We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place if you want to lose weight!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech
Ranked #181 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A good place if you want to lose weight!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

When rating a hotel I always try to balance price against quality. 4 nights at Club Eldorador cost £361.80 in March through Expedia (approximately £45 per night per person) so expectations were not particularly high, but we'd hoped to have a reasonable stay.

We arrived around 11.00am and even though the advertised check-in time was 2.00pm we were given a room straightaway.

The rooms are pretty basic - quite hard beds, hard foam pillows and 'hairy' blankets! Toiletries were pretty much non-existent - a tiny bottle of shower gel and two tiny bars of soap. Thin towels. Hot water in sink not really hot enough for a decent shave, but good shower pressure. Tiny balcony with flimsy plastic furniture - which resulted in two glasses smashing on the floor when trying to get up from a wobbly chair and knocking the plastic table lightly with my knee!

The first key cards wouldn't work - or so we thought! After going all the way back to reception to have them changed, the new ones wouldn't work either ... until a chambermaid showed us the reason. Unlike every other hotel I've stayed in, the doors don't unlock when you first insert the card .... when you insert the card the lamp initially turns red - but if you leave the card in the slot, after a second or so the lamp then turns green and unlocks the door!

There are two pools - the smaller (Zen) pool appeared to be the most popular, but we spent our time by the larger pool. The sun beds must be the most uncomfortable I've ever encountered. There were two types - canvas or plastic. The plastic beds had no cushions, and the canvas beds had lateral bars to support the fabric that dug into your back.

If you want a drink by the pool it can be a bit of a trek to the (dismal) beach bar. If you're lucky they'll let you have glasses, if not you get tiny plastic cups to take back to the pool. If you're a smoker then you'll need to find an ashtray to take with you as there didn't appear to be any provision made anywhere in the pool area.

The gardens around the pool area are quite attractive and reasonably well maintained. If you want a beach towel you will need to go to reception, pay a deposit (10 Euro or 100 Dhiram), get a token and then trek to the towel cabin (hidden away near the Zen pool). Apparently this closes for around 3 hours during the lunchtime/early-afternoon period.

Onto the bar and restaurant. The main bar is fairly uninspiring in its décor and ambience. It doubles as an entertainment area in the evening so can be a little noisy at times. We generally sat outside in the quiet (no smoking inside). Local alcohol and beer, weak juices. Early evening bar snacks are laid out on a table - great if you like olives, not so great if you don't!

On first entering the restaurant we felt things should be OK as there's a fairly wide selection of food to choose from but, sadly, we found it all to be of pretty poor quality. None of the hot food was actually hot (always a worry having had bad food poisoning from hotel buffets on more than one occasion), most of the main dishes looked highly unappetising. Salads were mostly watery and dressing were pretty much tasteless. The bread was pretty good though! Desserts were what you come to expect from a hotel buffet, mostly stodgy cakes and 'shaving foam' mousses. We didn't sample any of the wines they served in the restaurant, but were told they were pretty dire.

Breakfast? Egg station where you could get omelettes and fried eggs. Pastries were pretty stodgy but, being fresh each morning, the bread was nice! They regularly ran out of butter, and unless you like block margarine on your toast or rolls, the best thing is to ask a staff member to get more butter for you. Very runny preserves, unless you choose the small plastic tubs of apricot jam which contained a solid, unspreadable jelly!

If you don't have a smattering of French you may find it difficult here. The vast majority of guests are French. The majority of the staff speak very little English, and some of them seemed not to want to understand basic French (asking for deux bière you'd expect to get two beers, not a blank look and then a single glass!) and my French accent is quite passable!! Some of the staff were really friendly, others were morose and seemed unwilling to even bother serving.

Don't necessarily rely on reception staff to give you accurate information. We asked about quad biking and were told that the nearest place was in the city (strange concept really, quad bikes in the city). Fortunately we later found a quad biking (as well as dune buggies and camels) place literally across the road from the hotel gates! And I have to say that this was great value for money - around 2.5 hours on a quad bike for just over £40 per person (a bike each). Thoroughly recommended.

In summary, even though this was a relatively inexpensive short break the poor food and overall quality of the hotel left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    796
    322
    161
    104
See reviews for
955
540
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, and first class staff. Very helpful and very polite. The main language is obviously their own or mainly french but most staff sp[eak some English but then this goes for most people in marrakech not as much english as european hols but this really adds to it. Very very clean hotel, quite a way to centre of marrakech half an hour. The hotel has a bus into Marrakech. We only came back this weekend and had a wonderful 5 days and love it. Quite a lot for children to do and lots of wonderful salads and vegetables, really nice food and again spotlessly clean. Will definitely be going again. Thank you for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drakie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is a shame there isn't a review score between average and very good because "average" seems inappropriate for somewhere so wonderfully well appointed externally. However certain aspects inside let the side down so I can't select very good.
We were booked in a superior twin but on arrival sent off to a room in the second block - there is a main horseshoe-shaped wing and then a replica a few yards to the side, each with three floors. The key card wouldn't work so after a trip back to reception it was established that would have been a double room anyway. So another room is allocated in the main block, first floor. Twin - yes. Superior? Far from it. No towels, no bath products, cobwebs, nothing plugged in ready to go. Now we need it cleaned. All in all two hours of sun lost on arrival trying to sort all this out. We speak school level French but it was hard to convey dissatisfaction to the rather challenging reception staff.
Dinner the first evening was also grim - like a canteen for noise and lack of tables. Too few staff, hard to get a table and very slow service. However the range and quality of the food on offer was great.
After this unfortunate start everything picked up. Outside the hotel boasts an amazing array of distractions including table tennis, tennis, children's zone, two pools, archery, golf and cricket nets and so on - even a flying trapeze. Absolutely excellent. We didn't get very good weather - wind, rain and average of 12 degrees but we did manage a few minutes on a sunbed now and then. You need a few dirhams for a towel - you get this deposit back on check out. However this system wasn't available the Sunday we wanted to relax so we had to use the bath towels.
We used the shuttle bus into town which ran very promptly but was a bit grubby. We ignored the offers of guides and taxis - we had to be very firm and just keep walking - and there's no need as the drop off point is an ok 15 min walk from all the action. The souk was disappointing - more Man United strips than spices!
Back at the hotel we sat in the bar and the entertainment was mixed - one night something fun and hosted by cheery staff - the next dead. It was a bit out of season but there were loads of children, many with no parental control, and despite all the activities most enjoyed yelling and running in the corridors more than the facilities.
Mustafa - in charge of housekeeping? - happened to ask us about our trip and this made all the difference to our trip. Suddenly we had a fruit basket in the room, towels shaped into swans and rose petals strewn. Extra bedding turned up. It should have been like this from the off.
The TV has just CNN as an English language channel.
You get bottled water with each meal so take up to the room fridge to keep you stocked.
Note that some items at breakfast are cooked outside and you bring back to the table.
The bureau doesn't change travellers' cheques only cash.
I'd go again but not when the French school holidays are on, not quite so off season in order for sun and I'd go to the Atlas Mountains and the coast which were well regarded by people we spoke with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0wiewhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went with friends, another couple, and on arrival in early evening staff took care of the rooms whilst we were sent off to eat before the restaurant closed. It was in relative terms to the size of the place very quiet but still had a good feel. Very much french oriented but that in itself was not a bad thing. We had gone for five nights, our rooms were adjoining and a bit distant from reception / restaurant but close to the 'Zen' pool. The rooms were good, the adult pool was heated whilst the larger pool was very cold, hence kids were in the Zen pool. We moved to the other pool to get some peace but there are many areas to relax quietly. The food we found really good and the service in the restaurants was good. They were busy and i do wonder just how different it might be in season. The bars were okay but on our fourth and fifth night they had ran out of draft beer. They then quickly ran out of bottled beer so on two nights we were devoid of beer by 10pm?
The staff were great, the hotel fine, a little distant from the centre but not in itself a bad thing. Taxi in day was 100DH and in evening 150 DH, not sure ifr we were overcharged or not but for the distance involved it seemed reasonable. Enjoyable, no real issues at all. Watch out for the local tourist tax which we were hit with on checking out. It worked out at 40 DH (about £3) a night per couple. Taxis are available directly outside the hotel on a little rank opposite the main entrance, there is always someone available. In addition they have a coach that goes into the centre but that is about a ten minute walk into the main square. DO NOT get caught out by taxis at the drop off who tell you it is a long way into the centre and you need one. DO NOT get caught by 'guides' who will take you into the centre but then lead you a merry dance around mates shops and follow that up with a hefty bill. Marrakesh was a great place and we found everyone, taxi drivers, hotel staff, shop owners quite delightful. Remember 'La Shokran' (No thankyou).

Room Tip: We were facing into the gardens so no noise from pool or bars. Rooms 2000+ all in quiet block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great for families, good activity program, free shuttle bus to marakech.
Food was authentic and delicious but also something for everyones taste, a real effort is made to provide a real taste of morocco.
No complaints, friendly helpful staff, great with the children, they can do anything from trapeze to tennis, badminton, table tennis, childrens disco, magician etc.
Lovely pools, one heated and one cold, activities for the adults, lots of exercise classes for the fitness fanatics.
Marakech was a real eye opener, as soon as the shuttle bus stops there is a guide ready to pounce on you we were caught out and followed a guide to every carpet shop and souvenir shop going beware they then tried to charge us 100 euros we settled at 20 which was still probably too much for 2 hours guide.

Room Tip: if you are a family insist on rooms with internal connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was the perfect winter break, after arriving at 19: 30 we were shown to our room, but it was on the ground floor after speaking with the reception we were given a second floor room with a pool view, The food is just geat something for everyone. A small problem with a member of the bar staff, was dealt with very quickly and there was no further problems.. There is a very nice taxi driver outside the hotel his name is AZIZ he is very polite and will go where you want to be taken, just ask for a price and then start haggling..(600dh for 7 hrs excursion ) . There were 2 very nice young people that work for the Xperience Travel based in the hotel they did everything to help, ( even though we had traveld with another holday company ) Brecht was very helpful and polite and we had a really good laugh with him everyday. Virea was only in the hotel a few days before we left for home, but she was also a very polite young woman, and ready also for a laugh... keep up the good work everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in a group of friends aged mid-20s. There is no beach so the pool areas are busy. The weather was hot and did attract loads of bees around the pool. The hotel is spacious with nice rooms, pools and gardens. The all inclusive food was great as was the service from staff e.g. putting both rooms next to each other so we could effectively have one apartment. The only complaint about our room was that the shower area had a flat floor so the whole floor would be soaked after use. The staff helped but after a while we used the shower in the other room to avoid the problem.

Most of the holiday-makers were French families. I think this hotel is great for kids as entertainment is provided during the day and evening (was fun even if in French). There is also a discotheque after the evening performance.

A shuttle bus runs almost hourly throughout the day that can drop you off into town to visit the old town/markets. (Look out for workers in the outdoor square of the market who may chase you with snakes/monkeys in the evening).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a completely flat bathroom floor. Showers will have to be quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_voltage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
7.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,571 reviews
12.0 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
#141 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#123 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
7.3 mi away
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
#94 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech
Address: 6 Commune Rurale Ouidane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Club Eldorador Palmeraie)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed due to renovation. Will reopen on April 2017. The IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech is a 5-star all-inclusive hotel in Marrakech that is perfect for enjoying with family or friends. In the rooms of one of the best hotels in Marrakech, you’ll feel like you’ve stepped into a story from One Thousand and One Nights. The hotel’s restaurants invite you to savour the essence of Marrakech in every dish, and its 100,000 palm trees offer a unique landscape to fully experience your vacation in Morocco. Want to learn more? Sweet dreams. The double and family rooms at this hotel guarantee rest for the whole family. They also include a terrace or balcony for enjoying the fresh breeze from the palm trees that surround this hotel in Morocco or sunbathing whenever you like, without leaving your room. Spice up your holidays. With a little bit of turmeric, black pepper and cayenne... And all of the spices that fill Moroccan cuisine with exquisite aromas. Keep surprising yourself by enjoying live cooking shows or trying the flavours of the world in themed dinners. The best part? Everything is all inclusive so you can enjoy every dish, without limits! Oasis of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing bath in an authentic Moroccan hammam and rejuvenate with an aromatherapy massage. Or, if you prefer, lie down in a hammock by the pool while sipping a gin and tonic. The only requirement is to unwind! Say goodbye to routine. There are dozens of activities and sports available in this hotel with a pool in Marrakech. You can surprise everyone with your aim by trying your hand at archery, learn to dance with various oriental dance classes and even soar in flying trapeze classes like an authentic circus performer. Adventure holidays. In addition to clubs where your children can make friends during their holiday, they will have a blast with slides and water jets, waterfalls, a children’s pool, shows, arts and crafts workshops, and more. Your children won’t have a spare moment to be bored! For avid explorers. There is a free minibus to the city centre, so don’t wait another minute to discover the magic of Marrakech. Strolling through the narrow streets of the Medina, visiting bazaars brimming with thousands of colours, spices and leather or crossing through the Sahara Desert in an off-road vehicle are activities you can’t miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Palmeraie Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorador Club Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Eldorador Palmeraie
Eldorador Palmeraie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing