We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad 58 Blu
Ranked #34 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent four nights at the Riad 58 Blu in April and it was just amazing. Paolo and Mohammed made us feel at home in Marrakech and helped make local travel arrangements for us when needed. Outdoor breakfast every morning was a peaceful way to start the day above the busy city. Ismail and the rest of the staff were so warm and friendly. On our last night, we enjoyed a traditional Moroccan meal prepared and served at the Riad. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful trip. Thank you to everyone for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite and it was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonandmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 762 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Riad 58 blu thanks to a friend's suggestion. Paolo, the owner, is very kind, friendly and helpful in guiding you to enjoy your visit at the best. The rooms and the courtyard are simply amazing, all the staff is professional and sincerely kind and you will enjoy a tasty breakfast in the roof terrace...like a sultan!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamenduni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed in Riad 58 Blu Easter week and had a great time. Service was fantastic and we were really looked after. Paolo, Mohammed and staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with tips and recommendations for places to go visit and eat. Riad is in a great location between south medina and main square and near lots of great places to eat. Broke stay up with a trip up mount Toubkal so riad was nice to come back to. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked Riad 58 Blu through British Airways. I e-mailed Paolo a week before departure to check the airport transfer arrangements and he responded promptly. It worked well and from what we saw of how other visitors arrived by taxi and then had to find their own way to their accommodation it was definitely the right way to arrive. Adil the driver parked as close as he could to the Riad and carried our bags for us, could not have been more helpful.

We were welcomed by Paolo. The front door is always locked but whoever is on duty responds quickly when you ring the bell; it all helps to make you feel secure. After a glass of mint tea Paolo showed us the way to the main square -- an essential service as Marrakech is a maze of narrow alleyways and it's very easy to get lost. The alleys are constantly used by people on mopeds, scooters, bicycles and sometimes donkeys who give no quarter but if you walk in single file and avoid sudden movements you should be alright! The fumes from the 2-stroke engines are a bit toxic and made our eyes sting but every now and then a breeze or thunderstorm would move the fug on and freshen things up a little. Don't let it put you off; we found the streets were actually quite clean and there were no smells of rubbish or worse, such as we have often encountered in other hot places.

We thought the square (Jemal al Fna) was fascinating and spent some time there every evening, just soaking up the atmosphere. It is ringed by restaurants which are obviously there to attract the tourists but they are not too pricey and although the food is pretty average we found that the views over the square from the terraces made eating there a real experience.The Hotel Café de France was a good place to sit with a mint tea and watch the world go by. Probably the best of them so far as food is concerned was the Alhambra, which did good pizzas and pastas. We didn't find anywhere that did a tasty tagine or good couscous; maybe we were unlucky. As others have said, be careful when taking photos in the square as people may demand money. Also watch out for pickpockets (we saw two in action) and don't accept offers of help from locals to find the square or the way out of the souk as they always seem to be ready to take you the long way round and will certainly want paying. We used the free map that Paolo gave us and we didn't get lost once.

Our room was on the first floor, which suited us very well as it was private and quiet. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was a bit dark and brighter lighting would have been useful. The bath didn't have a plug and the shower attachment had no curtain or door so the room got quite wet, but there was plenty of hot water. There are no toiletries other than small bars of soap although there were various oils and aromatic powders for use in the bath (not much use, of course, in the absence of a plug). The common areas and the room itself were all kept spotlessly clean by the staff, all of whom were cheerful and helpful. Ismail who served our breakfast each day speaks good English, as does the manager, Mohammed. The breakfast was the same each day, but very good, especially the freshly-made yoghurt.

Paolo arranged a trip to the Atlas mountains for us, which was very good value. The Berber pharmacy is well worth a visit and the walk to the waterfalls is an adventure in itself -- make sure you have a pair of sturdy walking shoes with you!

We didn't take any taxis, having read how they rip you off, but even in 30 degree heat found it easy to walk to all the places we wished to visit: the Palais el Badi; the Palais Bahia; the Saadian tombs; the Jardin Majorelle; and the Maison de la Photographie, which we highly recommend (the hibiscus tea served on the roof terrace café was lovely). The souk is fun but it's impossible to browse without being hassled to buy. We found a polite but firm "no thanks" was the best response as anything else starts a conversation you won't get out of until you've bought something.

In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and in particular we thought the Riad 58 Blu was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Feb. We were dropped off in a tiny back street which was filthy and full of motorcyles and hoards of beggers which filled me with horror. However once we arrived at the Riad we were made to feel very welcome by Mohammed and he later took us for a guide to the square which orientated us for the rest of the trip. Mohammed also organised taxis for the whole time we were there which was fantastic as we didnt have to find our own drivers and all the drivers he used were lovely. Paulo, the owner was very hospitable and recommended a great place for freshly cooked fish which was fab. He was very warm and friendly and both he and Mohammed couldnt do enough for us.

Our accomodation on the roof didnt feel part of the Riad and was very small. (We did see one of the other rooms which was double the size of ours and in a much better position within the riad and its furnishings were lovely). It was also quite noisy as it was next to the kitchen. However the breakfast that was served from it was good.

The roof had 2 tatty sunbeds and the view wasnt good and one morning we had two couples sitting up there chatting whilst we were trying to sleep. We also had the added noise, commencing at 5.15am EVERY morning from the mosques so our sleep for the duration of our trip was awful - my tip therefore is - take earplugs!!

We spent one day in the Club Med hotel in the square which was great as it allowed us to relax after a day in the Atlas mountain region. However we booked some therapies (body scrub and massage) and they were the shortest I have ever experienced. The constant supply of alcohol did appese and the lunch was good. The place looked like it needed an overall and we learnt that it was indeed closing the following week for renovation.

Our trip to the Atlas mountains was great as our driver stopped at various places (no doubt all owned by family members!) such as a typical Moroccan home that made flour, a place that sold dishes etc and a carpet shop, and we also stopped at the Berber Pharmacie which was very interesting and we bought some herbs and spices. A guide was arranged to take us part way up to the mountains and he was a real gentleman and we enjoyed his company very much. Ladies, beware, you will need hiking boots or trainers as there isnt a flat surface to be seen!!

Mamounia Hotel is well worth a visit. Apart from the history, the hotel itself is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous. We enjoyed a beautiful champagne lunch outside and had a walk through the gardens. YLS gardens were also lovely and worth a visit.

In all we had a great time and the riad was in the perfect location for walking to the square at night but I didnt feel 100% safe, and we did use a lot of taxis to take us to our destinations during our stay, which I would really recommend to ensure you have the best time.

Room Tip: Dont have the one we did on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainb996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We got back from a 3 day stay at the Riad 58 Blu at the end of February. We had a fantastic time at the Riad 58 Blu - Paulo, Mohammed and Ismail were charming hosts and the attention to detail was really fabulous. The rooms are well appointed and the rose petals scattered each day on the bed and in the bathroom were nice touches! Breakfast on the terrace was lush and tranquil, a great way to start the day before the madness of the main square or the souks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASolanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here in February. My husband booked the Riad, I had planned to go to one of the resorts and just visit the town centre and souks.

Having not been to a Riad before I had nothing to compare it to. The hosts were very nice and helpful and the room was very clean. Note the main doors are not that secure (there is a safe in the room) and the room was very chilly at night (it was February) as there is a large gap at the bottom of the door. We did put the heating on, but it was very noisy so had to switch it off before we went to sleep. The bathroom was spacious, but no plug for the bath so after a day in the Atlas mountains only a shower. Note: the hot water does run out, especially in the morning. so get up early! The Riad is very open and you can here everything going on, we were there at the same time as 4 italian ladies, who were all very nice, but could here everything they were saying at 7.00am one morning when they were having breakfast. Also,someone smoking in the evening, the smoke drifted up and straight into the bedroom. The breakfasts are lovely, although high on carbs! I would have got fed up by the end of the week as there was no variety, some fruit would have been lovely.

One thing that put me off a bit was the old magazines around the riad which had faded in the sun and were very old and tatty. It didn't add to the ambience.

Location was excellent and only about 5 mins walk to the main square and souks. You need to watch the mopeds and cycles through the narrow sheets. Mohammed took us to the main square the first time to show us where to go and took us to a restaurant he knew for lunch. Note: a lot of the restaurants don't serve alcoholic drinks we found the Kozy Bar which did and has a lovely view over the town.

Mohammed was kind enough to organise a driver to the Atlas mountains which I would recommend a lovely day out. Although you can stop where you want, the driver does have places he visits where you can buy things. We went to the berber pharmacie which I found very interesting and we actually bought some products. Unfortunately when I got home was unable to find their website!

Unfortunately nothing in Marrakesh is free....bear this in mind. I was even chased as someone thought I had taken a photo in the main square and I had to show them my camera to prove I hadn't.

We enjoyed the souks you get used to the banter, we would have spent a fortune, but were put off not being able to browse. We didn't eat in the main square on Mohammeds recommendation and stayed to places that were off the main square. We tried the Tangier (near to the Kozy Bar) and the Portofino Restaurant near where the carriages line up.

We did the open top bus - good if you want to take photos without being chased! It was good to see the new city and get an idea of the whole area.

Overall we had a lovely break, the Riad served our purpose and the staff were more than friendly. Not sure if I would go back to Marrakesh, glad we went to see a totally different culture. The only night I felt a bit uneasy was Sunday night when a lot of the locals came out and there was a real party atmosphere in the square, it was very busy and we were very aware we were tourists.

I would recommend the Riad if you want somewhere near to the main square.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor a bit bigger and more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAustinsTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
1,051 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#71 of 499 in Marrakech
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $64 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing