We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overpriced, overrated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad 58 Blu
Ranked #40 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Short break after business trip in Morocco. Given the huge expectations created by the almost universal high ratings on Trip, perhaps disappointment was inevitable. I guess you either like riads or you don't , but this felt more like a 2/3 star guesthouse charging 4 star prices. The staff were helpful, but the room ( referred to as a suite) was damp and dark. Check out entailed an extra charge for mineral water of 40dh per bottle. It was 6dh from corner shop. This was cash only i.e. not on bill. More positively, the atrium and stairs are beautiful and I can see how other guests have been captivated. The roof top view is good and Ishmael made a good omelette.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MrNinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    68
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
65
338
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Riad 58 Blu was such an amazing find. The personal service offered by the manager Ishmail (and the personal attention of Paolo the owner) far exceeded all of our expectations and put many large, expensive 5 star hotels from around the world to shame. Staying in this Riad was an inspired choice and one that made our seven days and nights in Marrakesh unforgettable. Our suite was superb and the Riad an absolute peaceful haven from the beautiful craziness that is Marrakesh. From our base at Riad 58 Blu we were in the heart of the medina and able to really feel like we had gone some way to embrace Moroccan life. We felt safe and were able to explore the side streets and souks to our hearts content and experience the real Marrakesh, all the while knowing that we could relax in style and comfort back at our Riad.

Room Tip: There are five rooms - all beautiful and unique in their own way - and all worth spending a night in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_CousCous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I travelled here with my girlfriend at the end of August. We stayed here for three nights. I was very pleased with our choice. The staff were very helpful even before our arrival and had communicated well via email in response to our questions. An airport transfer was included in the price, which was great and breakfast was also included. Room was t the very top of the Riad and was perfect. Great AC, very quiet and just a hop across the roof to get to the terrace for breakfast in the morning. I saw a recent review saying this is not close to the Medina but I do not understand this as it is less than 10 mins walk away from Jemaa el Fna.

Staff were extremely helpful and Mohammed looked after us from the minute we arrived. He drew us a map showing us how to manage the crazy winding streets, recommended good places to eat, warned us of the pitfalls of Marrakech, lent us some money to pay off the locals should we need to, lent us his guide book, organised taxis, tours etc. etc. Everytime we came back from somewhere he enquired as to how it was and was anxious that we were ok. Himself and Paolo also went and got our bus tickets to Essouira while we were off on a tour and did so without requiring money upfront. Very helpful.

All in all, I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone. We really enjoyed our stay and was a good start to our trip around Morocco.

Room Tip: We had room 107 apparently (I say apparently as the room list says this is the kitchen!!) which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room at this Riad was beautiful and comfortable just like all the other reviews stated. However, there are a number of beautiful riads in the Marrakech area. I would recommend going some place else. I must state that separate from our experience the location of the riad is not as close as I would prefer to be to the center area of the Medina. Now this just may be our experience but we felt extremely ripped off when we left for a few reasons.

1) We arrived late at night and wanted some food - we were about to go out when the riad head - told us he will get us Lamb sandwiches - with this being our first night in Morocco we didn't know any better - but he charged us almost 12 US dollars each for sandwiches specifically ones we could have bought for less than half the price even with tip for him. He took advantage to us being new in the city.
2) Both of us lost our baggage on the way over and expected some help from the riad since we did not speak the language. The riad was less than helpful and even made us feel awkward about using their phone. At the time we believed this wasn't weird but when later riads offered a lot more help we were more disappointed in our first experience.
3) Paying - the riad operator made us pay in cash (specifically Euro). We were expecting to us credit cards but none of our 4 credit cards worked. However, they work everywhere else - never any problems. Then he charge a few dollars more than listed in the items in the mini bar.
4) Finally, we asked the operator what we should pay for shoes and clothing around the city (since we didn't have any clothes due to our bags) - the prices he told us to bargain for were extremely high! I was told after that the prices were even higher than tourist prices.

Bottom line: Try somewhere else for the cost!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booking this Riad was the best decision we made on this trip. With Marrakesh being the biggest hustle in the world you need a calming place to relax. This Riad offers all the atmosphere you need after fighting your way through Marrakesh. The staff is extremely friendly, polite and helpful, the rooms are spacious, beautyful and cleaned every day and some delicious breakfast and tea is offered on the rooftop of the Riad with view over Marrakesh. Tours can be organized by the Staff and the driver we had is a very good driver and very friendly.
Located only five (walking-) minutes away from Jermaa El-Fna this Riad is just in the middle of everything! The area seemed to be safe and you shouldn't get problems there. As it is hidden in some calm backstreets , you should make use of the Riads airport-transfer to make sure you'll find it. We can recommend this Riad without hesitation!! Been there July 2013

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexwasborn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Riad is exactly as described in the description. What is not described is the fantastic hospitality that the Manager Ishmael and the owner Paolo provide without any prompting. Airport transfers are included in the price for your stay and we arrived at the Riad to find an elegant and well maintained property right in the centre of the Medina but, an Oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina,.

My Wife is a vegan and as a result we often do not have any standard dining options. Paolo contacted us and asked us if we wanted a meal on arrival. I explained my Wife's dietary requirement and when we arrived the most sumptuous 7 vegetable tagine was prepared for us.

Ishmael was very helpful in advising us of local attractions and the best advice was to take a tour guide for the first half day to take us around the Medina. Which was very useful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 102 which was on the ground floor next to the plunge pool. This also has a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful riad. Quiet and calm. Lovely suites renovated to a very high standard. All suites overlook the central enclosed courtyard with a decorative pool and sun loungers. Breakfast, served on the roof terrace, was good, with yoghurt, local breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and omelettes on request. Ishmail, the manager, was very helpful, as was Paolo the owner. A bit tricky to find but you soon get used to the alleyways that lead to Jemaa el Fna square. A ten minute walk. Beer, wine, snacks were available on request but were pricey. All in all, a very nice, peaceful stay in the chaos that was Marrakech.

Room Tip: First floor suites are probably quieter and more private than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krommerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#31 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#53 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Property: Riad 58 Blu
Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing