We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in beautiful Marrakech”
Review of Riad Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kasbah
Ranked #346 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful oasis in beautiful Marrakech”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 8 days in Morocco and stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip. When we arrived we were invited to relax by the pool and drink mint tea with the owner who welcomed us warmly. We were also given our choice of rooms, as it wasn't very busy. This meant we were upgraded to the nicest room, but they are all gorgeous. We loved the location and felt perfectly safe walking back from the Djema al Fna late at night as everybody was out in the streets to escape the heat of the day. Soufian and Leila, the two workers in the Riad are kind and warm and generous. Soufian is there constantly, serving unbelievably delicious breakfasts and offering mint tea.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver which was great. Cars can't go right up to the riad so he parks by the Kasbah Mosque and you walk through a dark covered market tunnel where you see strange parts of meat hanging from the rafters. It's all part of the hussle and bussle though.
All in all we were extremely happy here and will defnitely stay here again when we return to beautiful Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eibho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    46
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Four generations of our family (total 13) gathered from four countries at the beginning of January. We spent three nights at Riad Kasbah occupying seven rooms. Each room and the communal area were tastefully decorated but we particularly liked the top floor room with a roof garden. The riad is located very close to The Saadian Tombs and easy walking distance from Djemaa el Fn Square. The narrow streets in Medina could be confusing like a maze, so It's better to arrive daytime if you have an option. Although the streets near by were always busy, the alley right in front of the riad was surprisingly quiet . In our group only a few of us had a quite good command of French but the riad's stuff were all friendly and helpful and we managed to get by. The manager of this riad Hicham speaks excellent English and he was very helpful. The riad's free wi-fi was useful too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shikanoshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our first trip to Morrocco, we had seen the photos but were not prepared for the reality. The riad is located in an area that is poor, chaotic and busy. The riad itself is comfortable, calm and beautiful. We never felt anxious inside or outside the riad and would recommend it without hestation.
We were welcomed courteously and warmly and were well treated throughout our 4 night stay. The staff are friendly but not intrusive and never demanding. Service is not prompt but was always delivered. They provided us with an additional breakfast and free internet access. It is easier if you can speak some french but that is true throughout the city.
Our suite was very lovely with a big bathroom, a huge shower (!) and a comfortable bed. It was kept clean and tidy and was very well presented.
Breakfasts were the same every day but plentiful and served in the pretty internal courtyard by the pool.
It is a very good location. You can walk to the main square in 10 minutes and most of the major sights are within walking distance, unless you choose to take a taxi from the street close to the riad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martnvena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Riad Kasbah for one night and we were SO tired the next morning that we didn't make it to breakfast. I was starting to wake up when I heard silverware clanging outside our room. When I got up I was surprised to see a table had been set up for 2 directly outside our room. We went out and had a lovely late breakfast. This kind of treatment is definitely what keeps people coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of a 3 week trip in Morocco. Perhaps we had been spoiled elsewhere but we thought a lot of the riad's features were pretty standard rather than outstanding. The pool was very nice (quite rare elsewhere in Morocco) but we considered the breakfast, rooms and common areas pretty average. Service was poor - we arrived late at night and found that staff barely spoke to us at all over the 3 days. I speak both French and English so don't feel that the language barrier was the reason. When asked for directions to the main square, the staff weren't very helpful. We also discovered that they had given away the room we had already paid for and downgraded us to a smaller room without telling us. Luckily we checked the website and realised what had happened - the staff wouldn't help but our travel agency got us the cheaper rate. One further criticism is that the bathroom was an absolute sauna - very unpleasant even just to do your teeth! Contrary to other reviews, we were told they do not serve dinner at the riad (perhaps because it was ramadan?) and there are really no dinner options in the area which was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hostelcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I have no words to describe what this Riad means to me and what Marrakech means to me. It was definately the best trip of my life! The Riad is wonderfull, especially the people there and Hammad!! They only speak french expect for Maria who speaks english and spanish as well. They helped us with everything we needed. The riad and rooms are very clean and the breakfast was amazing, i would definately go back if i ever go to Marrakech again! no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrakech80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Booked through luxuryriads.com and got 3 nights for the price of 2 which worked out fantastically cheap for what we got - a stunning beautifully decorated spacious room with ensuite . Breakfast was just delicious - a really generous selection of fresh fruit, pastries, rolls, warm pancakes, coffee and freshly squeezed juice. Our price also included transfer from the airport - thank goodness, because we would NEVER have found it otherwise! -there is no name above the door, just a number - and it is reached on foot only, via an alley predominantly filled with butchers ( which I nick-named Abattoir Alley - hold your nose and walk very fast!!!). The staff in the riad did not speak English but were very patient with my terrible schoolgirl French and were sooooooo happy and friendly.
I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone visiting Marrakech. Oh and I can definitely recommend visiting the hammam which the Riad endorses - it is only down the alley and you will leave there more relaxed than you have ever been, and with the softest skin ever!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoozUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#82 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#243 of 499 in Marrakech
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
#184 of 1,146 in Marrakech
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Walaa and spa
Riad El Walaa and spa
#90 of 1,146 in Marrakech
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Agnaou
Riad Bab Agnaou
#556 of 1,146 in Marrakech
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dabachi
Riad Dabachi
#896 of 1,146 in Marrakech
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kasbah

Property: Riad Kasbah
Address: 101 Derb Harbil-Kasbah, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing