We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Kasbah
Ranked #549 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

5-8 October 2012. I have never written a review before but feel compelled to share our experience at Riad Kasbah.
There was a total of 11 in our all female group (as you might imagine, some more easy to please than others and all quite fussy!) We were away on a 'girlie' weekend and celebrating
two birthdays. All 11 of us had an amazing time and were extremely impressed with Riad Kasbah, offering a fantastic level of service at all times - we arrived around 10 am ish, having been met and transferred from the airport by the very friendly staff - guided on foot, dodging the mopeds, donkeys and carts along the tiny cobbled lane to the Riad (quite dark and stinky but just adds to the quirky charm). On arrival we were offered breakfast, free of charge. We had arranged for a 'banquet dinner with belly dancing' on the Friday evening and this included a birthday cake - EXCELLENT value with a good variety of starters, breads, lamb tagine and orange mouse followed by the cake. Highly recommended and a great start to our weekend.
During our visit we also dined at:
'Terrasse des Epices' for lunch on two occasions (it was that good!) Really, really lovely.
'Al Fassia' for dinner Saturday evening which was truly awful - over priced, terrible service and very, very disappointing and such a shame as this was the only bad experience we had!
'Pepe Nero" on Sunday night. Superb ambience, excellent service and delicious food - €40 ea which included good wines and an amazing light chocolate layered mousse cake with candles!
I wish we had asked Hicham beforehand about his recommendations as he has excellent English and is exceptionally knowledgeable - next time.
Needless to say, we all plan to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms/suites are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudilynwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Riad experience was a really bad one. When my partner and I arrived, we were first given a room, that was way smaller than the one we booked. It took us annoying discussions in order to get the room we originally booked. Apart from this the manager wanted to force me the last evening to pay the outstanding balance in Cash. When he told me this, it was already 8 p.m. and the next ATM is a 20 minutes walk from the Riad. I offered to pay via credit card, but this was refused. Finally, I ended up paying the next morning prior to check-out.
The next time I would go again to a Riad that is worth the money and offers relaxation in a calm and agreable atmosphere. In the past, I liked a lot 'la villa Nomade' (http://www.lavillanomade.com/) and 'Riad Clementine' (http://www.riad-clementine.com/). But please don't go to Riad Kasbah - even if the price should sound reasonable at first. You might regret it as well.

Room Tip: Try to get the chocolate room, but please don't wonder if they don't give it to you;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We are a couple in our mid-20s who stayed here for 5nights. Hisham, the manager who speaks great English, greeted us very warmly and chatted with us over mint tea. We had arranged for a private taxi pick-up from the train station and the driver was waiting with a sign of our names as promised. (we arrived from Fes on a 7hr train and opted for a private car as we knew we'd be tired. In all honesty, it is not all that necessary as the taxis are plentiful right outside the station)

The riad itself is quite lovely- nice pool, great solarium to tan on the terrace or by the pool if you wish, great location (5-10min walk to Djemma El Fna and the souks). Majorelle Gardens are also quite nice with fantastic colors and you can walk there in 25-30min? but if it's a very hot day like we had definitely take a cab which is a 10-15min drive. 

We were upgraded as some suites were open for our first 3nights and then switched for the remaining 2nights since the riad was full. The switch was quite easy, especially since the 2 rooms were just across the pool from one another on the ground floor. I personally enjoyed being on the ground floor since it was next to the pool and the tables, and I could be in and out of the room if I wanted. Others may opt for an upper floor as it can get a bit loud if other guests have breakfast and speak loudly before you awake or after you go to sleep. We can sleep through anything though :) 

The breakfast was pretty good and we loved how the ladies always set it up at the nearest table to our room for us before we even awoke (we are late sleepers)- the hot breads and tea+coffee were brought out after we would sit down. Complimentary tea/coffee was offered anytime throughout our stay- several evenings we bought great pastries nearby and had them with mint tea by the pool. 

It was my husband's 27th birthday our first night (Sat) and Hisham recommended Jad Mahal for dancing. We had a great time. I read mixed reviews about the dinner there, but we liked their downstairs area for the club atmosphere. We took a taxi there and back (it's in the new city). One concern we had since this is a riad was coming home very late because someone would have to open the front door- we didn't want to be a bother nor to be standing stranded, waiting in a dark alley.  We were glad that this was not an issue at all and it seemed Abdul (I believe that is the young man's name) was waiting up for us when we knocked once or twice at 5am! (he opened the door before we could even ring the bell) We appreciated this very much as safety is always a concern. Also, on our last day they held our bags as we explored the city before our 5pm train to Casablanca. 

Overall- entire staff were very nice and accommodating (although most only speak French) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We definitely recommend this riad. 

Tip: as you will read in many guidebooks and online, bargaining is a must. I am not claiming these are the best prices, but I don't think we did too bad. Just to give some helpful figures: our taxi to Majorelle Gardens was 20dirham (wanted 50), to the train station 25dirham (wanted 50), to Jad Mahal 40dirham (wanted 60). All depends how long you are willing to bargain. Prices at night always seemed to be a bit higher. 

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annas_Travels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We chose this riad after having read the excellent reviews on this site.
I spoke to the manager Hicham before booking the accommodation who was very helpful and answered all my questions and put my mind at rest regarding any concerns I had.
When we arrived at Marrakech airport, Hicham was there alongside his driver to greet us (as promised). We instantly knew that we were on to a winner. He phoned ahead to the riad to have breakfast prepared for us on arrival.
The transport was perfect for our family of six and the driver spoke English which enabled us to communicate with little effort, as we spoke very little french and no arabic.
The rooms at the riad are functional and very clean. Please do not expect any extras like a tv in the room or a facilities for hot drinks.
The staff are extremely helpful and hospitable with nothing being too much trouble especially the head housekeeper Zara. They accommodated our every need.
Hicham also arranged daily excursions for us, including a trip to the atlas mountains, stopping briefly at a berber village. A must see for all. It certainly gave my children insight into how the less privileged live).
A trip to the hamman is also highly recommended.
If we were to return to Marrakech in the future, we'd book the Kasbah for sure.

Room Tip: If you like your 'tea' please take tea bags with you as we sorely missed our cup of PG tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiz868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I've just enjoyed a 5 night stay at Riad Kasbah, celebrating a friend's birthday. There was a group of us so we enjoyed exclusive use of the Riad, or so we thought.......

Overall the Riad was very good, comfortable with tastefully decorated rooms and stylish Moroccan bathrooms. The location of the Riad is also good, about a 10 minute walk from Djemma el Fna.

The housekeeping staff was helpful, friendly, and our primary contact, Hisham, ensured that all of the transport arrangements worked smoothly. Hisham also booked local restaurants for us and was unfazed when we changed our plans.


Back to the 'exclusive use'.... On the Saturday night of our stay we had the main event - a pre-arranged party in the Riad. We were slightly stunned when a party of 4 middle aged French people turned up, made themselves comfortable and stayed for the evening. They were accompanied by Hisham who offered us no explanation for their presence. It transpired the following day that they were part owners of the Riad.

It didn't change the fact that we had a fantastic night, but we did feel rather like exhibits in a French Anthropologists field trip.

The owners should think carefully about the term exclusive use for future bookings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to say that if you are considering hiring a Riad for a group / party / event then this is your Riad. Hicham from our first communication 6 months before the visit called me to discuss my requirements straight away. He was incredibly helpful and assisted in looking after up to 17 people at one point by putting on a great 40th birthday party for myself and my friends. The rest of the staff were gentle, lovely and helpful people. They did not speak English so a little French goes a long way. Hicham helped to arrange all of our trips and believe me, this all changed quite a bit but never once did he complain. A very reasonable price and very relaxed atmosphere witha 15 min walk in to the Square of the wonderful Marrakech. We were a mixed bunch and every single person was happy and loved it so thanks again guys. I hope to come back and visit and I will most definitely stay here again. PS... great belly dancing and crazy moroccan band for party night!

Room Tip: To be fair they are all really good. We had the whole Riad so I got to see all of the rooms and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at Riad Kasbah in December (2011). Driver was waiting for us at the airport, so we didn't have to wait around.
The Riad was lovely and quiet and the staff were really friendly and nothing was to much for them. Very conveniently located to main square and local places to eat.Hisham the manager of the Riad was extremely helpfull, he took us to have a look at the Les Bains Hamman. I would highly recommend the Hamman, well worth the money. .

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#271 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almaha Marrakech
Almaha Marrakech
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#64 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#111 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
#166 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#288 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kasbah

Property: Riad Kasbah
Address: 101 Derb Harbil-Kasbah, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing