We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Hivernage - CLOSED

La Villa Hivernage
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice place, smiling staff but expensive and poor plates. First bottle of wine about 40 usd !!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I've eaten here three timess.

Each dinner we've had Pastilla. It varied in quality each time, from passable to really excellcent, one of the best. The artichoke dishes are very good.

Tonight my daughter had the camel shoulder and pronounced it excellent. I choked down a bite while trying not to think what it was, and it really is good.

The cocktails are sub par. The barmen try hard. Your drink will most likely only bare a passing resemblance to whatever you ordered, compared to London or SF, but it might be good. The wine list has some great Morrocan wines and the prices for Volubilis, for example are reasonably good.

The atmosphere is really great. The roof opens above the dining area and suddenly you're eating under the stars.

Pricey by Moroccan standards, but not by those of a major european city. Our bill for two was 560 MAD, but we went easy on the alcohol and just had two coctails (me) and a milk (her).

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dane94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow fantastic food and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a lovely place and food is excellent and not too expensive. Had such a lovely meal. Would certainly recommend it to anyone with good taste. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good at used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Third time we go to this restaurant that used to be really great (French cuisine) in 2 years but for the very first time we were a bit disappointed. Food still okay but not as fine as before. And a strange feeling ; atmosphere not as chic and cosy as it used to be.. as if the whole place weren't the same anymore. And Chef Didier Beckaert didn t show up as he always did... Will go again next time we are in Marrakech. Maybe was it just back luck.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamnod732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

OK, this restaurant is about as Moroccan as the Eiffel Tower but if you have had that one Tagine too many then this is the perfect place for excellent European cuisine. The food is very French, well presented, well cooked and served with a smile.
Its a little expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Hivernage also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing