We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the best vacations I have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Idra
Ranked #8 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“One of the best vacations I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Karin was fantastic! Riad Idra is gorgeous with an amazing staff, brilliant cuisine and in the heart of it all! I have been many places and this in in my top three. I could not have asked for more or had a better experience. I HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Beth,

Thanks a lot for your review !
It’s an honor for us to be in your top 3 of the places you’ve been staying in.
We hope to see you soon in our house.
Kind regards,

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
227
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I will be back with my husband ! A great place to be pampered...the rooms are beautiful, the service is excellent and the food was great ! Very relaxing and very affordable ! We enjoyed 3 hour meals on the patio at night in the comfort of a semi private atmosphere.. It was a great break from the hustle of marrakech with some mint tea and Casa Blanca Beer !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mamade4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your impression about your stay in Riad Idra.
We are glad you enjoyed our food and our service and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Please send our greetings to all your friends.

All the best !

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have to agree that our experiences were identical to K_The_Tourist listed below. The service was impeccable. Karine was divine. Omar was so touchingly sweet and thoughtful. We quickly realized that the dinner at the Riad was far superior to well rated restaurants, so we ate every meal in. I can admit that we had some of the loveliest, most relaxing, and indulgent meals of our lives.

We were a group of six very well traveled expat wives who have lived everywhere and stayed in hotels and apartments on five continents. There was a general consensus that this Riad was one of the most lovely travel experiences of our lives.

Karine, well done!

Room Tip: The junior sweet was the essentially the same size as the double room, except for the bath, which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ladies,

Many thanks for having taken the time to write a review about your stay in our Riad.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and our service and we really hope to welcome all of you again, maybe with children this time ....
All the best to the group.

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful places we’ve ever stayed. Some of the large corporate hotel chains could learn a lot from the quality offered at the Riad Idra. It’s absolutely perfect in every way, from its elegantly stylish décor to its impeccable service and mouth-watering cuisine.

Karine is the perfect hostess, who, along with Omar and Redouan looked after us from the minute we stepped through the door to the minute we (reluctantly) left. It was almost as if we were staying with friends. Everyone was always so pleasant and helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble, no matter how many questions we asked. Karine spent time with us explaining the city and showing us where to go and what to do. The mint tea on arrival was a lovely welcoming touch as was the plate of dried fruit, bottled water, fresh roses and traditional babouches in our room.

Breakfast and dinner each day were awesome! Both were beautifully prepared and presented and served on the roof top terrace. Each morning there was a different Moroccan delicacy to try in addition to fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, bread and pastries. The avocado milk drink was delightful. Dinner was four courses, consisting of the most delicious soups, salads, tagines and deserts imaginable.

We had a truly amazing experience and highly recommend the Riad Idra to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful setting, friendly atmosphere and outstanding service.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually styled and overlook the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_The_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your wonderful review about our Riad.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all the traditional amenities provided in the rooms for your arrival.
It was a pleasure for me to inform you and to advice you about what to do and where to go in our lovely city.
You mentioned the avocado milk we are used to serve for breakfast, it’s a traditional Moroccan juice and it gives energy for the whole day.
We look forward to your next stay at Riad Idra.
Wish you the best !

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'm only usually motivated to write reviews when we've had either exceptionally good or bad experiences. It's rare that a place exceeds your expectations - even 5 star hotels can often disappoint after being seduced by their airbrushed and hyperbolic websites.

Riad Idra, however, blew us away. From the moment the door opened and we were so warmly welcomed by Karine we fell in love with this enchanting home from home.

Throughout the Riad the passion for perfection and attention to detail is evident - from the stunning courtyard, to the exquisitely furnished rooms and the lovely roof terrace where we enjoyed our first evening meal, all our breakfasts and afternoon respites between excursions into the madness of the Medina streets. Everything here is so pristine and fresh and well cared for.

No review of this Riad would be complete, however, without a special thank you to Karine, Omar and all the staff who were the epitome of professional and polished service throughout and who made our 4 night stay such a delight.

Karine ranks as just about the best hostess (I hesitate to just call her the Manager) we've encountered on our not insignificant travels. Warm, charming, vivacious and fun are just a few of the adjectives that spring to mind. Nothing is ever too much trouble and she gives you her time so generously.

We really couldn't recommend this wonderful place more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your impression about your stay in our “house”.
We have been touched by all your kind words about our Riad and our staff.
The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and your review give us more and more energy for the future.
We really hope to see you soon in this “enchanting home”.
Kind regards,

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twill56
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An absolutely gorgeous riad in the medina.The food is delicious served on the roof terrace.
We stayed in the Aliya suite which was enormous and beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style.
All the staff were brilliant and so friendly,Karine (the manager) was most helpful and informative on which sights to see and gave us detailed instructions on which way to go so we didn't get lost (which is quite easy to do in the Souks but that is half the fun!)
The riad is in a perfect location.When leaving the riad you can either turn left and wander through the souks to Djemaa El-fna square, which takes about 20 mins of slow strolling through the souks,or you can turn right and walk about 500 mtrs to the road which loops around the medina and follow this to the main square (about 10 mins walk).We found that walking back to the riad at night it was easier to come back on the road from the main square as it is so easy to get lost in the souks on the way back (everywhere just looks the same).
Overall we cannot recommend Riad Idra highly enough.You really should stay here when in Marrakes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for recommending Riad Idra in your review.
We were delighted to welcome you in our Riad and we hope to see you again, for a next stay in the red city.
Wish you the best.

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple just returned from a 12-day trip to Morocco. Of the six hotels we stayed at, nothing beat Riad Idra. Its open-air atrium with clean white marble floors, wading pool and lush greenery populated with chirping birds was a welcome home after spending a hot day in the maze of the Marrakech Medina. Our room was clean and well appointed with tasteful, authentic Moroccan items. The food was ridiculously good (with the exception of the eggs at breakfast). And best of all, its size and incredibly attentive staff made for a personable and homey stay. I would recommend this place without reservation to even the pickiest traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jennifer, Dear Larry,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your opinion about you recent stay at Riad Idra.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and your friends, Ben and Sue, in our Riad.
When we refurbished the whole house, 2 years ago, we really wanted to honor and to highlight the Moroccan culture trough its art and handicraft. That’s why all our rooms are generously decorated with traditional wooden and metal crafts and oriental paintings.
We really look forward to your next visit.
All the best !

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Property: Riad Idra
Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Idra 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing