating and we knew that there had been demonstrations across parts of North Africa including one event in Marrakesh that was publiscised by the British media. We can honestly say that there was nothing to suggest any trouble there - the people in Marrakesh are embracing tourism very slowly and don't want to jeopardise this. Life appeared to carry on as normal and although we were often out of our comfort zone because of the culture shock of different sounds sights and smells, we always felt safe. Don't be put off by what you read in the media and cancel your plans because of it.

The weather was slightly cooler than usual and we only had a couple of days to make the most of our first experience in Marrakesh so we didn't spend as much time as we would have liked at the Riad but based upon this positive experience and what we felt was excellent value for money for a City break - we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOJOP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed for 6 days at Riad Ajmal, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was very accommodating, even when I woke up very late, to offer me breakfast.
Marie, the owner is a wealth of information about Marrakech, lots of recommendations and always very, very friendly.
This riad, located a few minutes walk from the souks, is a welcome releif to the cacauphony of the city, and the location works to it's advantage, expecially at night when you need a little rest.
The room was large, airy and clean, with everything needed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We could not have felt more welcome at this lovely Riad. Marie and her staff were incredibly helpful and full of advice on what and where to visit. Riad Ajmal is in the Medina near the mosque Bab Doukkala. If you are a light sleeper, you will hear the call to prayer in the early hours of the morning. It is also in a location where you can easily walk to all the sights and is incredibly near the souk. Breakfast - you are served with fresh breads, freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, cheese (processed) and home made jam. The coffee was lovely. And the knowledge that you can get an alcoholic drink within this Riad was a bonus. I definitely recommend Riad Ajmal and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cronshawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Riad Ajmal was the perfect little retreat within the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Finding our little door on returning from a day exploring the Souks was a welcome sight knowing we would be welcomed by Wafi or Fatima with a lovely cafetierre of coffee in the court yard. A superb dinner was prepared for us on our arrrival and it was by far the best meal we ate in Marrakech, we were only sorry not to eat there again on our last night but Marie arranged for a takeaway which was excellent together with a very welcomed G&T.
Nearby was 'Le Bain Bleu' where we had a Hammam and Massage... beautifully clean and professional and we would recommend this experience.
The location was great with everything nearby to walk to or good access to taxi's at Dar el Bacha.
Our room was comfortable and clean, the bed was really quite firm but we had really good sleeps! One downfall was there was some building work going on in a neighbouring Riad and they started around 8.30am.... just one of those things but it didn't affect our stay.
Breakfast at the Riad was very relaxed with lovely freshly squeezed orange juice. There was no set time so we could get up at our leisure. When the sun was shining Loifi carried all our breakfast table up to the terrace so we could enjoy some of the sun (25 degrees in February!) The view of the Atlas mountains in the distance was a real contrast to the Terracotta tones of Marrakech.
The small team of staff at Riad Ajmal were extremely polite and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Loifi kindly gave us much of his free time to explain about the culture in Morocco and advise us on places to go and see and the 'highlight' of our trip was to spend an afternoon and lunch with Loifi and his family, an experience we will never forget. Thank you for making our stay so memorable and we will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#26 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#56 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#39 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sheba
Riad Dar Sheba
#116 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sofia
Riad Sofia
#214 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Property: Riad Ajmal
Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing