We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing here that accelerates your heart beat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Anya
Ranked #87 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
439 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nothing here that accelerates your heart beat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

On a business trip to Marrakech, this riad was selected for me by our travel facilitator. We had difficulty finding it (down a narrow, dead end street and then two winding alleys later......).

The rooms are just okay - nothing memorable - located as they usually are in riads around a central courtyard. Breakfast was spartan and service was slow. Check out was convoluted and they had to recalculate my bill three times.

No phone or TV (thank goodness) in the room, which made communication with my business colleague problematical.

Room Tip: Can't help you there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    70
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
119
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Riad Anya evenings Friday 8 July through until Thursday 14 July, 2011. Myself, my husband and 22 year old daughter were travelling from Australia. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful to us and made us feel so welcome and at home. Jamila was helpful in helping me organise a couple of day trips and made helped me feel confident travelling in Morocco. Khalil, of Riad Anya is a true gentleman, so polite and respectful and so willing to serve us and be of assistance.

The accommodation is very comfortable and it was good to come back to the Riad after negotiating the streets of Marrakesh. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rock1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The riad was wonderful- I have nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The only drawback is the location. Although the hotel is very centrally located (only about 10 minute walk to the Jemma el Fna square) and right next to a palace with guards, it's down some back roads that were quite hard to find and not very welcoming. It's all fine if you are in a group but I would certainly warn female travellers to re-think coming here alone. It's a bit dodgy at night and there are always a few groups of Moroccan men hanging around. Shame because the hotel was so lovely...

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank china_chick1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We staid at the Riad Anya for 4 nights. The place itself is beautiful, as you see in the photos and better. Everything is clean, some of the showers are a bit "weak" , but overall no major problems. People are friendly and the service is very attentive. So, as you step trough the door, you are in the best possible place you can think of. And we come to the snag, what is OUTSIDE of the door. Although it is a short walk from the souk and the main square, which is great, you have to face situations where western women travelling alone may not feel too comfortable. We were there just before and during Eid. If you like to see sheeps and muttons being slaughtered, their heads severed and burnt, pretty much in the streets where you are pulling your carry on, well...
We suspect that elsewhere in the medina, with a few more tourists and a few more women, things may be easier. Do not be deterred if you travel in a larger group, or with men, or outside of Eid week. We probably picked the wrong combination - and all the aspects that concern the riad itself are just fine!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eageneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

As our first time to Morocco, Riad Anya was a great place to stay, due to the charming building that is the riad and the friendly and helpful staff. Jameela, the lady at the reception, had great tips for places to eat, both the trendy and local spots; Youssef, the care taker, was very friendly, smiling and ready to help out with anything; and the ladies in the kitchen greeted us like family every morning.
As a middle range riad within the walls of the old Marrakech, it was a bit pricey for down season of August. But the amenities and charm of the place made it worth it. Plenty of little coves to sit in the shade during the hot hours of the day, a nice dipping pool, tea any time of the day, and so on. We really did feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We spent a long weekend last April with my familly in Marrakesh at Ryad Anya. The place is quiet and beautiful and very well located. People there are very welcoming and pleasant. They were always available to help us plan our visits and very helpful. Special thanks to Youssef and Jamina who got up very early to prepare our breakfast when we had to leave the hotel to go to the Atlas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Have just come back from one of the most idyllic holiday destinations I have ever been to, Marrakesh, Morocco. I thought we could do with a bit of a more up market place to stay but didn’t want to blow too much on accommodation which we didn’t need to as we found the Riad Anya through luxury-riads.com who included a free transfer from the airport, as was offered by the travel agency and as we received a free night for our 3 nights booked it was the cheapest price on the market. Not only were the rooms immaculate but the staff and service was excellent, we could not have been more pleased with the assistance we received from the hotel staff. I would recommend a trip to Marrakesh and this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostcloud_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#58 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Nafis
Riad Nafis
#91 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#108 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Sholmes
Dar Sholmes
#114 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Riad Sidi Mimoune
#222 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#78 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anya

Property: Riad Anya
Address: Hay Sidi Mimoun, Derb Sidi Mbarek 149, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anya 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Anya is situated in the district Sidi Mimoun in 10mn on foot of the place(square) Jmena El Fna. Of the terrace you discover the gardens of the famous hotel " Mamounia ," a hammam, a room of massage, a swimming pool of 15m2 as well as a Jacuzzi shall decorate your stay. The cook(cooker) prepares Moroccan meals (earthenware cooking pots(meat stews) and cuckoos) of which you remember you for a long time. Jamila will help you to organize your stay if you wish it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Anya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing