We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
147
39
5
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
39
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews break from the hustle and bustle an easy minute walk the main square real marrakech moroccan tea jemaa el atlas mountains pancakes an oasis naima bab honey culture medina morocco french arabic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 198 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2019

Was staying in a nice hotel for 3 days, but last minute decided to extend holidays for another 2 days. My hotel wanted to charge like 200 pounds a night, so looked for something in the 3 star range and found Riad Ailen online. Went there, the taxi driver could not find it, it was a mud hut in the middle of a busy local area. Two guys approached us started pulling our luggages and people started begging us for money everywhere. This was the dirtiest place i have ever gone to. Avoid this place, the locals are greedy and hostile.

Best regards
Rakin

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018

The owners are fantastic, very kind and helpful. The Riad itself is quiet but getting to it through the Medina is a bit of a chore. We paid a kid to show us after walking in chaos with our backpacks for a bit. The door sign very small, almost non descriptive and unless you are super familiar with a medina it will be a challenge. Inside it is surprisingly quiet and the wifi was passable most of the time,

The beds were a bit hard and worn but not too bad. If you have a bad back I would not recommend. It's away from the tourist area so if that is a concern don't stay here,.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crimesoftheheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was adequate if slightly small. Getting to the Riad was a bit hit and miss as due to a delay in getting my bag our arranged pick didn't happen so we got a cab from the rank. The problem with this was he didn't know where the Riad was and had to ask a mate on the way!
There is one thing I will add, if you are a light sleeper, there is a mosque close by and the call to pray at 6 in the morning is a little load. We ate an evening meal twice in the Riad and the food was excellent. The breakfast consists of bread of various types with jam and honey with ether coffee or Moroccan tea. Both very nice. The owners are extremely helpful. The position of the Riad in the Medina is excellent, with only a short walk of 20 minutes to get to the main square. The route it self is a more or less a straight line with only a small zig zag in the middle. A word of caution the streets them selves do take a bit of getting use to with motor bikes and cycles trying to pass through with little or no regard to those around them. But after a couple of goes it becomes second nature. If you want to experience the real Marrakesh you could do no better then staying here.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lordjagged28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

We spent 9 days in Marrakech staying in Riad Ailen and enjoyed the experience immensely. Younus, Hassma and Naima looked after us as though we were part of their family, nothing was too much trouble, breakfasts were excellent and rooms were comfortable. We booked our trips through the Co-op in England but we needn’t have because Hassma can arrange them for you at a more economical price and judging by the one trip she did arrange for the 4 of us they are extremely successful. We heard that one should eat a dinner cooked at the Riad at least once as they are so good, we had 3 because they are! There is an event that disputes the “peaceful” in my review heading and that is the sound of 4 separate Mosques calling for prayer between 4 and 5 in the morning! The situation of the Riad is ideal as it is only a 5 minute walk to the nearest gate where a pick up or drop off can be identified easily. The “big” square is around 20 minutes walk and it is worth ensuring you get the best route to it from either Younus or Hassma as walking through the souks can be eventful and getting lost is very easy.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank willm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Have just been for yet another week in this Riad, so welcoming ..it felt like going back to visit family !! A wonderful quiet place to come back to after a busy day in the bustling Medina. Naioma's cooking is still the best !!! I certainly recommend this Riad.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JenniCazottes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews