We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heaven"”
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kasbah Caracalla
Ranked #326 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic find, just amazing, everything we needed and more.
This family run hotel is so welcoming, nothing is any trouble.
Great food, great service.
Planning a trip back in October, if not before.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alliejane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 234 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Marrakech for a 5 day getaway due to the excellent offer we found for a stay at Kasbah Caracalla. The hotel, as mentioned, is a bit of a drive from the city centre but we found this to be a positive thing. The choice is made for you - you either go to the city in the morning with the free shuttle service, or you stay for a day at the pool (taxi rides are around €40 return). Either way you're committed to a day of tranquil relaxation, or a day of bargaining and sightseeing in the city. No second guessing and no "ants in your pants" kind of restless feeling when we did opt for a day at the pool.

The hotel itself is simply the best we've experienced. All rooms open out onto the courtyard and our room on the ground level was about 12 paces from the pool and sunbeds. Perhaps the only downside to being in such close proximity is that you have a slight lack of privacy in some respects since you can hear what's going on outside your room quite well during the day. We spent a few days reading and lounging by the pool and loved it. Lunch was reasonably priced, with breakfast and dinner included in the room. The food everyday was excellent, with almost everyday something new from the moroccan kitchen. Breakfast however was the same everyday and though very yummy a bit of variety wouldn't have gone amiss... but we only thought this when our Ryanair flight was cancelled and stayed past our 5 nights. Apparently 5 times is the max we can enjoy the same breakfast before pining for something new.

As for the hoteliers, they were extremely welcoming, and when we hit a bit of trouble after a cancelled flight, they could not have been more helpful! My girlfriend and I were so happy and really quite humbled by how quickly Boutaine organised for us to stay 5 extra nights, requiring only one room change. The price she offered per night was incredibly fair too considering we arrived paying at a significant discount. They even heard of our frustrations at the airport, drove by and helped us find out what was going on with some contacts who lived close to the airport... then waited around for 30mins so they could take us "home" :) We cannot thank her and her husband enough.

In short... can't go wrong and we'll certainly be back to Kasbah Caracalla which by the end seemed like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We retreated to Kasbah Caracella after spending 5 nights in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's Old Town. It was fitting and a welcome break, with a tranquil setting, a wonderful pool with the backdrop of the Atlas Mountains. We were upgraded to a wonderful room which surpassed all expectations and the staff were extremely friendly.
The food of an evening was a little below the standard we had enjoyed in the city centre and the service a little on the slow side which is characteristic of Morocco, however, Kasbah Caracella we felt offered good value for money but it is a £20 taxi into town so it is perfect for a quiet retreat but not if you are looking to get stuck into Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic family run boutique hotel. Utterly relaxing, wonderful food, great service. Stayed in April to go back in June, such good value for money it's cheaper to be on holiday than stay at home ! Accommodating in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therapyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is a rare thing to find an absolute gem of a location, but when this is coupled with an amazing bunch of people creates a magical setting for a vacation. Our family of 5 including 3 children aged 9, 4 and 10 months have just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Kasbah Caracalla, and boy oh boy what a wonderful place. Right the way from the wonderful owners (Boutaina & Francois) down to the cook, cleaners, waiter (Wahid), Groundsman (Abdur-Raheem), In house Masseuse (Laila), Driver and Guide (Mohamed) nothing was ever too much trouble. Boutaina and Francois have gone to an amazing amount of effort and trouble to create an absolute gem of a place, where guests very much feel a part of the wider Caracella family.

Taking advantage of the meet and greet service, we were met at the airport by the wonderful in-house driver and guide Mohamed, who was an absolute star during our visit, always willing and helpful. Upon arrival we were totally taken aback by the amazing views of the Atlas Mountains and the construction layout and design of the Kasbah itself. Upon arrival the most hospitable 'Wahid' helped us with our bags to our riad, which were all themed and we stayed in the traditional 'Berber' suite. We soon after received the complimentary traditional Moroccan tea and pastries (Baklava). We spent the rest of our first day relaxing and soaking up the beautiful environment. The following day we took advantage of the shuttle service and experienced the 'Souk' (market) in main town Marrakech. It is easy to consume an entire day at the 'Souk', however decided to go on the sight-seeing tour, via the open top red bus.

Being so close to the Atlas mountains, we organised a trip via the hotel and had the wonderful company of Mohamed as our guide. This is an absolute must for anyone staying at Caracella. Also the magical hands of Laila the in-house masseuse, having had one treatment I had to go back for a second and fear that had I stayed longer it would have become a part of my daily routine. The food was absolutely amazing, a real treat. Everyday a real surprise and an exceptionally pleasant one at that. Such fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection; tradtional couscous and tagine's of chicken, beef, rice. We sent our compliments to the chef on a daily basis.

Other than the trips to the Souk and Mountains we happily spent the rest of our trip soaking up and enjoying the beautiful surroundings at the hotel and unwinding from the busy hectic life so many of us have become accustomed to in the UK and other major cities of the World.

In short, (well not quite so short, in that I would probably end up writing an essay) our wonderful vacation and experience at the Kasbah Caracella and no amount of words could do justice to the experience. You would truly have to experience this delight yourselves and just like us I am sure that your first experience will leave you thirsty for more.

It is rare to find so many qualities in one place, but that is just what makes this place so special.
Boutaina and Francois must be very proud as owners of the atmosphere and environment offered to guests and as delightful as they are owners, have wonderful staff who add to the experience.

A wonderful holiday, with an amazing hotel and great people and delicious food! Thoroughly recommended for anyone who wants a scenic getaway whether as a couple or family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Al_Musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutainaetFrancois, Propriétaire at Kasbah Caracalla, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for these good compliments which affect us,
We would like to let you know that your family and you will always be welcome at your home. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Boutaïna&François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I just returned from 4 days at this incredible Kasbah! I have been lucky to travel to Morocco many times but never with my family - this was an important trip for me. We arrived at the airport and Mohammed was there to meet us as promised - he is an extraordinary asset to the Caracalla and the safest of drivers and guides! Everything from the moment you arrived oozes charm, hospitality and charisma - including the owners, Boutaina&Francois and their children, Axel&Sasha. Enter the communal area/foyer and be met by lovely secluded areas to relax in during and after dinner. Go through the next doors to be met by the most amazing courtyard, pool rooms and view of the Atlas Mountains! It was also my birthday and our hosts put on the most amazing evening for us! We were told "this is normal"!:-) - We will never forget it! I cannot recommend Kasbah Caracalla more highly to people that want impeccable service, fantastic hospitality, safe and secure locations for children and hosts&staff that make you feel like you are always welcome in their home! We are looking at flights for the coming months to return to this joyous establishment!

Room Tip: all rooms are great, however the Rhiads are super for family holiday accom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HaydenTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutainaetFrancois, Propriétaire at Kasbah Caracalla, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for these good compliments which affect us,
We would like to let you know that your family and you will always be welcome at your home. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Boutaïna&François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had an absolutely delightful stay at Kasbah Caracalla. The owners and staff made us feel perfectly at home with their genuine care for their guests, and they repeatedly went out of their way to give us the best service. The delicious home-cooked Marroccan meals served at the hotel got us hooked on tagine cuisine. The shuttle service to and from the city of Marrakech went without a hitch, and the hotel was a welcome retreat from the lively Medina. The distance from the city was never a problem during our one week stay.

We recommend Kasbah Caracallah without any hesitation to everyone who wants a comfortable retreat and a holiday time-out. Thank you for giving us the best and friendliest hotel stay we've ever had.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François et Bib... M, Propriétaire at Kasbah Caracalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I thank you very much for this lovely review, all team join me to express you and your wife our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Kasbah Caracalla, it was a pure delight. This is very pleasant meeting. Your extreme kindness and your interest in our culture will remain in memories. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care.
Boutaïna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
5.6 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
14.0 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#125 of 501 in Marrakech
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
594 reviews
19.5 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
506 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rose Sultan
Rose Sultan
#242 of 501 in Marrakech
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#166 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#187 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $91 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing