We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Take your time and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Medina
Ranked #257 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Torino
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Take your time and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I slept one night in this really nice place. The room was not big but very confortable. Good Toilet. Good breakfast. Fresh terrasse to relax at night after all your visiting and shopping. Not far from the useless Jamaa el Fnaa (don't waste too much time) the Riad is located close to the taxi place. 3 minutes walk. Taxi can't get inside medina so you have to ask for help to some young boys, if you don't have print a map. A 15 dirhams tips will drive you there. The managers are really kind, polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letstrip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the riad for 5 nights and found the place very relaxed and quiet, even you are in the hart of the medina. The staff was very friendly. They arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport, which was very helpful to find the place for the first time ( be aware that the medina is a bit of a labyrinth), and they also arranged the taxi for our departure, and if you walk pass a taxi stop in Marrakech you will realise how good it is that somebody sorts out the taxi for you rather than having to haggle with the driver.
Something that we like a lot was that the day we were checking out we asked if it was possible to leave our luggage somewhere to come back later as we were leaving to the airport at 4pm, they said that they didn't need our room until late that evening and that we could leave our luggage in the room and come back later and have a shower and get changed in the room before leaving to the airport.
I highly recommend this place to anybody.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabierferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely, charming Riad with clean comfortable rooms, traditional Moroccan style with a lovely little open-air courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast. There is also a lovely roof terrace that you can relax on.
The owners of this Riad are really helpful and friendly and very relaxed - especially about what time you have breakfast and how late you come back.
It's a bit difficult to find at first but well worth it. Only 10 minutes from the main square in the south east of the medina right by Palace Bahia.
My Mum and I enjoyed relaxing here after the madness and mayhem of the Medina. Can't recommend it highly enough - oh, and they even have beer and wine available! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

As a background -- We have been renting villas and riads throughout Morocco for the last 10 years. We rented this riad through homeaway.com. This was advertised as a 5 bedroom self-catering riad, however the owner treats it like a hotel. We arrived and started to unpack. Our group, 5 adults and 4 children, was informed that we could not enter the kitchen. Well, the whole point in renting an entire self-catering riad is that we can prepare snacks and meals for our small children. Additionally, there was a "guardian" who stayed in the riad all day long. We rented the whole riad to have privacy and enjoy the company of our family. We did not want some guy lounging on the sofa all day long.

I approached the owner to let him know this was not our agreement nor was this disclosed. He said "I have to protect my investment". I explained that this was not how we wanted to spend our vacation, additionally that we have been renting entire homes in Morocco for many years and have never had these restrictions. He said, take it or leave it. We spent one night there because it was too late to move houses. We moved the first thing the next morning to Riad Opera where we have had a lovely, enjoyable vacation.

In summary, only go to Riad Cala if you want a single room. When they advertise as a self-catering riad -- they are lying.

Room Tip: When they advertise as a self-catering riad -- they are lying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busybee_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joellegeorges, Propriétaire at Cala Medina, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
This riad with 6 rooms for 12 to 15 people is classified and reported guest house with breakfast service obligation and caretaker for security, compliance loies and tranquility of all.
It was in any way (contract very clear) rented exclusively.
If 10 years she has finally found its location is good !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I just got back from Marrakech and part of the reason I had such a phenomenal stay is the time I spent at the Riad Cala Medina. The owners are unbeleivably sweet and helpful, and their family was also there during my stay which gave the hotel a real family-feel. The hotel felt like an oasis of calm outside the culture shock I experienced during my time in Marrakech. We ate delicious breakfasts on the roof and even got henna done in the center covered courtyard. Our room was perfect. By the end of the trip we were calling our hotel "home." The location couldn't be beat. I would recommend this hotel to even the richest of the rich who could afford to stay at some luxury hotel in Gueliz-- this hotel truly had everything we could have wanted and more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obgrl4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#244 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#159 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#221 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#240 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#61 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#138 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Medina

Property: Cala Medina
Address: 39, Derb Lahbib Lemagni Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Medina 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This typical riad is located in the heart of the Medina in Marrakesh, a few minutes from the famous Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an indoor pool and large terrace. Each air-conditioned guest room at the Riad Cala Medina is decorated in a typical Moroccan style and has a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy Moroccan specialities at the Cala's restaurant. Additional facilities at the Riad Cala Medina include free Wi-Fi in its public areas and a shuttle service (upon reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cala Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing