We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose Sultan”
Review of Rose Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Sultan
Ranked #232 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2010

A wonderful stay at a caringly designed and maintained beautiful comfortable hotel, set within a colourful garden, in a quiet and serene surrounding. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noneNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 224 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have been travel to Marrakech for a long time, but once I knew Rose Sultan, I was sure that I couldnt stay in another place during my time in such a special city. Rose Sultan has everything we can ask to a hotel: charm, a minimal luxury, and a owner (Majid Ejjennane) who lives between Marrakech and Paris, and he understand perfectly what their guests could expect. Amazing the breakfast in the rose gardens, and the charm of every single room. Lovely for couples, and lovely for travelling with a group of friends. Really close to the best restaurant in the city, called BoZin, and only 15 minutes from the old Medina... I will come back very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusMadrid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is an excellent secluded villa with nine double rooms, whom a friend hired out for a 40th birthday party trip to Marrakech. The architecture is very modern and it would be easy to spend a few days in the villa without leaving, as it is 11km from the centre of Marrakech. There are nine staff; the owner/manager Majid lives on site and speaks excellent English.

Good points:
- Currently just over 2 years old
- Satellite and plasma TV in most rooms (not that you are likely to use them much)
- 20m pool
- Many common areas (large dining room, 2 living rooms), poolside terrace

Could be improved
- Food and drink is at Paris restaurant prices.
- I would have expected that when hiring the entire villa, there would have been no issue about bringing our own (duty free) drinks - but this was not negotiated beforehand and caused an initial disagreement
- It wasn't clear that laundry service was at European prices
- Wifi only covers part of the central area (the area in and just outside the office, as the wifi access point is in the office)

For our three night stay, with two main meals, we ended up paying 30% of the villa rental fee again in extra charges despite bringing our own champagne and spirits. Once you expect this, you can let the villa surprise and delight you.

PS. As with all Marrakech villas, impossible to find unless you know it. Best to retain the same taxi company for the entire trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

WOW where to start!!

I work as a personal assistant to a celebrity and stayed for one week at Rose Sultan. Both my boss and I were impressed with the whole experience..

The manager was so helpful and courteous. We arrived at the airport after a long plane trip, where we were whisked away with VIP treatment..

After a short drive we arrived at Rose Sultan where a delicious Moroccan feast of chicken, and some strangely wonderful rose recipies eg. rose petal soup and some amazing salads..

Then then wen to our suites..the Royal Gold suite has an amazing view of the Atlas Mountains on one side and the very inviting pool and garden.

Majid organised us to be chauffered around Marrakech and taken to all the wonderful gardens, palaces restaurants and clubs.

Being a personal assistant to a celebrity, Rose Sultan's owner Majid made my job a breeze. He is always happy to help

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aussiebtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Located outside of Marrakech, this hidden getaway allows you to enjoy quietly the peaceful Moroccan lifestyle without being too far from the lively city. Architecture lovers will enjoy the open space and the lines of this modern, Moroccan style building, along with the beautiful rose garden and the broad view on the Atlas. Hedonists will enjoy the comfortable rooms and the home-made cuisine. Service is very friendly and you will be glad to get home after a good day in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheThibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We have stayed a few days at Rose Sultan at the beginning of November 2008. I have read the latest tripadvisor reviews, unfortunately, only after I came back, and completely agreed with the review of farid75. I wish I had read this before, I would have chosen another place to stay in Marrakech!

OK, the place is beautiful but, given the price you pay, you expect MUCH more! There is just no service in this hotel!
Majid, the owner, is a very nice person but you can guess that he has no background in the hotel business.
A few examples:
- almost no staff in the hotel, nobody at the reception, the owner is often away and if you are lucky enough to find an employee, he often doesn't have a clue how to help you
- the waiters are completely unprofessional, they either bring you your meal 1H30 after sitting for lunch or bring all the plates almost at the same time and have no idea of what they are serving
- if you need some help for organising your stay in Marrakech (book a restaurant, a spa, a tour...), try somebody else. Staying in Rose Sultan will not prevent you at all from abusive taxi drivers, as you will be highly dependent of them to get to the center. No information/ advice available regarding nice visits, restaurants etc
- pool is not heated, which was a real disppointment
- breakfast: bread, coffee, juice, that's it!
- the information on the website is really exaggerated: no hammam, no chauffeur to the city at a fixed rate, you have to call taxis on your own and it can often take hours, rooms are rather rooms than suites, no tours available etc...

Really, I wonder how some reviews I read can be so good. We haven't been staying in the same hotel!

As the place is beautiful, maybe you should try going there....in 2 years, once the team has developed some experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gueyita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Rose Sultan is like nothing you have ever seen in Marrakech before. It clearly stands out of the hotel crowd with its very sophisticated design and extremely peaceful atmosphere. Massages provided by the hotel spa are a must. A little piece of heaven once you've stumbled all day in the crowded and busy Medina.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Klequoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
11.9 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#199 of 501 in Marrakech
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#179 of 501 in Marrakech
167 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ksar Salha
Ksar Salha
#296 of 501 in Marrakech
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#301 of 501 in Marrakech
230 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#141 of 501 in Marrakech
955 reviews
11.9 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#270 of 501 in Marrakech
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Sultan

Address: Route Ourika km11 | Tassoultante, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $80 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and peaceful area, not far from the bustle of the red city, welcomes you. Set in a beautiful area of over 2.5 acre, facing the Atlas, ROSE SULTAN villa has beautiful gardens with a typical Berber tent, a place to relax. 21m / 6m Infinity heated pool, with sundeck, Jacuzzi, table tennis and petanque. Our chef offers a quality catering (Occidental cuisine and local specialties). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Sultan Marrakech
Rose Sultan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing