We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Mogador Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ranked #246 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
2 reviews
“Such a bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

My hunsband and I stayed for a week at this hotel; we were supposed to stay in a room whith a double bed which found itself to be a twin bedded room; unfriendly staff unable to give any information about tourism in the town or where to go and what to see. No electricity and no internet!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anmbouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    203
    105
    79
    48
See reviews for
167
220
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I'll start with a summary, for anyone not wanting to read the full review.

Good Cleanliness
The State of Building Maintenance

Acceptable Rooms
Pool (even though service is poor)

Bad The Service/ Friendliness of Staff (language is a beautiful thing)
The Shower Water Flow
The Room Aircon
Location / The Free Shuttle Bus
The Bar
Breakfast

My wife and I arranged bed and breakfast at the Ryad Mogador Kasbah via the Travel Republic website using EasyJet and transfers with Travel Hoppa, both of whom provided excellent service and value for money.

The Ryad Mogador Kasbah is situated in the Zone Touristique area to the south of old Marrakech, 2.3 miles from the main square. I was initially quite impressed with the hotel, especially as I had booked it "on a budget". The lobby was spacious and beautifully decorated (see photos). The terraced breakfast area looked appealing. The pool was adequately sized and looked well equipped.

The room was pleasant and acceptably spacious. The housekeepers did an excellent job everyday. The water flow in the shower and basin was well below par, the shower could just manage a fine mist (temperature variable). After 2 visits to the reception desk I gave up trying to explain my dissatisfaction. Even with the summer temperatures receding I did feel the air conditioning was struggling to keep pace with the late afternoon temperatures.

The dining room had an pleasant outside terrace, breakfast was served buffet style. Though the breakfast was adequate, we were generally disappointed with the meal. Every morning there was something different missing from the buffet. The tea bags, orange juice, tea cups, hot water and toaster regularly disappeared, fruit made a guest appearance on the first day. The hot food on offer was limited to omelette’s or soup (well it looked like minestrone). The croissants and pastries were of varying freshness. Need I go on.

The Evening entertainment in the lounge consisted of a keyboard player and a singer, singing traditional Arab songs, not my personal taste. There’s a large screen TV showing a variety of Arabic/ Engilsh / French language programmes. Skype calls were possible on the excellent Wi-Fi. (The Wi-Fi was available in the bar, reception and pool cafe).

We found the service abysmal. I've never been to a hotel where the waiters stay behind the bar and you have to go to them to order and then 15 minutes later you have to go and remind them of your order (I thought it was maybe a Moroccan thing, but found out that it wasn't). Elsewhere the service was painfully slow. This became very frustrating

We had one "rest" day by the pool. The loungers were reasonably comfortable and the pool itself is a good size, however I've never understood why hotels make them so deep, I could only stand on the bottom for about 25% of its area. There is smaller children’s pool. A Poolside drinks service didn't exist, though there was a snack bar on the adjacent terrace.
On this particular day the musical theme was French Trance Music, which increased in volume as the day went on. (To the point of being deafening). One point of note, there is a building site across the road from the pool, we didn't notice much noise (even between the disco tracks), but that might not remain the same.

As I said earlier, the hotel is well out of town, there are absolutely no other facilities close by. Fortunately the hotel has a free shuttle service to the city centre. Unfortunately, there’s only one every 90 minutes or so. AND it must pick up at at least one other Mogador hotel before reaching us. Additionally, you have to compete for the few (if any) remaining seats with other tourists (queueing was not an option). The return journey is even more of a scramble. The answer is just forget it. The taxis outside the hotel grossly overcharge for the ride into town and generally refuse to budge below 50 Dehrams (just over £4). But as a way of avoiding the Melee its the only other option. Two return trips a day into town added nearly £90 to our holiday costs over the week.

OK, that reads a fairly long - winded, gruesome review. I've tried to be as honest as I could without going into personal details. We are a fairly easy going couple and both felt it was a shame. Minor changes could make this a good hotel. If the staff could lighten up a bit, smile and get on with the job it would be miles better. The apparent language barrier made us feel unwelcome. The Transport difficulties were annoying. But having said all of this we still thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Marrakech and will return one day, but not to this hotel.

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

hull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We booked a last minute holiday so maybe we didn't check out the hotel like we would usually do. The hotel is on what Marrekesh call the tourist area which basically mean a 10 minute taxi ride fron the centre of Marrekesh with no other facilities but them that are in the Hotel . We we arrived none on the reception spoke to us we told them we had booked a room and was pushed 2 pieces of paper infront of us and pointed to fill in . We had requested a room on the ground floor because I am disabled but were given a key and told the room was one the 2nd floor. The room was clean and the housekeeping kept it that way all the week . The shower was a joke and the fridge didn't work . After going down to reception twice the best we got was a mist from the shower .There is a lot of building works going on around the hotel so it hasn't realy got a view on anyside. The staff we found very unfriendly if you were English making out they couldn't understand the simplest of requests a black coffee or just down right rude in just ignoring you . The bar in the hotel closed at 11.00 so after this a couple that had just arrived were told no drinks now !!. The swimming pool overlooks the building works though not a lot of noise the view isn't what you are looking for and the music all week was some kind of French " trans music" which the pool boy seemed to like as he sat in his shorts on the swining chair reading his newspaper . Food is well basic we went for bed and breakfast , no fruit most mornings the offer was salad! cheese and omlete the taoster was only out for a couple of days .Croissants were never fresh and always tasted like the day before's You have to hunt down a teacup . We only had one meal for dinner in the hotel that was enough . The same salad as was offered for breakfast and chicken and curried rice or fish balls .
All in all a very disappointing holiday at this hotel . Marrekesh is wonderful and I would reccomend anyone thinking about going to do this just stay clear of this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilequeen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

i stayed at this hotel early august there was a big group of us about 15 people when i walked in at first was quite suprised the lobby was very spacious and looked amazing... this hotel had a good relaxing enviroment it would be best suited for people who would want a couple of days peace and quiet. the rooms were good there were clean towels, new bed sheets etc etc, we otped for half board, breakfast was good with a variety of choices fruits, omlette, juice, etc the BUFFET at night was not very good there were lot of choices but was mostly french and morrocan food . due to the location of the hotel some of the rooms had terrible views becuase there is still ongoing work around the area but still there were rooms with great views of the pool. the only down side of the hotel was that it is located a bit far from the centre however there is a free shuttle bus available to the main centre also there is a small shopping centre and a big mall just like tesco, asda etc located nearby the hotel about 5 minutes walk from hotel. Also watch out for taxis you will have to hassle with the price of the fair even in the markets hassle with the prices as they always love to give high tourist prices first!!!! overall it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel enjoyed it very much!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBSY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel the staff on reception were not very friendly. The staff in the restaraunt did not give us the time of day. They did bend over backwards for the french tourists but seemed very anti British. Breakfast was very basic and geared again more for the french tourist. The pool toilets were absolutely filthy and my brother had to complain before they were cleaned. The hotel is surrounded by building work and our hotel room overlooked a building site. When sitting by the pool you can see cranes opposite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticcalfornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

We booked this hotel because we thought that after staying 3 nights in a charming and characterful riad in the medina we would be ready for somewhere a bit more restful, but still fairly close to town.
Our bedroom and bathroom were very large, clean, comfortable and well-appointed: the fridge being a nice touch.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, even telling us how much the taxi fare to the Square should be.
The hotel is about 3 km from Marrakech centre and the surrounding area is still something of a building site. As previous reviewers have said there is a shuttle bus to and from Marrakech centre, we found it was no problems with finding room on the 09:00 bus, but were unable to get on the 10:30 bus.
There is a new shopping mall with a large Carrefour supermarket iwth large beer, wines and spirits department in the basement less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel if you need to buy provisions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enna_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Have to say the hotel is very clean and the staff where ok, food was expensive at the hotel restaurant but was nice, breakfast was a buffet and we done bed and breakfast at time of booking which was a good thing. breakfast was worth it! we enjoyed our stay however the location was a problem which is something you cannot ignore. the hotel did have a shuttle bus which only came to hand at 9.15pm from djeema al fna square to the hotel other then that time it was packed out as the shuttle bus had 22seats and would also go to another ryad mogodor hotel before it would come to this hotel so if your lucky then you may get a seat at other times. The Worse thing about morroco was THE TAXI PRICES which added to the expense of the hotel as it was very far from the main square. The rooms are clean and presentable but the air condition barely worked which made our sleep quality poor as it would get very hot at night. Overall its a decent 4* hotel with very poor location lol....price for this hotel is very good, around £40 a night for double including breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYHAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#332 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#339 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#461 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#324 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#333 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#305 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Kasbah

Property: Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Address: Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#137 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is located in Marrakech, 4 km from Marrakech Airport. It offers an outdoor swimming pool and a free shuttle bus to the city centre every 2 hours. Combining a Moroccan and contemporary style, the rooms are air-conditioned and include satellite TV. They also feature internet access. The Mogador Kasbah restaurant serves international cuisine and guests can enjoy a snack in the poolside bar and relax in the tea lounge. The Hotel Mogador Kasbah also offers room service and a selection of light meals, served until midnight. Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Mogador Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Kasbah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing