We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Never book this riad or be very very careful by booking!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Tainam
Ranked #722 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Never book this riad or be very very careful by booking!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

In March, I booked this riad but canceled almost immediately because of their lewd and rude response to some questions I had. Now, three months later, they charged my card for the full amount, ie 100%. I contacted booking.com and was told that I misunderstood the clause "up to 7 days." I thought it meant then on the seventh day before arrival.
But it comes all the time, even if you book and then cancel the riad one year before arrival, they will charge your card with 100% anyway.

I cancelled this riad 16 days before arrival but became be charged.

It has never happened to me before that a hotel would charge the full amount. 10-15%, it can be understood, but not 100% - I regard it as a theft really, rude and not polite or how I can say.

Therefore I write this review and warn all who intend to book this riad. Be sure however that you right understand their clause on booking so that you do not run into the same thing as me.
And even considering their unpleasant nonchalant way to answer both for booked and even now at my reaction to the charge, I can not imagine that it can be enjoyable stay there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
13
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location of this riad was exceptionally poor, in the roughest part of the souks, 15 minutes to the Djemaa al Fna. The greeting staff were very friendly, as was the cleaning lady, however the man I presume owns the riad was on the hard-sell about booking their excursions. Overall, the riad was very shabby, our toilet leaked and the bathrooms require repair. The bed linen was clean, but the pillows underneath were not. The breakfast was the same everyday, simple crepes and bread with coffee and orange juice; the dinner at the riad is UK prices for Marrakech food. I have stayed in Marrakech previously at riad Assala, which was the same price as Riad al Tainam, but was much more luxurious than this, in a much nicer part of town - we booked the other riad but this was given as our alternative when the previous closed down. I would not recommend unless you are an experienced traveler who doesn't mind their location much.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not face out into the street - a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this Riad online, received confirmation and also received two emails from the Riad itself thanking us for our booking and answering our questions. When we arrived they said they had no record of our reservation, despite us showing the confirmation and the two emails that they had sent us about parking and meals. Since there was no other rooms for us we were without a place to stay and turned away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBEAR1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is at least 15min walk from the central square (Jeema al Fena) in Marrakesh, and in a outlying part of the medina, so factor this if travelling with a family or someone with disability. The location isn't clear on maps, so be prepared to pay for a local to assist you upon arrival.

Generally the staff were great, but I was upset by the day manager twice: I wanted to shorten my trip by 1 night, which he refused and thereby TOLD ME how to spend my holiday. Then, like a car salesperson, he wanted to sell me a day trip to the very same place I wanted to go to with the day!

The cleaning staff are great, but there was black mould in my bathroom. And the shower flooded the floor every time.

There is no buffet breakfast. You get a glass of juice, a cup of coffee, a roll and a moroccan pancake (msiman) with some butter and jam each. That's it!

Room Tip: Book one night. See if you like it, and extend your stay as needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulrichKieffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldnt complain about the price. Get what you paid for. The room was quite nice but the bathroom needed a lot of work especially as the sinks were blocked and the shower turned into a bath. Very basic. Riad was nicely decorated.
It was hard trying to find the place and we would never have found it without asking a guide. We went into the souk at night and were lucky to find the place again as there are few street signs and no signposts to the Riad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this affordable hotel. Our expectations were not high, considering the below average rates charged. The hotel is located in a quiet off-the-beaten track neighborhood. Relatively easy to find. The bathroom fixtures could do with some maintenance. The biggest drawback was the courtyard with a plunge-pool. Regrettably the courtyard has been sealed off with plastic on the roof, inhibiting fresh air to circulate at night and capturing the chloride smell of the pool indoors. Hence we were obliged to the use of air-conditioning in the rooms, which has been mounted just above the bed. Sleeping under an ice cold stream of air is not recommendable and can have bad health consequences (as it did in my case). Contrary to the statement on the website, we could not pay with creditcard. Nevertheless the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms at the front are better, having an outward facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Puzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got picked up from the airport which went very smoothly, and the checking in process at the Riad was quick with friendly service.

The room was very clean and adequate for a couple and the decor was beautiful and traditional. The only downside of the room was the shower head wasn't working properly, however, we were extremely satisfied none the less.

We had dinner twice at the hotel over a one weeks stay. The food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was nice initially but got a little monotonous after having the same thing every day.

All the staff were wonderful, nice and extremely helpful. I can't say one fault with any staff member who went above and beyond expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over looking the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hails2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#298 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chennaoui
Riad Chennaoui
#354 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#483 of 512 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#685 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#375 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Property: Riad Al Tainam
Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #722 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Tainam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing