We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful elegant design”
Review of Dar Seven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Seven
Ranked #103 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful elegant design”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A relief of calm from the mind boggling mazes of the medina. The design of the hotel is traditional riad simplified. Elegant blacks, creams and whites punctuated with luxurious linens and bespoke bedding. Our room, the white room, sumptuous with the most beautiful tadelekat bathroom.
Our hosts are what made the stay wonderful. Upon arrival, the stoic and attentive Rashid prepared mint tea and other local treats, the walls of the riad bathed in Candlelight. Rashid, seeing my interest in learning about tadelekat arranged for me to visit a riad under renovation where he showed me what the process was. He even gave me a kind gift of plater to do my own experimenting. Khadijah, warm and equally as attentive, booked reservations for us and answered the most tedious questions with a smile on her face.
The breakfasts here are a feast. Thick yougurt, pastries, excellent cofeee, cheeses..it was hard to tear ourselves away from the table.
The owner of the riad has set a tone of warmth and elegance. I hope that you will have an opportunity to experience the magical few days that I spent here. This is a place to fall in love.

Room Tip: The white and black rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved staying at Dar Seven. It was beautiful and the people were lovely and so helpful. We arrived late, and the dinner they prepared for us was one of the best we had during our stay in Marrakech. The riad is an easy walk to the souks, but just far enough away to be quiet and out of the bustle. They gave us a cell phone when we arrived, which was so helpful because we definitely got lost on a few occasions.They also arranged cabs for us and escorted us to and from dinner on our night out. The design and location of the hotel are fabulous, but it was really the staff that made all the difference.

The only reason we would give it 4 stars instead of 5 was the bed. Neither my husband or I slept particularly well during our stay. On the whole, I think we'd likely stay here again despite the bed because I can't imagine a more lovely place or better people.

Also, an additional word to the wise. The riad is off a tiny side alley and not accessible by cab - you'll have to walk the last little bit. They will pick you up at the airport and you should definitely go this route. We somehow missed this detail and took a cab which turned out to be slightly terrifying as our driver was first very lost and then left us with a group of teenagers who walked us to the hotel. The staff was always more than happy to arrange transportation for us - they actually had someone waiting for us at the airport we just missed her. Totally our mistake, but a little frightening nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler08075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent three nights at Dar Seven after a week outside the city. It's close to all the main city sights and is within easy walking distance of most of them, including the souks. The Riad is an oasis of calm after a day out in the bustle of the city and is decorated to a high standard. What really sets it apart from other places we've stayed is its staff. They are exceptionally kind ad helpful and no request is too much to ask. Upon arrival we were provided with a mobile phone with their contact details so that we could call them in the event that we got lost in the souks owned they escorted us to and from dinner. Thank you to Khadijah and Rashid for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Khadijah and Rashid both made our stay a pleasant one. They booked restaurants for us, arranged taxis to and from restaurants, and made us feel at home. We were welcomed on arrival with mint tea and cakes. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious (especially the french toast!). The room that we stayed in (white room) overlooked the courtyard. It was spacious, decorated with local furnishings, and the bathroom was really nice. The riad is about a 15 minute walk to the main square market, Overall, I would highly recommend Dar Seven!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G3rald21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent two weeks at Dar Seven, and had a marvelous time. It's a beautiful house, but what really made the difference were the people. Lubna kept everything clean and fresh, and Khadijah both helped us with our outings and provided excellent breakfasts and dinners. She's a very good cook, and gave us the best food we had in Marrakech. Lastly, Rachid went beyond the call of duty, collecting us at the edge of the medina, if we had been out at night, and guiding us back through the narrow alleys. A wonderful stay, made more so by the people of the Riad. We hadn't meant to stay so long in Marrakech, but after a few days at this Riad we realized that this would be the loveliest holiday we could have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent our last night in Morocco at Dar Seven. It was right after new years, when most folks had left Marrakech and so we had the place to ourselves. The 'hotel' is done up very tastefully. It had hints of Moroccan elements but also felt very Italian in its decor.
We were given a room on the ground floor and both the room and bathroom were spacious. Unlike some of the other Riads in Morocco, this one was well heated.
The housekeeper was very friendly and graciously walked us to and back from our dinner within the medina!
It's a lovely smaller place that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dar Seven is an oasis of peace in a convenient part of the Medina. We were met at the airport, escorted on foot by Rachid when the taxi could go no further, and then served delicious tea, biscuits and fruit. Khadija is an excellent cook and we had huge breakfasts which always featured a local bread or pancake, and they set us up for the day. Both Khadija and Rachid speak very good English and French too, and they were always ready to help us in any way, including giving us much useful local information. Rachid escorted us to a couple of restaurants and met us at the end of our meal, just while we were finding our way around the labyrinthine streets. The roof terrace was lovely, and we read up there in the evening, sipping mint tea brought to us by Rachid (just ask him!), with the sun setting and the call to prayer beginning to go up across the city. Very atmospheric. I would recommend it to anyone going to Marrakech, as you really need somewhere to recover after the hurly-burly of a day out. It's very small, with only 4 rooms, but beautifully designed, and no one is on top of anyone else because of its layout around the central courtyard. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#89 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Almaha Marrakech
Almaha Marrakech
#154 of 500 in Marrakech
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#147 of 500 in Marrakech
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seven

Property: Dar Seven
Address: Kaa Sour 7 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina, it offers three rooms and one suite, a roof terrace, a central courtyard, two lounges and an open dining area. A serene oasis contrasting with the vibrant and frenetic souks. With soothing white, beige, grey tones, dark brown wooden furniture, luxury fabrics and dinnerware, this place is fit for royalty. Perfect for couples, friends, families and bigger gatherings as the whole riad can be rented for parties of up to eleven people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar 7
Dar Seven Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing