We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“RIAD HADIKA MARIA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hadika Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Hadika Maria
Ranked #331 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
27
80
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad Hadika Maria from 9th till 12th feb 2013....we booked this guest house despite some bad reviews as there was something about it that appealed...I really wanted a traditional decor not some room that looked like a travel in and it was beautiful! We stayed in the sultane suite.... The doors and shutters to our room were original and so grand! And stepped out into a lovely little courtyard... The bathroom was a great size and unlike previous complaints on reviews there was hot running water in our room and a padlock for the room door...(we packed one any way just in case which we used to lock our wardrobe with valuables in) also some one complained that the staff were "morose!?!?? " They were fab! They dont speak any english but not many do in morroco if you speak basic french you will be fine i asked for drinks on english and they understood that was all i needed! Abdullah was lovely in particular! I found out that it has changed Management Alexandra the manager was fantastic she speaks good english and spent a good half hr with us when we arrived over mint tea explaining everything and answering our questions..she also gives her mobile and abdullahs mobile for you in case you get lost or have any trouble outside....Also great bonus to this riad is it serves wine and beer!! We only found one bar next to the square that served Alcohol!! (La Salaame in the alley next to cafe france! Beautiful romantic place to drink and eat expensive but there is no where else that we found?! And we asked several waiters they just pointed in a random direction and made it apparent it was some way away!) The only down side to the Riad is location as its in the heart of the Medina and down an winding alley and is very tricky to find at times...but we soon realised that almost every riad or hotel in the medina is!!! Its part of the experience! We got lost daily! Found new places and about 7 ways into the main square from the guest house! Which is close by the way so location is good on that side of things! We found best thing enjoy getting lost in the day then at night barter a horse and cart ride or taxi from main square back to Hart Essoura then you are near the alleys to the riad ...just remember a few key features when you first arrive to get you from here to the riad sign and you are fine! We chose the airport transfer so at least we were met and had our bags pushed on a cart for us to lead us to the front door so took note of where the cars stop and the way after....Great stay Thankyou everyone at the Riad Hadika Maria!! X

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Boden2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staying at the Riad was one of the highlights of the trip. The room was phenomenal, beautiful and great value for money. All the staff were beyond friends especially the manager Alex. The Riad is difficult to find if its your first time but Alex came and escorted me from the main street, besides why would other reviewers book accommodation in the old quarter of Marrakesh (Medina) and then complains about the narrow medieval streets, and sometimes difficult navigation?
When I arrived at the bus stop, my bag was stolen and Alex took the better part of an afternoon taking me to police station and translating for me.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Gazelle room which was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had been that riad for our honeymoon. That was really hard to find but it is worth the money we paid. It is in the middle of real culture. If you offer candy or something to children who play on the street, they can even help you. It has lovely, beautiful swimming pool, they had fixed breakfast but it is very enjoyable to have a breakfast at the roof.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayşegül F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Riad is nearly impossible to find if you have no experience with souks (tiny, narrow, confusing streets). As a Turkish with tons of experience Grand Bazaar and similar venues, we managed to find the riad very easily day and night. But if you get lost at the souks, the Riad offers you a service which you can call the Riad and someone from the staff comes and takes you to the Riad for free (speaking only French).

The atmosphere, the look, the style of the Riad is amazing and charming. A very lovely and boutique Riad. Also very clean, fly-free (!!!!! - billions of flies at Marrakech) and offering a lovely, small swimming pool if you get too hot.

There are some more negative issues about the Riad however. The first and the most annoying one is the staff's attitude. Although we agreed on paying by credit card via booking.com, the staff tried to collect the money in cash! When we explained them that it is impossible, we dont travel with that amount of cash on us, they said the credit card machine is broken!!!!!
Then I sent an email to the manager of the Riad explaining the problem and she helped us by charging from our credit card. After that day, the staff didnt even look at us while serving the breakfast. No eye contact. We felt as if we committed a crime. Kept talking behind us in French (which none of us can understand), bla, bla, bla... The worst staff we have met in our lifes (except the kind night-shift dude).

The breakfast is poor. No egg or cheese or delicatessen... Only a few pan cakes, butter and jam.

No complimentary soap or shampoo at the rooms.

But, despite all these facts, the Riad is a very lovely, special place to stay. Esp. the rooms are fantastic. And the manager is always available by mail and solves the problem asap. Thanks to her once more although we couldnt meet...

Room Tip: Sultane is one of the best decorated and big rooms of the Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Haluk_Artan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faaborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice and clean riad (was there at a home exchange). Breakfast is OK (5 €) and dinner traditionel (15 €). Very quite, was there in july (2012) to hot, 48 degr. Choose spring or autumn. Some of the staff speak a little english, rest france/arabic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleWor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Horrible experience, after walking a terrible , scary area of Marrakech for around an hour we had to pay a guy to show us where it was ( before arguing about payment, we gave him 40 dihrams), there was no answer after knocking for 20 minutes so he took us back to wait nervously in his street stall while he made a phone call. We went back there again to wait another 20 minutes for her to turn up ( after paying an extra 20 dihrams) She then searched for 10 minutes to find our reservation. After finding our room we were to scared to head out and find dinner so we stayed in hungry, exhausted and scared until the next morning. Never ever go here. Also the arguments in French around the courtyard in the morning by the staff weren't helpful. On the other hand the Riad is very nice and relaxing inside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
#280 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Chennaoui
Riad Chennaoui
#339 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#23 of 258 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Salam
Dar Salam
#533 of 1,176 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Spa du Chameau
Riad Spa du Chameau
#936 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Des Ours
Riad Des Ours
#988 of 1,176 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hadika Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hadika Maria

Property: Riad Hadika Maria
Address: 37 derb Zemrane Hart Soura, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hadika Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Hadika Maria has 8 rooms around two patios, the one with fountain, the other one with swimming pool. The charm of this riad is characterized by its decoration traditional Moroccan and its numerous trees and plants.Situated in a family and quiet street of the Medina, you will be woken by the birdsong in the morning!!! The Moroccan traditional breakfasts are served on terraces brightened up for winter periods or at the cool at the edge of the swimming pool for warmer periods.The riad has a service snack bar at any time but you can also taste earthenware cooking pots and others couscous, made by Halima our cooker who fetches fresh products to the market every morning. The meals in private can be served to the lounge in front of the fireplace. You will find on the spot a service of shuttle airport or station, a massage room, an office of excursion, board games or coloured pencils for the children and books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hadika Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hadika Maria Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing