We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful beautiful ...but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kasbah Caracalla
Ranked #289 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful beautiful ...but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Interesting to see so many five star reviews for this place. Not quite sure it's deserved...

Ok here's what you get=

A) a beautiful kasbah with excellent suites, well decorated and furnished. Comfortable, if the beds a little hard. Set in a olive grove in the middle of no where. It's wonderful.
B) a pool always at a perfect temperature and comfortable sun beds
C) towels for the pool and shampoo in your room.
D)wonderfully clean environment.
E) the manager is very helpful and kind
F) amazing hammam
G) free shuttle twice a day to the centre and they will always arrange to get you home by taxi
H) the grounds are beautifully tended and pretty. It is so peaceful here

What you won't get is:

A) SERVICE- honestly it's terrible. Ask for a coke or tea and you will get it an hour later if you are lucky and the waiter hasn't forgot. Nearly every time I had to go remind them I existed with only 2 other people around the pool. Then your coke will arrive and there is no ice. The waiters hang around all day and never come round to see if you need anything or clear. They are pointless.

B) a menu. You don't get one. You get what you are given. Here is an example of what was given me one night.
First course - cucumber purée in water in a bowl
Second course - tagine with veg and couscous with a tiny bit of dry meat
Dessert - three slices of orange with cinnamon

So we decided to dine in the centre of Marrakech

C) ice - they don't have any

D) gin - they don't have any

E) cocktails - sorry the guy who makes them isn't here

F) wine list is not good

G) No shower gel in your room or hair dryer

For me this place could be a five star but their food and service is just not good enough. They really need to address this and the experience would be amazing. The owners are a delight it's just a shame.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ladfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    49
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
62
99
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A beautiful setting, quiet, out of the city. Perfect for relaxation. Not so good if you want to regularly get into Marrakech!
Its about 20£ taxi one way!!
we split a 7 day holiday with 5 days in a Marrakech Riad and 2 here in the peace!! Worked perfectly for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic find, just amazing, everything we needed and more.
This family run hotel is so welcoming, nothing is any trouble.
Great food, great service.
Planning a trip back in October, if not before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alliejane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Marrakech for a 5 day getaway due to the excellent offer we found for a stay at Kasbah Caracalla. The hotel, as mentioned, is a bit of a drive from the city centre but we found this to be a positive thing. The choice is made for you - you either go to the city in the morning with the free shuttle service, or you stay for a day at the pool (taxi rides are around €40 return). Either way you're committed to a day of tranquil relaxation, or a day of bargaining and sightseeing in the city. No second guessing and no "ants in your pants" kind of restless feeling when we did opt for a day at the pool.

The hotel itself is simply the best we've experienced. All rooms open out onto the courtyard and our room on the ground level was about 12 paces from the pool and sunbeds. Perhaps the only downside to being in such close proximity is that you have a slight lack of privacy in some respects since you can hear what's going on outside your room quite well during the day. We spent a few days reading and lounging by the pool and loved it. Lunch was reasonably priced, with breakfast and dinner included in the room. The food everyday was excellent, with almost everyday something new from the moroccan kitchen. Breakfast however was the same everyday and though very yummy a bit of variety wouldn't have gone amiss... but we only thought this when our Ryanair flight was cancelled and stayed past our 5 nights. Apparently 5 times is the max we can enjoy the same breakfast before pining for something new.

As for the hoteliers, they were extremely welcoming, and when we hit a bit of trouble after a cancelled flight, they could not have been more helpful! My girlfriend and I were so happy and really quite humbled by how quickly Boutaine organised for us to stay 5 extra nights, requiring only one room change. The price she offered per night was incredibly fair too considering we arrived paying at a significant discount. They even heard of our frustrations at the airport, drove by and helped us find out what was going on with some contacts who lived close to the airport... then waited around for 30mins so they could take us "home" :) We cannot thank her and her husband enough.

In short... can't go wrong and we'll certainly be back to Kasbah Caracalla which by the end seemed like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We retreated to Kasbah Caracella after spending 5 nights in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's Old Town. It was fitting and a welcome break, with a tranquil setting, a wonderful pool with the backdrop of the Atlas Mountains. We were upgraded to a wonderful room which surpassed all expectations and the staff were extremely friendly.
The food of an evening was a little below the standard we had enjoyed in the city centre and the service a little on the slow side which is characteristic of Morocco, however, Kasbah Caracella we felt offered good value for money but it is a £20 taxi into town so it is perfect for a quiet retreat but not if you are looking to get stuck into Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic family run boutique hotel. Utterly relaxing, wonderful food, great service. Stayed in April to go back in June, such good value for money it's cheaper to be on holiday than stay at home ! Accommodating in every way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therapyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is a rare thing to find an absolute gem of a location, but when this is coupled with an amazing bunch of people creates a magical setting for a vacation. Our family of 5 including 3 children aged 9, 4 and 10 months have just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Kasbah Caracalla, and boy oh boy what a wonderful place. Right the way from the wonderful owners (Boutaina & Francois) down to the cook, cleaners, waiter (Wahid), Groundsman (Abdur-Raheem), In house Masseuse (Laila), Driver and Guide (Mohamed) nothing was ever too much trouble. Boutaina and Francois have gone to an amazing amount of effort and trouble to create an absolute gem of a place, where guests very much feel a part of the wider Caracella family.

Taking advantage of the meet and greet service, we were met at the airport by the wonderful in-house driver and guide Mohamed, who was an absolute star during our visit, always willing and helpful. Upon arrival we were totally taken aback by the amazing views of the Atlas Mountains and the construction layout and design of the Kasbah itself. Upon arrival the most hospitable 'Wahid' helped us with our bags to our riad, which were all themed and we stayed in the traditional 'Berber' suite. We soon after received the complimentary traditional Moroccan tea and pastries (Baklava). We spent the rest of our first day relaxing and soaking up the beautiful environment. The following day we took advantage of the shuttle service and experienced the 'Souk' (market) in main town Marrakech. It is easy to consume an entire day at the 'Souk', however decided to go on the sight-seeing tour, via the open top red bus.

Being so close to the Atlas mountains, we organised a trip via the hotel and had the wonderful company of Mohamed as our guide. This is an absolute must for anyone staying at Caracella. Also the magical hands of Laila the in-house masseuse, having had one treatment I had to go back for a second and fear that had I stayed longer it would have become a part of my daily routine. The food was absolutely amazing, a real treat. Everyday a real surprise and an exceptionally pleasant one at that. Such fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection; tradtional couscous and tagine's of chicken, beef, rice. We sent our compliments to the chef on a daily basis.

Other than the trips to the Souk and Mountains we happily spent the rest of our trip soaking up and enjoying the beautiful surroundings at the hotel and unwinding from the busy hectic life so many of us have become accustomed to in the UK and other major cities of the World.

In short, (well not quite so short, in that I would probably end up writing an essay) our wonderful vacation and experience at the Kasbah Caracella and no amount of words could do justice to the experience. You would truly have to experience this delight yourselves and just like us I am sure that your first experience will leave you thirsty for more.

It is rare to find so many qualities in one place, but that is just what makes this place so special.
Boutaina and Francois must be very proud as owners of the atmosphere and environment offered to guests and as delightful as they are owners, have wonderful staff who add to the experience.

A wonderful holiday, with an amazing hotel and great people and delicious food! Thoroughly recommended for anyone who wants a scenic getaway whether as a couple or family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al_Musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutainaetFrancois, Propriétaire at Kasbah Caracalla, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for these good compliments which affect us,
We would like to let you know that your family and you will always be welcome at your home. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Boutaïna&François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
10.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#210 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ksar Salha
Ksar Salha
#261 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
20.1 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#181 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
17.5 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#259 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#320 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Property: Kasbah Caracalla
Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#164 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing