We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, beautiful venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad 58 Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad 58 Blu
Ranked #33 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, beautiful venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Riad 58 Blu in June of 2012. We enjoyed the hospitality provided by Paolo and Ismail and it was great being so close to Djemma El-Fna. The riad was clean and quiet, and we appreciated having a haven from the bustling city. We enjoyed Ismail's substantial and tasty breakfasts each morning on the lovely rooftop terrace. We also appreciated his willingness to assist us with directions and restaurant tips. We'd recommend it as a great place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    71
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
373
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Riad 58 Blu was amazing on so many levels. Most impressive was the personal attention given to us throughout our stay. Muhammad helped us with everything from tour guides, dinners, spa reservations (even personally walked us to the place) and everything in between. The Riad was so beautiful, well decorated and such a break from the crazy streets of Marrakech. Also, a driver picked up at at the train station right on time and took us straight to the Riad where breakfast was waiting for us on the roof top terrace. What a way to start each day. Overall one of the best places we have ever stayed and we have been to six continents. To top it all off the price was very affordable and worth every penny for the service and quality we received.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianxr650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Riad 58 Blu and we highly recommend it for a city break. It's very centrally located to the main square and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions in the old city. It was a haven of tranquillity in a hot and chaotic city. The four staff were very professional and made us feel very welcome. They were helpful and made some excellent recommendations for dining and places to visit. Local excursions, taxis and restaurant bookings were made on our behalf. On occasions, we would have preferred an English speaking guide as well as a taxi driver.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawtucket
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent four nights at the Riad 58 Blu in April and it was just amazing. Paolo and Mohammed made us feel at home in Marrakech and helped make local travel arrangements for us when needed. Outdoor breakfast every morning was a peaceful way to start the day above the busy city. Ismail and the rest of the staff were so warm and friendly. On our last night, we enjoyed a traditional Moroccan meal prepared and served at the Riad. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful trip. Thank you to everyone for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite and it was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonandmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Riad 58 blu thanks to a friend's suggestion. Paolo, the owner, is very kind, friendly and helpful in guiding you to enjoy your visit at the best. The rooms and the courtyard are simply amazing, all the staff is professional and sincerely kind and you will enjoy a tasty breakfast in the roof terrace...like a sultan!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamenduni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed in Riad 58 Blu Easter week and had a great time. Service was fantastic and we were really looked after. Paolo, Mohammed and staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with tips and recommendations for places to go visit and eat. Riad is in a great location between south medina and main square and near lots of great places to eat. Broke stay up with a trip up mount Toubkal so riad was nice to come back to. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked Riad 58 Blu through British Airways. I e-mailed Paolo a week before departure to check the airport transfer arrangements and he responded promptly. It worked well and from what we saw of how other visitors arrived by taxi and then had to find their own way to their accommodation it was definitely the right way to arrive. Adil the driver parked as close as he could to the Riad and carried our bags for us, could not have been more helpful.

We were welcomed by Paolo. The front door is always locked but whoever is on duty responds quickly when you ring the bell; it all helps to make you feel secure. After a glass of mint tea Paolo showed us the way to the main square -- an essential service as Marrakech is a maze of narrow alleyways and it's very easy to get lost. The alleys are constantly used by people on mopeds, scooters, bicycles and sometimes donkeys who give no quarter but if you walk in single file and avoid sudden movements you should be alright! The fumes from the 2-stroke engines are a bit toxic and made our eyes sting but every now and then a breeze or thunderstorm would move the fug on and freshen things up a little. Don't let it put you off; we found the streets were actually quite clean and there were no smells of rubbish or worse, such as we have often encountered in other hot places.

We thought the square (Jemal al Fna) was fascinating and spent some time there every evening, just soaking up the atmosphere. It is ringed by restaurants which are obviously there to attract the tourists but they are not too pricey and although the food is pretty average we found that the views over the square from the terraces made eating there a real experience.The Hotel Café de France was a good place to sit with a mint tea and watch the world go by. Probably the best of them so far as food is concerned was the Alhambra, which did good pizzas and pastas. We didn't find anywhere that did a tasty tagine or good couscous; maybe we were unlucky. As others have said, be careful when taking photos in the square as people may demand money. Also watch out for pickpockets (we saw two in action) and don't accept offers of help from locals to find the square or the way out of the souk as they always seem to be ready to take you the long way round and will certainly want paying. We used the free map that Paolo gave us and we didn't get lost once.

Our room was on the first floor, which suited us very well as it was private and quiet. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was a bit dark and brighter lighting would have been useful. The bath didn't have a plug and the shower attachment had no curtain or door so the room got quite wet, but there was plenty of hot water. There are no toiletries other than small bars of soap although there were various oils and aromatic powders for use in the bath (not much use, of course, in the absence of a plug). The common areas and the room itself were all kept spotlessly clean by the staff, all of whom were cheerful and helpful. Ismail who served our breakfast each day speaks good English, as does the manager, Mohammed. The breakfast was the same each day, but very good, especially the freshly-made yoghurt.

Paolo arranged a trip to the Atlas mountains for us, which was very good value. The Berber pharmacy is well worth a visit and the walk to the waterfalls is an adventure in itself -- make sure you have a pair of sturdy walking shoes with you!

We didn't take any taxis, having read how they rip you off, but even in 30 degree heat found it easy to walk to all the places we wished to visit: the Palais el Badi; the Palais Bahia; the Saadian tombs; the Jardin Majorelle; and the Maison de la Photographie, which we highly recommend (the hibiscus tea served on the roof terrace café was lovely). The souk is fun but it's impossible to browse without being hassled to buy. We found a polite but firm "no thanks" was the best response as anything else starts a conversation you won't get out of until you've bought something.

In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and in particular we thought the Riad 58 Blu was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#45 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Property: Riad 58 Blu
Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing