We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Elias

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Elias
Ranked #721 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Beautiful Riad in the centre of the Medina! Great place if you want to be in the middle of the action to experience the "real" Marrakech and yet feel like in a quiet oasis as soon as the doors are closed! We were amazed by the service we got from Said and the Team.
The room was simple but clean and decorated with taste!
We had dinner there one night and the food was to die for! I definitely recommend to try it at least one night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Arriving in Marrakech is like landing on Planet Zog! It's such a culture shock. It's hot, dusty, full of exhaust fumes of weaving motorbikes, has scenes from Biblical times alongside youngsters with mobile phones. Riad Elias is down an unprepossessing little side street but as soon as you are invited it, it becomes a haven and home. The staff..Loubna, Said etc are just wonderful. They make you feel so at home. The quality of the food, bedding and towels etc was really lovely and the little splash pool.We really had to gird up our loins to leave the Riad and go back out into the crowded streets but sitting on the roof terrace with a beer ( yes, even in Morocco) you forget you are in the middle of the city. It's five minutes to the Souks and the famous Jemaa al Fnaa Place. The Moroccans will certainly take your money off you, bargain them down to 50% of their original price but there are few who will steal it from you..we did have one woman try my rucksack in the Place but generally we felt safe-as long as you keep on the right in the narrow passages to avoid the scooters. Visit the museum and the Koran School and the Photographic Museum as well as the Jardins de les Majorelles and if you're feeling citied out, get a taxi to Oasiria where you can swim in peace. It's restorative. This was a reasonable Riad and we felt, excellent value. We would enthusiastically recommend it.

Room Tip: With hindsight, we've have chosen a first floor room as our window led out onto the courtyard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

I disagree completely with the "disappointing" review. We were a group of 11. My room was super - roomy, clean, quiet, warm (when we were shown how to work the heater. November), and with very good facilities. Not all rooms were so large and well-equipped. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. They were not intrusive, but were available to give useful advice re excursions and transport , for example.
The situation is very good - a traditional residence amongst the narrow streets of the old part of the city. My first visit and I'm pleased we stayed at this riad.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordshireGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We first stayed at the sister riad, Riad Karmanda which was beautiful, clean and welcoming but this was even more beautiful and more upmarket, it had a small splash pool and a gorgeous sun terrace. It is a great escape from the busy city. We stayed in a suite which was comfortable and elegant. Definately worth the money. The staff were great and very helpful. They even arranged a taxi to take us to Pacha nightclub and wait til 4am to take us back! It is a very romatic place but also great for children as it is so safe. We will be going back for a shopping trip and we will be staying here again. definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at Riad Elis for 4 days with two other photographers when I was there photographing a wedding outside of Marrakech.
The staff at Riad Elias was VERY helpful and friendly. Excellent service!
Their WIFI connection didn't work properly at the time but they sorted out so we could use their personal internet connection the same day.
Charming! Beautiful! Great location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Elias over new year and a few days at the beginning of January, and it was wonderful, and still very warm.

We had a downstairs room which was very cosy and clean with lovely Morrocan detailing, and fresh flowers and fruit just for us. The bathroom was lovely, with a huge bath, which was very romatic and toiletries that were replenished daily. Imen and the team of staff were very friendly and helpful, and were more than happy to take your breakfast to the roof terrace if you wished, where they also have a traditional Hammam, which is very good, and get you wine, olives and anything else you wished for whilst relaxing in the seated area, or even to take back to your room.

The Manager also helped us greatly with taxis and phone calls to the airport when our luggage got lost at Gatwick, and also organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us with guests from another Riad at a very reasonable price.

The Riad is very close to the souks which is full of everything you can imagine like an Aladdins cave and the Jamaal El Fna square which is full of life and wonderful smells of insence and spices, not to forget the freshly squeezed orange juice and the local entertainment, and many lovely restaurants, some with roof terraces for the most amazing views.

Travelling back to the Riad at night can be a little scary, especially if coming from the souks, but fortunately it's easy to find and makes you feel nicely tucked away from the hussle.

It is a whole different culture and can be quite overwhelming, but also very out of this world as a first time experience, but we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Me and my partner stayed in Riad Elias for 3 nights in May.
We were abolutely delighted with the ambience of the place, our host was very welcoming and friendly, gave us good advice and helped to organise car rental - we can not understand that negative comment here!! The food was amazing, breakfast was a joy and we chose to have dinner at the Riad - best tagines we had all holiday!! We also had a hammam which I can't say enough about - truly an experience not to miss! The loaction is extremely good - a few minutes to the main place and souks; no worries about safely walking back after dark (which can be dodgy in Marrakesh...), very easy to find!
We would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech- and we will return!
Owen (GB) and Katja (Germany)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenandKatja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad La Maison Rouge
Riad La Maison Rouge
#281 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Amira et SPA
Villa Amira et SPA
#312 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#4 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#105 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elias

Property: Riad Elias
Address: 6, derb Noursial,Taoulat Ben Saleh | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #721 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Elias 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Elias is the ideal place for an exceptional stay in MarrakechRiad Elias, a magnificent riad located just a short stroll from the centre of the historic Old City and Jemaa el Fna square, is the perfect place for an unforgettable stay in Marrakesh. Tradition and modernism, inspired by Africa and Asia, modern comfort blends harmoniously with the elegant décor.Outstanding location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad Elias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing