We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Cala Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cala Medina
Ranked #234 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Went with 3 friends for a girly weekend away. Absolutely stunning hotel with fantastic service!

Samile couldn't do enough for us. tagine meal and breakfast were delicious served on the sun terrace.

Room was decorated traditional morrocan style and very clean.

If was so relaxed and lovely we didn't even lock the bedroom door it's such a homely feel.

Don't be put off on arrival as it is down a quiet road but only 5 minutes walk from the main square and souks.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Suitcase28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 98 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in October, would definitely stay again. Rooms were clean and spacious and although there was perhaps an issue with the drains (i think the whole of Marrakech does!!) it did not affect our stay. Beautiful breakfast on the roof terrace in the blazing sunshine, we didn't realise that our watches said the wrong time so every morning we arrived 20 minutes late for breakfast- nobody said anything. Very pleasant staff who were helpful however could have been a bit more knowledgable of prices for various things. Location was fab, only 10 mins to the Jemaa El Fna?? Would recommend the riad's offer of booking a taxi from airport...bit of a nightmare trying to find the riad!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely Riad run by a lovely young couple. Very friendly they put us at ease straight away. The room was adequately large for our needs and very clean. The breakfast was typical of Moroccan breakfasts and very good. The Riad is well located and once you know where you are easy to return to. The hosts were very friendly and available day and night. We very much enjoyed our stay here. I would advise that you take them up on the airport pick up as finding the Riad in the medina on foot without a quid would be very difficult. We got picked up from the airport and the taxi driver walked us directly to the Riad from a nearby parking area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I slept one night in this really nice place. The room was not big but very confortable. Good Toilet. Good breakfast. Fresh terrasse to relax at night after all your visiting and shopping. Not far from the useless Jamaa el Fnaa (don't waste too much time) the Riad is located close to the taxi place. 3 minutes walk. Taxi can't get inside medina so you have to ask for help to some young boys, if you don't have print a map. A 15 dirhams tips will drive you there. The managers are really kind, polite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letstrip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the riad for 5 nights and found the place very relaxed and quiet, even you are in the hart of the medina. The staff was very friendly. They arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport, which was very helpful to find the place for the first time ( be aware that the medina is a bit of a labyrinth), and they also arranged the taxi for our departure, and if you walk pass a taxi stop in Marrakech you will realise how good it is that somebody sorts out the taxi for you rather than having to haggle with the driver.
Something that we like a lot was that the day we were checking out we asked if it was possible to leave our luggage somewhere to come back later as we were leaving to the airport at 4pm, they said that they didn't need our room until late that evening and that we could leave our luggage in the room and come back later and have a shower and get changed in the room before leaving to the airport.
I highly recommend this place to anybody.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Xabierferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely, charming Riad with clean comfortable rooms, traditional Moroccan style with a lovely little open-air courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast. There is also a lovely roof terrace that you can relax on.
The owners of this Riad are really helpful and friendly and very relaxed - especially about what time you have breakfast and how late you come back.
It's a bit difficult to find at first but well worth it. Only 10 minutes from the main square in the south east of the medina right by Palace Bahia.
My Mum and I enjoyed relaxing here after the madness and mayhem of the Medina. Can't recommend it highly enough - oh, and they even have beer and wine available! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

As a background -- We have been renting villas and riads throughout Morocco for the last 10 years. We rented this riad through homeaway.com. This was advertised as a 5 bedroom self-catering riad, however the owner treats it like a hotel. We arrived and started to unpack. Our group, 5 adults and 4 children, was informed that we could not enter the kitchen. Well, the whole point in renting an entire self-catering riad is that we can prepare snacks and meals for our small children. Additionally, there was a "guardian" who stayed in the riad all day long. We rented the whole riad to have privacy and enjoy the company of our family. We did not want some guy lounging on the sofa all day long.

I approached the owner to let him know this was not our agreement nor was this disclosed. He said "I have to protect my investment". I explained that this was not how we wanted to spend our vacation, additionally that we have been renting entire homes in Morocco for many years and have never had these restrictions. He said, take it or leave it. We spent one night there because it was too late to move houses. We moved the first thing the next morning to Riad Opera where we have had a lovely, enjoyable vacation.

In summary, only go to Riad Cala if you want a single room. When they advertise as a self-catering riad -- they are lying.

Room Tip: When they advertise as a self-catering riad -- they are lying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busybee_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joellegeorges, Propriétaire at Cala Medina, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

This riad with 6 rooms for 12 to 15 people is classified and reported guest house with breakfast service obligation and caretaker for security, compliance loies and tranquility of all.
It was in any way (contract very clear) rented exclusively.
If 10 years she has finally found its location is good !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#289 of 502 in Marrakech
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#104 of 502 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#151 of 502 in Marrakech
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#173 of 502 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#210 of 502 in Marrakech
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#130 of 502 in Marrakech
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Medina

Address: 39, Derb Lahbib Lemagni Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $34 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Medina 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This typical riad is located in the heart of the Medina in Marrakesh, a few minutes from the famous Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an indoor pool and large terrace. Each air-conditioned guest room at the Riad Cala Medina is decorated in a typical Moroccan style and has a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy Moroccan specialities at the Cala's restaurant. Additional facilities at the Riad Cala Medina include free Wi-Fi in its public areas and a shuttle service (upon reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing