We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad”
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Tainam
Ranked #705 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tegelen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Excellent Riad about 10 minutes walk from the the main square Djemaa el Fna. Easy to find (right, end of "street" left and continuing straight ahead).
Breakfast okay, room small but okay, shower clean and also okay. We had a very pleasant stay.
Pick up from the airport went very well. Price / Quality is okay. It will be hard to find a riad with this service and location for a chaeper price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marukistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    15
    9
    16
See reviews for
13
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2010

was booked to stay at another riad (same owner) but told we were now staying here as the other one was being decorated. Was only told this a few days before arrival and only because i emailed to ask for the airport transfer. Pictures looked really nice and so did the pool unfortunately not quite the same when we arrived. Firstly insisted on complete payment on arrival, very poor rate given when paid in MDH,s. With airport taxi and city tax ended up paying nearly £300.00 for 5 nights in a double room. The pool was really small, more a plunge pool and freezing cold as it was inside and not heated. The whole riad although typically Moroccan was tired and in need of sprucing up. Went to put some of our jewellry in a trinket pot in our room and found a used condom!!! DISCUSTING. None of the following services stated on website were actually at the riad - tour desk? turkish/steam bath? sauna? massage? restaurant?. what the owner means is that that he can arrange these at extortionate prices. The breakfast was the same every morning - pre-cooked pancakes and then re heated in microwave which made them tough . The walk to the main square and souks took 15 mins and you were lucky to escape with your life trying to avoid being knocked down by motorbikes, cars and horse and carts ( but thats the same everywhere in the medina). Also as a blonde mum and blonde teenage daughter we were constantly having unwanted attention from the moroccans on the walk. Enjoyed the 2nd part of our trip much more when we moved to the new city and stayed in a proper hotel ( the tikida gardens was superb )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosannlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Pictures of property are good --beware though --this does not match up in quality to others in Marrakech -- this is strictly somewhere to put your head down for 1 night if your backpacking ! ---not for holidays.
Self accredited 4* this is equivalent to an English 1/2* guesthouse.
This is a "cash only" hotel -- bills are generally on bits of notepaper unless you ask -- not very professional --with a little effort from the management this place could be ok.
You will not read that this is practically next door to a mosque--so be prepared for early morning calls to prayer.
Nearest place for bottled water and a coffee is El Fina square about 10 mins away though the alleys --a bit intimidating in the eve !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed with a group of girlfriends and took over the whole Riad. Met at the airport and all went smoothly. Staff were very helpful and attentive - surprised to read some negative reviews - must be different staff is all I can say. Loved the traditional features and decor in the Riad and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after venturing out into the hustle and bustle of the medina.
Ate at the Riad on the first and last night - food was absolutely delicious and good value. Meal times were always arranged to suit us and we took a trip into the mountains arranged by the staff - all drivers used by them were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We booked the whole riad for an extended family group of 10, were collected at airport in new minibus and taken to riad. All went smoothly. Riad very hard to find for a first time visitor but so is everything else in the medina.( suggest you arrange collection at airport) Had dinner in riad on first night .Breakfast traditional pancakes, bread and honey with good coffee. We found eating other meals out the best option. Rooms and bathrooms are traditional morrocan with comfortable bed and basic shower, toilet and whb. Pool too small to swim in but kids could splash about. Rooftop terrace very enjoyable. Very easy walk (10mins) to square along narrow road crowded with bicycles, motorcycles, donkey carts, pedestrians and stalls. Compared to holidays in Turkey we were not harassed much by vendors.
Area around riad is well lit and we didnt feel uncomfortable coming back late at night although we were the only tourists for last few minutes of walk.
Staff were helpful and always present. This is a family run bed and breakfast where you can get a meal if needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We've just spent 4 nights at this riad, we booked it via an internet site and paid in euros' upon arrival. Our rom was ready when we arrived (despite an early flight) and was lovely, traditionally Moroccan with an amazing bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although their English was limited we managed to get by speaking basic French.
Breakfast was included and served whatever time we got up and wherever we wanted it. There is a lovely roof terrace and we used the loungers to sunbathe etc.
The riad itself is about a10 minute walk from the main square and on a direct route so it was very easy to find our way back at night. (Some of my friends have stayed in riad's that were impossible to find and at night were in alley's that were dark.)
Our only complaint would be that travelling to Marrakech at this time of year, the nights can be very cold and our room had no heating, only air conditioning. Staff gave us extra throws etc. but heating would be good for winter visitors!! We would definately return.
Like previous reviewers have put, don't expect a big chain hotel style service and experience, this is an authetic riad and for us was perfect for our stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewbrunetteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband & I pre-booked this riad from the UK via the internet. Upon booking we were requested to pay a deposit by bank transfer, slightly annoying & cost us £10, however we thought we really wanted to stay in this riad that sounded amazing - Oh how wrong we were!
Upon receiving payment the riad contacted me to advise we would stay at another riad, which we accepted, however, upon arriving they said we were staying at this one. We then had to move on our final night to stay in another riad, not sure why as they couldn't tell us - honesty, they had no idea what was going on.
Upon arriving in Marrakesh after an overnight train we sat down and were asked for the rest of our money, there was absolutely no welcoming feeling at this riad nor do they state anywhere that full payment was due the moment you arrived. We were eventually shown our room after waiting 30 mins in the cold, to find it unclean with dirty floors, we then showered & were standing in 4 inches of water & with the shower spraying water everywhere. After just 2 hours we were asked for money again, we informed the riad manager we could pay 2 nights in Euro & the rest in Dirham, this was a major issue and after 3 phone calls to the owner it was agreed we could pay this. We were charged a crazy exchange rate to pay in Dirham, however, that was their preferred currency, the manager was in our faces asking for money the moment he saw us. It appeared he could only speak English when asking for money & telling us what to do, however, if you asked or queried anything he did not understand a word.
They also said they had internet available, however, upon arriving we needed to wait 4 hours before they gave us a wireless device and then charged us for it!
There was a pool, however, I think you would risk your health if had got into it. It had a rather bizarre smell, was dirty and had dead insects lying on the top of the water - just disgusting!
They state that this riad is 5 mins away from Jamma el fna, this is totally incorrect, it took us 15 mins each day to walk to & from the riad into the centre.
All round our experience at this place was terrible, the manager was rude & incompetent and to be honest I think he tried to rip us off a couple of times when dealing with money. We spoke to other guests and they felt the same.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#242 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#79 of 1,154 in Marrakech
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 500 in Marrakech
756 reviews
11.2 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#134 of 500 in Marrakech
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Property: Riad Al Tainam
Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Tainam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing