We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad & Staff Lovely, insensitive owners”
Review of Riad Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kasbah
Ranked #297 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I've just enjoyed a 5 night stay at Riad Kasbah, celebrating a friend's birthday. There was a group of us so we enjoyed exclusive use of the Riad, or so we thought.......

Overall the Riad was very good, comfortable with tastefully decorated rooms and stylish Moroccan bathrooms. The location of the Riad is also good, about a 10 minute walk from Djemma el Fna.

The housekeeping staff was helpful, friendly, and our primary contact, Hisham, ensured that all of the transport arrangements worked smoothly. Hisham also booked local restaurants for us and was unfazed when we changed our plans.


Back to the 'exclusive use'.... On the Saturday night of our stay we had the main event - a pre-arranged party in the Riad. We were slightly stunned when a party of 4 middle aged French people turned up, made themselves comfortable and stayed for the evening. They were accompanied by Hisham who offered us no explanation for their presence. It transpired the following day that they were part owners of the Riad.

It didn't change the fact that we had a fantastic night, but we did feel rather like exhibits in a French Anthropologists field trip.

The owners should think carefully about the term exclusive use for future bookings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Riad Kasbah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to say that if you are considering hiring a Riad for a group / party / event then this is your Riad. Hicham from our first communication 6 months before the visit called me to discuss my requirements straight away. He was incredibly helpful and assisted in looking after up to 17 people at one point by putting on a great 40th birthday party for myself and my friends. The rest of the staff were gentle, lovely and helpful people. They did not speak English so a little French goes a long way. Hicham helped to arrange all of our trips and believe me, this all changed quite a bit but never once did he complain. A very reasonable price and very relaxed atmosphere witha 15 min walk in to the Square of the wonderful Marrakech. We were a mixed bunch and every single person was happy and loved it so thanks again guys. I hope to come back and visit and I will most definitely stay here again. PS... great belly dancing and crazy moroccan band for party night!

Room Tip: To be fair they are all really good. We had the whole Riad so I got to see all of the rooms and not...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at Riad Kasbah in December (2011). Driver was waiting for us at the airport, so we didn't have to wait around.
The Riad was lovely and quiet and the staff were really friendly and nothing was to much for them. Very conveniently located to main square and local places to eat.Hisham the manager of the Riad was extremely helpfull, he took us to have a look at the Les Bains Hamman. I would highly recommend the Hamman, well worth the money. .

Room Tip: All rooms were good
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

No doubt for twice the money you could stay somewhere fancier, but Riad Kasbah is ideal for a taste of authentic Marrakech with all the home comforts and had the bonus of a good sized family room. Staff were helpful and hospitable and the riad was clean and beautifully furnished. The area's fantastic and we enjoyed people watching from the terrace. You need your wits about you if it's your first trip as all seems chaotic and everyone wants your money - hang on to your purse and don't be too shy and soon get the hang of how things work in Marrakech. They'll arrange an excursion if you want to escape the city, though just hanging around the riad is a very pleasant option if you want to take things easy.

Room Tip: I think they're all lovely - our's (the green one) had a massive bath
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Riad Kasbah is a charming and friendly place to spend a short break in Marrakech.

The Riad itself is the staff are very friendly and ever so helpful. The room was well decorated and bed was very comfortable. The swimming pool in the middle gave was an interesting feature even though we did not venture in.

The breakfasts was totally not what we were expecting but none the less very tasty and the coffee, like most of Marrakech was excellent - not at all weak. What we thought was a pot of honey was in fact Olive Oil and added a different flavour to a banana when dipped in it!!!

We had a free transfer from the airport by a driver which was good and the staff were happy to arrange a return priced at 15euros.

Finding the Riad late at night took a bit trial and error as it was tucked away in the midst of a but we got there in the end. The surrounding area was bussling with small shops and stalls which added to the smells - there was one stand with herbs layout for the local to buy, the smell was amazing, fresh mint, corriander, thyme filled the air.

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad for anyone wanting to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here last oct with another couple. Finding it was a nightmare up those narrow streets with all those would be tour guides (local young lads) following you, it's a bit scary at first so do try and get directions before you go as the taxis cannot get up those streets! Once you arrive (and it's not easy to spot as it looks nothing from the outside), the door is shut behind you and you honestly take a sigh of relief! It's so different from the world outside, so calm. We stopped in the cheapest rooms, do avoid the ivory room as although it's nice, it's next door to the kitchen and those lovely ladies are grafting from very early on, clanking pots n all. Breakfast Is top notch and you must have a tagine whilst you are stopping at the hotel. It must be ordered the day before and they begin to cook it in the morning to be served late afternoon. It's not cheap by marrakesh prices, £30 ish for 4 people. But so very worth it. Marrakesh is the most crazy place I have ever been to, we reffered to going outside as "entering the mad house!". Be careful of the scooters whipping up behind you, they are a tad dangerous. Riad kasbah definatly rocks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 321birdyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 8 days in Morocco and stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip. When we arrived we were invited to relax by the pool and drink mint tea with the owner who welcomed us warmly. We were also given our choice of rooms, as it wasn't very busy. This meant we were upgraded to the nicest room, but they are all gorgeous. We loved the location and felt perfectly safe walking back from the Djema al Fna late at night as everybody was out in the streets to escape the heat of the day. Soufian and Leila, the two workers in the Riad are kind and warm and generous. Soufian is there constantly, serving unbelievably delicious breakfasts and offering mint tea.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver which was great. Cars can't go right up to the riad so he parks by the Kasbah Mosque and you walk through a dark covered market tunnel where you see strange parts of meat hanging from the rafters. It's all part of the hussle and bussle though.
All in all we were extremely happy here and will defnitely stay here again when we return to beautiful Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eibho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#177 of 502 in Marrakech
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#135 of 502 in Marrakech
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#159 of 502 in Marrakech
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kasbah

Address: 101 Derb Harbil-Kasbah, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $63 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing